×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

De Novo Syndrome (A Novel of the DMB Files)
     

De Novo Syndrome (A Novel of the DMB Files)

4.0 5
by Jim Buckner
 
For fans of Jim Butcher (The Dresden Files, Harry Dresden books), for fans of Ernest Cline, John Scalzi, Pierce Brown, science fiction, steampunk, thrillers, and science fiction adventure.

DESERT GODS (Book Two of the DMB Files) is also available!

REVIEWERS SAY:
"A fast paced science fiction thriller"
"non-stop action"
"an action fueled

Overview

For fans of Jim Butcher (The Dresden Files, Harry Dresden books), for fans of Ernest Cline, John Scalzi, Pierce Brown, science fiction, steampunk, thrillers, and science fiction adventure.

DESERT GODS (Book Two of the DMB Files) is also available!

REVIEWERS SAY:
"A fast paced science fiction thriller"
"non-stop action"
"an action fueled romp"

DE NOVO SYNDROME (DMB FILES BOOK ONE)
BY JIM BUCKNER & DAVID MARK BROWN
When Jim Buckner's daughter is kidnapped, his obsession shifts from discovering the lost genetic sequence for awakening human immortality to discovering who took her and how to get her back.

Now available: DESERT GODS, Book Two of the DMB Files

Product Details

BN ID:
2940016690872
Publisher:
StoneGate Ink
Publication date:
04/04/2013
Series:
The DMB Files , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
1,152,942
File size:
856 KB

Meet the Author

A paleobotanist by trade, Jim Buckner spent the first half of his career searching for medicinal value in ancient plants. His controversial discovery of a means to greatly prolong human life both ended his stint as a research scientist and threatened the lives of his daughter and himself.

After being forcibly retired he began writing novels as a means to uncover the truth and expose the conspiracy surrounding his name.

De Novo Syndrome and Desert Gods (February, 2013) combine to set the stage for the remainder of the DMB Files. Buckner is also chief editor of the Lost DMB Files, a series of pulp fiction stories from an earlier attempt to expose the same power brokers of whom Buckner has run afoul.

Due to his criminal status around much of the world, Buckner is unable to field questions or comments directly. Such contact can be made through fellow author David Mark Brown (fourth generation descendant of the original DMB).

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

De Novo Syndrome (A Novel of the DMB Files) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It all sounds like a good mix but I found it incredibly confusing. Rather unbelievable as well; I know it's fiction and there is a willing suspension of disbelief implied, but too many times the situation became so improbable that I lost interest.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nikki_F More than 1 year ago
An incredible science fiction/thriller full of mystery and suspense. Dr. Jim Buckner is trying to find a cure for his daughter's 'illness.'  What he doesn't realize is his research will result in a war between factions he didn't know existed.  He finds himself and his daughter right in the center of this latest fight.  "De Novo Syndrome" by Jim Buckner (David Mark Brown) is an amazing new science fiction/thriller.  This novel is a wild ride, full of speculation, mystery, and action.  You won't be able to put it down. I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  The reader is thrown immediately into an intense ride where you always feel at least one step behind.  I found the writing style to my taste and the character development to be fantastic.  I am aware the author has multiple other books that may be connected with this new series and which may fill in some of the blanks, though I believe this book can stand on it's own.  Although the book leaves the reader with more questions then answers, I did not find this detrimental or frustrating.  The action was profound and his take on telekinesis captivating.  The mystery and suspense leaves the reader wanting more. Brown's character development was flawless.  Dr. Bucker is a great character, full of humor.  He also has a side of himself that even he doesn't understand.  The reader follows Buckner while he discovers what he is capable of, as well as what has been hiding in plain sight all these years.  The world is a much different place then he ever imagined. It is a genuinely fantastic science fiction thriller with an extra splash of science and human evolution.  I read this book extremely quickly and will be impatiently waiting for the next installment.   I received this novel thorough Goodreads First Reads.  This in no way influenced my review.  I was not compensated for, nor required to, write a review.
readalotBM More than 1 year ago
This was made for me.I love fiction and science fiction.This was a delightful book.I read it in one day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago