Dead Shot (for fans of Lee Childs, Stieg Larsson, Vince Flynn, and Karin Slaughter)

Dead Shot (for fans of Lee Childs, Stieg Larsson, Vince Flynn, and Karin Slaughter)

4.0 17
by Jack Patterson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING:
"Small town life in southern Idaho might seem quaint and idyllic to some. But when local newspaper reporter Cal Murphy begins to uncover a series of strange deaths that are linked to a sticky spider web of deception, the lid on the peaceful town is blown wide open. Told with all the energy and bravado of an old pro, first-timer Jack

Overview

WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING:
"Small town life in southern Idaho might seem quaint and idyllic to some. But when local newspaper reporter Cal Murphy begins to uncover a series of strange deaths that are linked to a sticky spider web of deception, the lid on the peaceful town is blown wide open. Told with all the energy and bravado of an old pro, first-timer Jack Patterson hits one out of the park his first time at bat with Dead Shot. It's that good." - Vincent Zandri, bestselling author of The Remains

"J.P. does a fantastic job at keeping you engaged and interested. I look forward to more from this talented author."
- Aaron Patterson, bestselling author of SWEET DREAMS

"Like a John Grisham novel, from the very start I was pulled right into the story and couldn't put the book down. It was as if I personally knew and cared about what happened to each of the main characters. Every chapter ended with so much excitement and suspense I had to continue to read until I learned how it ended, even though it kept me up until 3:00 AM."
- Ray F., reader

****
In a small rural town in the Pacific Northwest, three star high school football players are all found dead scattered throughout the county in a 24-hour period ... and nobody seems to care why. But when journalist Cal Murphy begins looking for answers, his questions aren't welcomed by law enforcement officials -- or anyone else in town.

As he and fellow photographer Kelly Mendoza attempt to make sense of bizarre circumstances that led to the teens' deaths, Cal makes a chilling discovery, uncovering a vast conspiracy that grows darker with every twist and turn.

With a mastermind determined to silence Cal and Kelly, the young reporters ultimately must decide if their lives are worth the risk to reveal the truth.

Editorial Reviews

Times-News - David Bashore
Patterson's storytelling feels as natural as James Patterson's, and the short-chapter setup is the literary answer to Lay's potato chips: you just want one more and before you know it, you've gone through the whole thing.
CBSSports.com - Josh Katzowitz
You can tell Patterson knows what it's like to live in the newspaper world, but with Under Your Skin, he's proven that he also can write one heck of a murder mystery. With a clever plot and characters you badly want to succeed, Chartrand is on his way to becoming a new era James Patterson.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940015000351
Publisher:
Hangman Books
Publication date:
09/01/2014
Series:
A Cal Murphy Thriller , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
34,127
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Jack Patterson is an award-winning journalist who leads a quiet life with his wife and three children. He likes enjoying the great outdoors and watching sports.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Dead Shot (for fans of Lisa Black, Robert Crais, John Sanford, Lee Child and Nelson DeMille) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book ... loved the plot and pacing. Can't wait for the next one in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great thriller. Left me guessing the whole time and the ending wasn't at all what I expected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
New fan of Jack Patterson. I was looking for new mystery authors and I now have a new one to add to my list. I enjoyed the story and the continued twists and turns.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A Great Read and a gripping plot.  I was looking for a new series and I have found one.  Looking forward to the next novel: Dead Line! Check out Mr. Patterson's Facebook and website!  Give this book a try!! Doug
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book with many plot twist that keep you reading. The characters are people that you enjoy getting to know
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so loaded with ridiculous phrasing that I had to force myself to finish it. The entire plot was so farfetched it must have been a bad joke on someone....those of us who bought it maybe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I chose the book because Barnes and Noble recommended it for "those readers who like James Patterson, John Sandford....." It was juvenile, unbelievable trash!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GritsnGravy1 More than 1 year ago
A good read. Story line a little far fetched but still exciting. Going to read his next novel and see if that is more realistic.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent excting ,gripping must read book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I met him!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book is for you. Couldn't believe it got such high ratings. Don't waste your money.