Deadbeat

( 3 )
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (5) from $11.28   
  • New (4) from $11.28   
  • Used (1) from $12.94   
Deadbeat

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price

More About This Book

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780595140527
  • Publisher: iUniverse, Incorporated
  • Publication date: 10/28/2000
  • Pages: 232
  • Product dimensions: 5.98 (w) x 8.96 (h) x 0.58 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    Good story with diverse characters.

    This book's cover describes DEADBEAT as a hard-boiled thriller in the tradition of Raymond Chandler, and I agree with that comparison. It begins when Lisa Jones hires central character and detective, Frank Taylor, to find her brother who Lisa says has been missing for two weeks. Lisa believes foul play may be involved even though her brother has been known to go off by himself for a time to work out his problems. Even though Lisa is certainly not wealthy, she wants help in finding out what has happened to her brother. Frank's instinct tells him that Lisa's story may not be completely factual, but he does decide to look into the case and see where it leads him. Frank's experience with detective work has been limited to doing skip traces and fraud investigations for a credit company. This does not necessarily prepare him for the twists and turns he runs into while investigating Lisa's case. And that is exactly what makes this mystery good reading. I enjoyed getting to know Frank Taylor through this story as much as I enjoyed trying to untagle the lies and deceit Frank unearths while following the trail of the whereabouts of Lisa's brother. If I had to make a comparison between Martin's writing and that of someone else's books, I would say that DEADBEAT resembles the kind of storytelling Gar Anthony Haywood does in his Aaron Gunner series. I hope Martin intends to continue with Frank Taylor in future detective whodunits..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2000

    Couldn't put it down!

    As a personal friend of the author, I will openly admit that I am somewhat biased. However, this does not change the fact that Michael has written one hell of a book. His attention to detail and the often subtle nuances of life bring a sense of realism to his writing that is always a pleasure to find. From the very first page you realize that you're in the capable hands of a first-rate talent. The style and voice are uniquely addictive. I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    Mr. Martin Captures The Imagination!!!

    I highly recommend this book. It is an easy read that is both entertaining and thought-provoking. Mr. Martin's style is quite enjoyable. Can't wait to read his other works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)