Dark Star: Confessions of a Rock Idol (For fans of Frank Peretti, Ted Dekker and Joel C. Rosenberg) [NOOK Book]

Overview

Can Fame, Wealth, and Power Buy Happiness?

Everett Lester and his band, DeathStroke, ride the crest of a wave to superstardom. But the deeper they become immersed in fame, wealth, and power, the more likely they are to be swallowed alive by the drugs, alcohol, and discontentment that have become their only friends. Everett is headed down a perilous road of no apparent return when he’s charged with the murder of his personal psychic. The only ...
See more details below
Dark Star: Confessions of a Rock Idol (For fans of Frank Peretti, Ted Dekker and Joel C. Rosenberg)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.99
BN.com price

Overview

Can Fame, Wealth, and Power Buy Happiness?

Everett Lester and his band, DeathStroke, ride the crest of a wave to superstardom. But the deeper they become immersed in fame, wealth, and power, the more likely they are to be swallowed alive by the drugs, alcohol, and discontentment that have become their only friends. Everett is headed down a perilous road of no apparent return when he’s charged with the murder of his personal psychic. The only hope he can cling to comes from Topeka , Kansas , and the letters written by a prayerful young lady who lives there. Consistent and persistent, the notes cut straight to Everett ’s empty heart, offering a fulfillment he’s never grasped before. But what if he’s found guilty of murder? Will he recognize the spiritual battle that’s raging for his soul?

Endora Crystal was my rock...

As I staggered through the chaos of rock ’n’ roll fame—the drugs and alcohol, the selfishness and turmoil—Endora was the gentle voice in my ear telling me I was special. Telling me I was adored. She was my personal psychic, and she said I had a unique purpose, a calling to give my fans happiness. To be their god.

My band, DeathStroke, dominated the world of rock. Yet strife ruled our inner circle. My family didn’t know me. I loved no one but myself.

And yet Karen Bayliss was praying for me, that I would come to know the love of God and the lordship of Jesus Christ. She was not a fan. Didn’t care for my music. Karen just wanted me to know peace.

Now Endora is dead, and I’ve been charged with first-degree murder.

Everett Lester is headed down a perilous road of no apparent return. Will he recognize the spiritual battle that’s raging for his soul?
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Brenda Anderson
“Mapes’ books are instantly intriguing. My daughter had this to say about Dark Star: 'It
is one of my favorite books. I'm really into music, so the fact that Everett Lester is a rock star is really interesting to me. This book shows what can happen when you're on drugs, when you mess with a psychic, and what you feel like living your life without God. I would recommend this book to anyone over the age of 13. It's amazing.'"
Vennessa Ng
"Worthy of any Grisham novel, this book was riveting from start to finish. Mapes is a
rare find."
James Scott Bell
An unvarnished look at sin and redemption, confidently written. Dark Star is an impressive debut.
Kristi Henson
"A rock and roll thriller sure to keep readers in suspense!"
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940013209596
  • Publisher: Green E-Books
  • Publication date: 9/15/2012
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 112,996
  • File size: 4 MB

Meet the Author

Talented storyteller Creston Mapes graduated from Bowling Green State University in 1983 with a BA in magazine journalism. Since then, he has written for major corporations, colleges, and ministries. He has written for Coca-Cola, TNT Sports, Focus on the Family, Walk Thru the Bible Ministries, and The Urban Alternative. His stories have been featured in magazines including Private Colleges and Universities, In Touch, Leaders for Today, and The Hockey News. Creston makes his home in Georgia.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    I havent read it.

    I was wandering if it is worth my money or my time. If someone could respond to this and kind of give me an idea of it id appreciate it. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    A Must Read, Ripped from Today's Headlines

    A thrill ride read about a drugged out millionaire rock star on trial for the murder of his psychic, and a Christian girl in Kansas who is praying for his soul. Must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    DARKstar confessios of a ROCK IDOL

    i barely got this book yesturday and it is awsome so far, istarted it and well i love it and i wanna read the seguel! heres what it says on the back: as i staggered through the chaos of rock 'n' roll fame the drugs and alchohol, the selfishness and turmoil endora was the gentle voice in my eartelling me was special. telling me i was adored. she was my personal psychic , and she said i had a unique purpose, a calling to give my fans happiness. to be their god. my band deathdtroke, dominated the world of rock. yet stife ruled our inner circle.my family didn't know me. i loved no one but myself. and yet Karen Bayliss was praying for, that i would come to know the love of and the lordship of Jesus Christ. she was not a fan. didn't care for my music. karen just wanted me to know peace. now Endora is dead and i have been charged with first digree murder. sounds GOOD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Strong realistic tale

    Everett Lester and DeathStroke are musical superstars however fame and fortune are not as fulfilling as he thought that would be. He turns to drugs and alcohol to fill his emptiness and to Madam Endora Crystal, his personal psychic for spiritual guidance. Through Endora's guidance, Everett turns his back on Christianity and encourages his impressionable young fans to do likewise............. However, Everett soon finds himself on trial for the murder of Endora. He is depressed with no hope for the future. As he contemplates suicide his only regret is badly injuring a teen fan. The letter from Karen of Topeka, Kansas makes it clear she dislikes his music but prays for his soul. No one has ever cared what happened to him except when the music sold. More letters arrive and soon Everett begins to wonder why he crossed to the Other Side instead of turning to Jesus. Though he still faces the possibility of capital punishment, Everett is beginning to find solace with Jesus, but he wonders if it remains too late for him to give his lost soul to God.............. This is an interesting character study that showcases a lost soul who has fame and fortune yet feels empty. The beguiling story line shifts between Everett¿s present woes and his memories while she knows he needs Jesus to save his soul. Profanity and implied drug abuse add depth to the characterizations of Everett and the band, and the Jesus is where it¿s at message can feel heavy handed at times but fans of insightful modern day Christian fiction will want to read Creston Mapes¿ strong realistic tale of salvation............ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)