Daughter of Providence: A Novel

Daughter of Providence: A Novel

4.2 8
by Julie Drew
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The "sympathetic and compelling" (Cleveland Plain Dealer) novel about a young woman untangling family secrets and claiming her independence.


Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has

See more details below

Overview

The "sympathetic and compelling" (Cleveland Plain Dealer) novel about a young woman untangling family secrets and claiming her independence.


Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has always been told that her mother abandoned them. But then Anne learns that she has a half- sister, Maria Cristina --and when Maria Cristina comes to live with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about the family.

Within a context of jazz, the end of Prohibition, and stifling gender expectations, Daughter of Providence is a gripping and seductive summer read. this story of loss and rediscovery will resonate with readers long after the final page.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781590208946
Publisher:
The Overlook Press
Publication date:
08/04/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
829,882
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >