Days Like This

Days Like This

by J. Torres, Scott Chantler
     
 

J. Torres, who used memory to great effect in The Copybook Tales, now casts his eye back to the early '60s, when pop music ruled the airwaves. Days Like This follows the formation of "Tina & the Tiaras," a new girl group, as they rise up the charts and overcome personal obstacles to become stars. Featuring stunning art by newcomer Scott Chantler that's reminiscent

See more details below

Overview

J. Torres, who used memory to great effect in The Copybook Tales, now casts his eye back to the early '60s, when pop music ruled the airwaves. Days Like This follows the formation of "Tina & the Tiaras," a new girl group, as they rise up the charts and overcome personal obstacles to become stars. Featuring stunning art by newcomer Scott Chantler that's reminiscent of the clean lines of vintage graphic design from the period.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publishers Weekly
Set in the girl-group era of the early 1960s, this slender, pleasant graphic novella concerns a plucky young woman who becomes a songwriter; three almost-as-plucky young girls discovered at a high school talent show who become singing sensations Tina and the Tiaras; and a relatively plucky woman who's starting her own record label with some money from a divorce. Chantler's drawings are simple, cute and clean-lined-not an approximation of manga, exactly, but an American equivalent of its quick, bold images. (The book's small b&w format should appeal to manga buffs.) And there's something adorable about the panels of three smiling girls in matching dresses harmonizing or getting their hair done together, even if their notched-circle eyes recall Disney's Huey, Dewey and Louie. As a quick entertainment for younger teens, Days Like This is charming, but there's not much more to it than its surface, and writer Torres largely glosses over the fascinating tensions in the music business of the time (not to mention the work that actually went into creating three-minute AM-radio masterpieces): nobody's got anything tougher to face than a disapproving dad. Torres's fictionalizations of history are harmless on their own (the Brill Building, for instance, becomes "Harmony Plaza"), but what they add up to has none of the convincing force of details-just a cheery little fable about girls on their way to the top. (Apr.) Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal - Library Journal
Largely based on real-life events, this book takes the reader back to the early 1960s New York pop music scene, to the days of the doo-wop revival and the rise of the girl groups. As the story opens, Karen Prince (a fictionalized Carole King) visits Harmony Plaza (standing in for the Brill Building) for the first time, while Anna Solomon, the recently divorced wife of a record company executive, is planning to start her own record company. At a high school talent show, Anna is so impressed with a trio of black girl singers that she asks them to be the first act on her new label. The only wrench in the works is the father of lead singer Christina, who thinks his daughter should stick to singing in church and not associate with those degenerate rock'n'roll stars. But Tina and the Tiaras (a fictional Shirelles) are going to follow their opportunities, with or without his approval. Torres's simple story packs in a wealth of period detail and character bits, and Chantler's cartoony, black-and-white artwork is appealing. Fans of Archie Comics, Trina Robbins's Go Girl, or Sixties pop music should enjoy this. Recommended for preteen to adult readers; for all collections. Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780613926409
Publisher:
Turtleback Books: A Division of Sanval
Publication date:
04/28/2003
Pages:
80

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >