Dead River

Dead River

4.1 8
by Cyn Balog
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

My friends and I are spending prom weekend at a remote wooded cabin on the Dead. The Dead River. 

I thought it was going to be just us.

I was wrong. 

Nothing is what it seems in this creepy paranormal thriller by Cyn Balog.See more details below

Overview

My friends and I are spending prom weekend at a remote wooded cabin on the Dead. The Dead River. 

I thought it was going to be just us.

I was wrong. 

Nothing is what it seems in this creepy paranormal thriller by Cyn Balog.

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 7 Up—Kiandra Levesque's father has kept her away from bodies of water ever since her mother killed herself in the river near their New Jersey home. Now living in Maine, Ki, 17, skips prom to go on a white-water-rafting adventure with her boyfriend, her cousin, and an annoying travel companion. As her group tells ghost stories, the teen has visions of the deaths of the individuals in the legends. She also begins seeing the spirits of those who died in bodies of water, and as she gets closer to the river, she hears voices. During her first journey on the Dead River, she is pulled out of the raft by something supernatural and is saved by Trey, a ghost from one of the stories. Ki, it turns out, is a "Mistress of the Waters" and has great magical powers. Trey warns her to leave the river, but she stays when another ghost, Jack, tempts her with seeing her mother again. Sticking around and kissing Jack costs Ki her life. Her mother is able to bring her back from the dead, but only at a great sacrifice of her own powers. Ki then uses her abilities to return Trey to the living as a romance between them sparks. Balog tells a unique story providing supernatural romance fans with plenty of adventure, paranormal mystique, and angst.—Adrienne L. Strock, Chicago Public Library
VOYA - Susan Hampe
Kiandra, Ki to her close friends, wanted to go to prom, but instead finds herself on a weekend trip with her boyfriend Justin, her cousin Angela, and the guy her cousin dragged along. Her overprotective father, who has forbidden anything that involves bodies of water due to the death of Ki's mother, thinks they are going to spend the weekend hiking. In actuality, the group plans to go rafting on The Dead, a river deep in local lore, and an odd choice for Ki who is herself afraid of water. There is something lurking beneath the stories of The Dead and it wants Ki, calling to her through strange visions that seem familiar. Readers who make it past the initial premise and slightly choppy opening will be swept away by the fast moving plot of this paranormal thriller, trying to unravel the mystery. Balog develops the creepy tone of the novel like an eerie fog that rolls in, starting with odd occurrences and building to spine-tingling thrills. The cast is an interesting mix, though some are a bit flat, and add to the story. This a great read for fans of R.L. Stine, Kim Harrison's Madison Avery, and fans of the classic Dark Shadow series. Reviewer: Susan Hampe
Kirkus Reviews
While most people who visit the Dead River hear the white noise of rushing water, 17-year-old Kiandra Levesque hears the voices of people the river has claimed. She's been kept away from water ever since her mother committed suicide by walking into the Delaware River 10 years earlier. Angry at this abandonment, she wants to prove to herself that she has left her mother behind, so she sneaks away with her boyfriend for a camping and rafting trip in rural Maine. When she encounters the spirit of a boy killed in the 1930s, Kia learns that she has magical powers and that she might be able to see her mother again--but that she must cross the river from life to death to do so. Balog starts her story in media res, allowing narrator Kiandra to introduce herself slowly, by revealing her past. There's a trick to keeping the narrator mostly unnamed and identified only by fears for the first several pages, and unfortunately, the author doesn't quite carry it off. Despite her heavy and often articulated misery, Kiandra comes across as a shallow character: clear, fast-moving and trickling downstream before making an impact. The inevitable love triangle feels forced, and the resolution stretches the bounds of the narrative rules, but at least it assures there's no loose threads for a sequel. The secondary characters are oxbow lakes, extraneous pieces cut off from the main flow and leading nowhere. Not the refreshing plunge it would like to be. (Paranormal thriller. 12 & up)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780375985782
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
04/09/2013
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
224
File size:
2 MB
Age Range:
12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >