×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dark Fissures: A Rick Cahill Novel
     

Dark Fissures: A Rick Cahill Novel

5.0 3
by Matt Coyle
 

See All Formats & Editions

Private Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti is convinced Rick killed a missing person. No body has been found, but the evidence that s piling up says murder and it all points to Rick. With Moretti on his tail and the bank about to foreclose on his

Overview

Private Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti is convinced Rick killed a missing person. No body has been found, but the evidence that s piling up says murder and it all points to Rick. With Moretti on his tail and the bank about to foreclose on his house, Rick takes a paying case that will stave off the bank, but pits him against Moretti and the La Jolla Police Department.

Brianne Colton, a beautiful country singer, is convinced her estranged husband s suicide was really murder. Rick is unconvinced, but the mortgage has to be paid. Each new piece of evidence convinces him she s right. He breaks his number one rule and falls for Brianne even, as he begins to question her motives.

As Moretti cinches the vise tighter, with Rick unable to trust the FBI, evil forces emerge from the shadows who will do anything, including torture and murder, to stop Rick from uncovering the truth.

"

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
10/10/2016
Anthony Award–winner Coyle’s gripping third Rick Cahill novel (after 2015’s Night Tremors) finds the vulnerable, well-meaning La Jolla, Calif., PI in fear of losing his house to a bank foreclosure. Even worse, the town’s police chief, Tony Moretti, is preparing to arrest Rick for murder in a case involving a missing person as soon as he gets enough evidence. Meanwhile, singer Brianne Colton hires Cahill to prove that her police officer husband, Jim, didn’t commit suicide but was murdered. Jim didn’t trust Moretti, which puts Cahill in a tough position. The detective must also contend with criminal lawyer Alan Rankin, who once took a beating from Cahill. A kick in the nose from Rankin’s assistant, mixed martial arts–expert Miranda Jennings, is a reminder that Rankin hasn’t forgiven Cahill, though Miranda later provides some unexpected help in the Colton case. The deck is stacked against Cahill, but he comes up trumps by the end of this satisfying hard-boiled adventure. Agent: Kimberley Cameron, Kimberley Cameron & Associates. (Dec.)
From the Publisher
"I think I'm falling for Rick Cahill. He's the best kind of down-on-his-luck detective: hard-boiled yet vulnerable; gritty but gallant; somewhat of a screw-up but noble to the core; droll yet all heart. I'll follow him anywhere. Coyle's writing was terrific out of the gate but still manages to get even better."
Kristi Belcamino, Anthony, Barry, and Macavity award nominee author of the Gabriella Giovanni mystery series

Matt Coyle's Dark Fissures is a meticulously plotted detective novel with such fast and continuous action that neither the cars nor the gun barrels ever cool down. Go buy it.
Thomas Perry, Edgar Award-winning author of the Jane Whitefield Series

"Dark Fissures is a roller coaster ride through the streets of San Diego. Tightly plotted with memorable characters. An outstanding read!
C. J. Box, New York Times best-selling author of the Joe Pickett novels

"

“Private eye Cahill is in hot water in third Coyle series offering. Private investigator Rick Cahill is being framed for the murder of a missing person and, to make matters worse, the bank is about to foreclose on his house. To stave off the bank, Cahill takes a paying case, but this only draws more negative attention from the La Jolla Police Department, and soon he finds himself dodging not only the police chief and the FBI, but also some highly unsavory characters who will stop at nothing to ensure the truth stays under wraps.
Fresno Bee

“Matt Coyle has done it again.”
La Jolla Village News

“Private Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti is convinced Rick killed a missing person. No body has been found, but the evidence that’s piling up says murder and it all points to Rick. With Moretti on his tail and the bank about to foreclose on his house, Rick takes a paying case that will stave off the bank, but pits him against Moretti and the La Jolla Police Department.”
San Francisco Book Review

“…an engrossing story, well written, and of course ending with the makings of the next book in this series. Certainly Matt Coyle will intrigue the reader with both the plots and characterizations presented.”
BookBitch.com

“…entertaining thriller”
BookLoons

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781608092260
Publisher:
Oceanview Publishing
Publication date:
12/06/2016
Series:
Rick Cahill Series , #3
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
231,837
Product dimensions:
6.50(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.30(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Best-selling author Matt Coyle is the winner of the Anthony Award, the Benjamin Franklin Silver Award, and the San Diego Book Award. Matt has a degree in English from the University of California, Santa Barbara, and has worked in the restaurant, golf, and sports collectible businesses. Dark Fissures is the third in his Rick Cahill crime series, following Yesterday's Echo and Night tremors. Matt lives in San Diego with his yellow Lab, Angus.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dark Fissures: A Rick Cahill Novel 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
dhaupt 5 months ago
Coyle’s latest Rick Cahill novel is a gripping fast-paced, page-turner that will hook readers from page one and not let go until the end. The protagonist is a noir-ish, dark hero who’s a loner, a cynic yet a surprising romantic at heart. The to the point, decisive 1st person narrative works well with the star’s curious, suspicious nature. Plus the author being a native of the area brings an intimate feel to every scene. This keeper shelf must read will appeal to both sexes and all fans of engaging plot driven thrillers. Fans of Michael Connelly and Nelson DeMille will love this! Ex cop, PI Rick Cahill needs a new client to keep the wolves from the door but when that perspective client is the widow of a La Jolla cop who believes her husband’s death was a murder not suicide, he wants to send her packing because his relationship with the La Jolla PD is toxic. Then she tells him more details of her husband, his mistrust of the LJPD chief and his past and he realizes the part of him that demands justice over all has no option but to take her case and the possibility of getting more dirt on La Jolla police chief Tony Moretti is a BIG bonus.
jayfwms 6 months ago
This is one of the better books I have read. The plot twists and turns all the way to the end. The characters are very true to life,, and come across as real people. No one is perfect, but several characters present honor and morality to a fine degree. I got so involved, I had to delay my day so I could finish this book. Rick Cahill has just enough rough edges to make him a strong anti-hero. The area of Southern California where the action takes place is beautifully portrayed and provides strong support for the story. The story carries so many different dimensions it is hard to pull a single thread. I can't wait to read it again.
ToddSimpson 6 months ago
I really enjoyed this book. Matt Coyle has done a fabulous job with this very interesting and well put together story. The plot is elaborate and suspenseful, with a diverse range of characters. Private Investigator Rick Cahill hasn’t had a good time of it lately. Now that he’s working for himself and has no clients, he’s three months behind in his mortgage repayments. Plus the La Jolla Chief of Police Tony Moretti has him in his sights, and has his officers making Rick’s life difficult. So when Brianne Colton turns up asking Rick to investigate her ex-husbands supposed suicide, he’s happy to receive the work. Brianne believes that Jim her ex-husband was murdered, and there’s no way he would have killed himself. However with the Loa Jolla Police Department deeming it suicide, and what they think of Rick, he’s going to have his work cut out for him. It seems a bit unreal that an ex-Navy Seal like Jim Colton would allow himself to be murdered. Five days before he died Jim was on the phone to the FBI for 17 minutes, and his mobile phone seems to have disappeared. Then there’s Jim’s previous job to consider when he worked for the “Global Response Staff” who were contracted to the CIA. Jim was working in the Middle East in Benghazi when some important people were killed, and ever since then he hasn’t been himself. The more Rick investigates the more dangerous things become. I really enjoyed that this book as it kept me guessing. The story moves along at a good pace, with plenty of things happening, all the way through to a great ending. Well worth a read.