The Dark Hills Divide (The Land of Elyon Series #1) by Patrick Carman | Audiobook (Other) | Barnes & Noble
The Dark Hills Divide (The Land of Elyon Series #1)

The Dark Hills Divide (The Land of Elyon Series #1)

4.4 127
by Patrick Carman, Aasne Vigesaa
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Twelve-year-old Alexa Daley is spending another summer in Bridewell with her father. She looks forward to exploring the old lodge where she stays each year, with its cozy library and maze of passages and rooms. She’s also eager to finally solve the mystery of what lies beyond the immense walls that were built to keep out an unnamed evil that lurks in the forests

Overview

Twelve-year-old Alexa Daley is spending another summer in Bridewell with her father. She looks forward to exploring the old lodge where she stays each year, with its cozy library and maze of passages and rooms. She’s also eager to finally solve the mystery of what lies beyond the immense walls that were built to keep out an unnamed evil that lurks in the forests and The Dark Hills – an evil the townspeople are still afraid of.

As Alexa begins to unravel the truth about what lies outside the protective barrier she’s lived behind all her life, she discovers a strange and ancient enchantment. Armed with an unexpected new power, Alexa exposes a danger that could destroy everything she holds dear – and change The Land of Elyon forever.

Editorial Reviews

bn.com
A 12-year-old girl learns of her magical destiny in Patrick Carman's first absorbing episode of the Land of Elyon trilogy. Originally self-published to local acclaim and now available on a national scale, Carman's The Dark Hills Divide introduces readers to Alexa Daley, who annually visits the town of Bridewell. Alexa is curious about what lies beyond the massive ramparts that surround the city and the walled roads that link Bridewell to nearby towns; soon after town leader Thomas Warvold passes away, Alexa's finds herself outside the walls, acquires a stone with remarkable powers, and discovers that she's meant to stop a potential war from occurring. Fortunately, Alexa has a number of allies, including a fierce wolf named Darius, and after she uses her smarts to prevent a ruthless convict from gaining power, the storm facing Bridewell is calmed, with a hint of what's to come in Book 2. Fantasy buffs looking for more in the vein of Cornelia Funke and Flavia Bujour's The Prophecy of the Stones will find Alexa Daley to be a stellar new heroine. Told from Alexa's matter-of-fact point of view, Carman's first book is one to savor, sewing together an involved yet non-intimidating plotline, fascinating characters, and strong cliff-hangers to deliver a series debut that will surely entertain boys and girls, young and old.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781607755135
Publisher:
Findaway World
Publication date:
01/28/2009
Series:
Land of Elyon Series, #1
Edition description:
With Headphones
Product dimensions:
4.60(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Patrick Carman usually spends his time in Walla Walla, Washington. But in the spring of 2005 he’s taking his wife and two daughters on the road, traveling across the country on a whirlwind tour in support of his dazzling first novel, The Dark Hills Divide.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Dark Hills Divide (The Land of Elyon Series #1) 4.4 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 127 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the two books I chose to read for the summer. At the beginning, I was very confused and didn't understand anything. But after a while, everything began to make sense. It's a great book if you're into magic, mysteries, and adventures. I am thinking about reading the second book and the rest of the series, since the ending left me hanging. This is a good book, give it a shot! =D
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Twelve-year-old Alexa Daley's summer trip to Bridewell with her father is something she's looked forward to. She can't wait to explore, and comes prepared to get a better look over the immense walls that have blocked her view of the forests and the Dark Hills all her life. She never dreamed her explorations would take her outside the walls and lead to a strange little man who guides her to an ancient enchantment. Through the power of the enchantment, Alexa learns of a deadly plot that threatens to destroy Bridewell. Alexa can't save Bridewell alone, but there's a traitor in their midst, and she's not sure who she can trust. Choosing the wrong allies could prove fatal. Carman has an amazing imagination, and his skill in crafting a story seems effortless. THE DARK HILLS DIVIDE, the first story in THE LAND OF ELYON series, is magical and draws the reader in with lovable characters, a mystery full of danger, and a setting that evokes the imagination. I first borrowed THE DARK HILLS DIVIDE from my local library several years ago. Picking up Alexa's story again was like reuniting with an old friend. I knew I had loved the book back then, but had forgotten how much. I can't wait to reacquaint myself with Alexa's next adventure in the second book, BEYOND THE VALLEY OF THORNS.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book caught my eye and I read it in two days. I am definately buying the second one!!!!! It was a lot of clues and surprises, but always kept me wanting to read more! I absolutely loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only reason i tried this book out was because one of my friends was reading it and i saw it at the book store. I decited to try it and i loved it and i ended up begging my dad to get the rest of the series. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome i totally want to read the second one
bookworm211 More than 1 year ago
loved the book but it had a few plotholes and repitition such as alexa finds yipes and yipes takes her to darius and darius takes her to malcolm and malcolm takes her to ander but it hardly affects the books quality. its well written and the characters are very well developed (i love the wolves). i was kinda unimpressed by the ending, though. her stone stops working and sebastien isn't her dad, which would be more dramatic. and i dont get why the cats have to get squashed. i love cats! overall i think that this is a wonderful book to read in your spare time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Dark Hills Divide was one of those rare books that my teacher had given to me at the start of middle school that I just didn't want to end, and when I finished it, I went looking for the next one almost immediately. I first read The Dark Hills Divide in sixth grade. It's not a hard book to read, but it's still fun and exciting. Now I'm in ninth grade, and I still love the book. I've read the series many times over and over again. I just never get sick of it. The Dark Hills Divide is about a little twelve-year-old girl who is ordinary beyond ordinary, and through her curiosity for the lurking world outside the three story walls that surround her home, she subconsciously weaves herself into a magical and passionate tale. I think the title is brilliant. In the beginning, the Dark Hills are part of the outside world that no one knows anything about and doesn't want to know, for that matter. But as Alexa journeys through them and experiences their power, something changes in the atmosphere. It's almost as if the Dark Hills lose their darkness in a sense. But don't let me spoil it. Read it! The Dark Hills Divide is a fiction book filled to the brim with talking animals, miniature humans, and criminal bandits that live underground. I'm sorry to say there aren't any pictures, but Patrick Carman does an outstanding job of creating images in your head. The book has a pretty amazing setting with maps for underground tunnels, above groun secret passages, and the library. To fully understand what's going on, you have to keep in mind where Alexa is at all times. Don't worry though. It's not that complicated once you start reading. If you like The Dark Hills Divide, you should also read the second and thrid books. The series has a fantastic ending. You may think that the first book is a little slow, but boy does it speed up. Or you may think that the first book is excellent, and then you'll be lost for words for the third book. I promise.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book you should so buy it . Best book ever it is for kids that really like too read hard books. It startes out slow but it picks up very fast once you get into it .
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is junk! The entire book is merely an introduction for the second book. The author doesn't understand subtlty or the meaning of the phrase less is more. I found the characters unlikeable and underdeveloped, the setting shallow and cookiecutter-ish, and action completely missing. The focus in this series is on selling subsequent books not on story telling. All in all skip it. I wish I had.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book so much. I love that the animals can talk. The whole book is awsome.
Anonymous 7 months ago
The book has so many twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is really slow and boring. It gets confusing at times too. Would not recomend unless you like mythical books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have reread this book about 5 times since I got it when it first came out and it never fails to caprure my attention This is my favorite book. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so good. My friend and i were reading it together and we couldn't figure out who sebastain was. This book is a very good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stupid book way confusing dont buy or read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this it is the best i have to read this book for school. That is the only reason i am reading this book if not i would not be soo i love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Havn't read it yet but it looks mind blowing !!
Whymsy More than 1 year ago
Where’s the Spark? This book was just below okay and rather disappointing for me. To be fair I will say that the concept was interesting and writing decent. True I was never quite sure what to make of Alexa, but she wasn’t the most immediate issue I faced while reading. The real problem was the missing spark of life. The point where the story went from something you read to a place you could occupy in your imagination. I never felt a compulsion to enter into the Land of Elyon. I found the lifelessness more sad than anything else (especially since writing a book is a lot of work). I have read books much more mundane in their concepts and the writing with a lot to wish for, but they had the life giving spark which made a world of difference.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I started this book I thought that it was a boring book, until I got to the part where she could talk to the animals! After that I could'nt put it down!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago