Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt

4.0 7
by Chris Hedges, Joe Sacco
     
 

ISBN-10: 1568586434

ISBN-13: 9781568586434

Pub. Date: 06/12/2012

Publisher: Nation Books


In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis gripping underclass America and crime-  See more details below

Overview


In the vein of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Pulitzer Prize winner and bestselling author Chris Hedges and American Book Award winning cartoonist Joe Sacco bring us a searing on-the-ground report on the crisis gripping underclass America and crime-

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781568586434
Publisher:
Nation Books
Publication date:
06/12/2012
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
220,181
Product dimensions:
7.00(w) x 10.10(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, Chris Hedges is on top of his game. Must read for everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got the book on hardcover, so I did not experience the issues with the nook. The content of the book was like a splash of cold water, because it brings into realization of the disturbing violence and degradation "unfettered and unregulated capitalism"  has on America.  The prose and the abundant of information presented in the book makes a good read, which is rare in information texts. Joe Sacco's illustrations of various people's stories also presents a startling picture of the disparity people of the "sacrifice zones" endure. At the end of the book, through much of the horror and darkness, he tries to present the possibility of hope through galvanizing the power of youth and knowledge as a means of combating the corrupt system. If you are interested in the current affairs and want to know how American government has become the entity it is now, I would recommend this book.
SinclairDB More than 1 year ago
Excellent.  Each chapter presents a well substantiated argument on the adverse effects of poorly regulated corporate practices on workers and on the environment.  The catastrophic economic, social and environmental consequences that  would prevail are inevitable, unless society as a whole could broaden its ambition beyond current private greed and truly seek sustainable development  for all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've only just started the book, so I won't comment on the content. I just want to issue a gripe about the nook version. The font is too small and can't be altered. And the feature to change the background color (Day, Night, etc.) is not present--something that I normal like to use. So thumbs down to the Nook version.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hedges adds historical fact and impregnates it in a poetic way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mrfixit More than 1 year ago
I'm about 2/3 of the way through and so far I find the content disturbing. Chris Hedges is a favorite writer of mine and he lays out the desperation and despair endured by the people victimized by Laissez Faire Capitalism. My only complaint is that the nook version is formatted not to allow changes in font size. You have to stretch every page like you would a picture. This is slow and damned annoying. Whomever formatted this book should get out of the ereader biz.