Daughter of Providence

Daughter of Providence

4.2 8
by Julie Drew
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Julie Drew unveils a stunning debut rife with loss and rediscovery framed by the Great Depression.See more details below

Overview

Julie Drew unveils a stunning debut rife with loss and rediscovery framed by the Great Depression.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
It's 1934, and Anne Dodge, the heroine of Drew's promising but undercooked debut, has remained insulated from the economic hardships befalling Warwick, R.I. After all, her father, who owns the (currently closed) mill in town, is wealthy enough to have been coasting through the Depression. Anne's worries are more personal than political—her Portuguese mother left when Anne was just six—and now Anne's past has come to call, when her younger half-sister, Maria Cristina, comes to live with Anne and her father. Anne tries to reconcile her father's evident hatred of Maria Cristina with her own fondness for the serious, almost saintly girl, just like she must balance her own unladylike aspirations to become a boatbuilder with her early forays into romance. Anne, 23, is a memorable heroine and narrator, though her perspective and voice can make her seem like a contemporary woman dressed up in 1930s costumes. Drew enjoys some success in addressing issues of the day—particularly those of race and class; the unionization debate less so—which lends a strong atmosphere to the family drama, but the big disappointment is the melodramatic conclusion; it doesn't do justice to an otherwise considered if slightly shaggy story. (July)
From the Publisher
"...promising... Anne, 23, is a memorable heroine and narrator." - Publishers Weekly

"First novelist Drew draws a careful portrait of both social and family problems." - Kirkus Reviews

"A sweeping drama...Drew perfectly captures the old New England feel of her shore-town setting and lavishes attention on the period details that transport readers back to the 1930s...Fans of Tara Hyland and Elizabeth Bard will love this poignant page-turner..." - Booklist

"Anne is a sympathetic heroine, and Drew's storytelling is compelling." - Cleveland Plain Dealer

"...a beautifully written and moving debut novel by an important new voice in American fiction." - BookReporter.com

Kirkus Reviews

A period novel—set in 1934—that examines dark secrets in a fading Rhode Island family.

The Dodges are well off (Old Money), though patriarch Samuel Dodge has been trying to reopen a family-owned textile mill that had been closed because of changing economic circumstances. His daughter, narrator Anne Dodge, is more interested in building boats with long-time family friend Ezra than in any business interests. A college graduate, Anne has yet to decide what she wants to commit to and is bitter that her Portuguese mother Inêz has run away from the family. Anne's bitterness is somewhat sweetened when Maria Cristina, her 12-year-old half-sister, unexpectedly turns up. Anne develops a curious relationship with her sister—she's in equal measure affectionate and irritated by her, especially when Maria Cristina constantly thrusts herself into every aspect of Anne's life. And while there's no doubt about the identity of Maria Cristina's mother, the identity of her father is problematic—Ezra? Or perhaps even Samuel Dodge himself? Anne's life becomes complicated when Oliver Fielding, a young and attractive entrepreneur, starts showing interest in investing in the mill as well as an interest in Anne. Further complications arise when a combination of social idealists and thugs protest Samuel's plan to "exploit" local workers.

First novelist Drew draws a careful portrait of both social and family problems.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781611202472
Publisher:
Dreamscape Media
Publication date:
07/26/2011
Edition description:
Unabridged
Product dimensions:
6.49(w) x 5.52(h) x 1.15(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >