×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Deadfall
     

Deadfall

3.0 2
by Anna Carey
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the compelling sequel to Blackbird, Anna Carey delivers a gritty and adrenaline-filled story of a girl desperate to escape her mysterious and terrifying assailants. Told in second person, this heart-pounding thriller puts the reader in front of the target, and is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Legend.

A week ago, you woke up in

Overview

In the compelling sequel to Blackbird, Anna Carey delivers a gritty and adrenaline-filled story of a girl desperate to escape her mysterious and terrifying assailants. Told in second person, this heart-pounding thriller puts the reader in front of the target, and is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and Legend.

A week ago, you woke up in Los Angeles with no memory of who you are. The only thing you knew: people are trying to kill you. You put your trust in Ben, but he betrayed you and broke your heart. Now you've escaped to New York City with a boy named Rafe, who says he remembers you from before. But the two of you are not safe. The same people who are after you are tailing Rafe as well. As the chase heats up, your memory starts to return, but your past cannot save you from the terrifying circumstances of your present, or from the fact that one wrong move could end this game forever.

Editorial Reviews

Kass Morgan
“Tense, taut, and deliciously disorienting, BLACKBIRD kept me guessing at every turn.”
Booklist
“This action–packed thriller is narrated in pitch–perfect second person”
VOYA, June 2015 (Vol. 38, No. 2) - Diane Colson
She remembers nothing, not even the boy next to her. But she does know that she has to keep moving because someone is trying to kill her. She is the target of a Hunter, the prey in an elaborate, sick game that began when her memory was wiped clean. This is the plight of Lena Marcus, introduced in Carey’s Blackbird (HarperCollins, 2014), who is still running for her life even after narrowly escaping the island. Now she is in New York City with Rafe, another target, who has won Lena’s cautious trust and love. After learning that other teen targets are somewhere in the big city, Lena and Rafe follow clues to find their hiding place. Lena convinces the targets that their only chance of survival is to go after the Hunters and end the game. But is that the right move? Carey uses New York City as the playing ground for this deadly game of cat and mouse, taking the action through subways and recognizable landmarks. At one point, for example, Lena is trapped inside the public library on Fifth Avenue. Lena’s second-person narration creates a sense of immediacy, since she has little knowledge of her past or future. Although readers of Blackbird will recognize the set-up and characters, Lena’s amnesia helps this sequel stand on its own. Her memories serve as explanations of the past. Recommend this to fans of James Patterson’s action-packed novels. Reviewer: Diane Colson; Ages 11 to 15.
School Library Journal
05/01/2015
Gr 6–9—In this sequel to Blackbird (HarperCollins, 2014), the author orchestrates an action-driven sci-fi narrative sure to entertain fans of the first volume. Lena and a small cast of characters grapple with a cruel underground organization that hunts humans for recreation and prestige. Lena struggles to piece together information regarding the organization in hopes of mending the unspeakable atrocities committed by the "hunters." Themes include the nature of humanity, fairness, love, and violence. Carey's prose is straightforward and natural. It is well suited to the characters and the readership alike. The author effectively creates a dark mood with a short sentence structure and conveys the urgency of the characters' peril. The tale is suspenseful yet heavily dialogue-driven. Fans of strong female protagonists will take solace in Lena's scrappy and street-smart style. Teens will easily come along for the ride, but the characters are underdeveloped. The villainous hunters are one-dimensional and predictable. The plot-driven story is entertaining but lacks in real substance. VERDICT This title does not stand alone, but is a must-have for rabid fans of the first book.—Katie Flynn, Williston Northampton School Library, MA
Kirkus Reviews
2015-03-17
The deadliest game comes to a head in the sequel to Blackbird (2014). The continuation of Sunny's story begins where Blackbird ended: she discovers the boy from her dreams isn't a figment of her imagination but a part of her past. Rafe knows Sunny's real name is Lena Marcus, and they fell in love while fighting for survival on the island where the game began. Lena and Rafe go to New York City, where they locate surviving victims of the game and find that several of the targets have been tracked and murdered by hunters who pay to play the game. Ben, Lena's love interest-turned-betrayer, returns to proclaim his love for her and to convince her he's on her side. Unsure whether or not she can trust Ben, Lena struggles with her feelings for him and her slowly returning feelings for Rafe; however, Lena doesn't let a love triangle stop her from turning hunter herself, relentless in her pursuit of the game's sadistic leader. Throughout the novel, the action rushes forward at top speed toward the breathtaking conclusion. As with Blackbird, the narrative is in the second person, with several chapters switching to the third-person points of view of secondary characters. This is a major disruption of the narrative focus, negating the immediacy and mystery created by positioning readers as Lena. A gripping, female-centered thriller for readers who can ignore the distractions. (Thriller. 15-18)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062299765
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/16/2015
Series:
Blackbird Series , #2
Pages:
256
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Anna Carey graduated from New York University and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She lives in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Deadfall 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i dont know.......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wheres all the reviews?