Darkened Rooms of Summer: New and Selected Poems

Darkened Rooms of Summer: New and Selected Poems

by Jared Carter
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

For nearly half a century Jared Carter has been quietly mapping the American heartland. Line by line, his poetry has shown us the landscape, sounded the voices, conjured the music, and tested the silence of the ever-changing and yet ever-constant Midwest that figures so prominently in the American story. And yet what we find in Carter’s poetry

Overview

For nearly half a century Jared Carter has been quietly mapping the American heartland. Line by line, his poetry has shown us the landscape, sounded the voices, conjured the music, and tested the silence of the ever-changing and yet ever-constant Midwest that figures so prominently in the American story. And yet what we find in Carter’s poetry is endlessly new. Here, in poems selected from his first five books, is the summer-long buzz of the cicada and the crack of the cue ball, the young rebel on his big Harley, and the YMCA secretary who backstrokes her way across the indoor pool. Here, too, are thirty new poems in fixed form that illustrate Carter’s continued quest for a poetry of “universal interest.” Taken together, these selections are, truly, poetry in the American grain. 

Editorial Reviews

New York Review of Books - Helen Vendler

“Carter’s is a poetry of a resolute middle distance, firmly of this world: between the dust under the earth and the dust of space there exists the place that the poem can illumine.”—Helen Vendler, New York Review of Books

Dana Gioia
“[Jared Carter] is the rare poet who is rooted in a certain place, which is of course Indiana, yet [he] deals with it in such a way that it is of universal interest.”—Dana Gioia, former chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts

danmurano.com - Grace Cavalieri

"Jared Carter writes the kind of poetry that death does not touch. He brings us a very different atmosphere from this crazy techie world, with a command of metaphor and the bones of memory that do not lie. We trust this poet's vision."—Grace Cavalieri, danmurano.com
basalt - James Crews
"Those of us who practice the craft of poetry will want to keep Darkened Rooms of Summer close at hand, so we can study these poems, and wonder how Jared Carter ushers us so seamlessly into his world, and thus, more deeply into our own."—James Crews, basalt
Portland Book Review

"Jared Carter's poetry is pure, home-spun Americana, full of small-town people and places in the tradition of Edgar Lee Masters and Sherwood Anderson."—Portland Book Review

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780803253858
Publisher:
UNP - Nebraska Paperback
Publication date:
03/01/2014
Series:
Ted Kooser Contemporary Poetry
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
192
Sales rank:
900,240
File size:
777 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Jared Carter lives in Indiana. He has received the Walt Whitman Award of the Academy of American Poets, the Poets’ Prize, a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, and two literary fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >