Deadly She-Wolf Assassin At Armageddon!/Mommas Song

( 1 )
$18.99 price
(Save 5%)$19.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (3) from $12.68   
  • New (3) from $12.68   

Product Details

  • Release Date: 4/26/2011
  • Label: Innova Records
  • UPC: 726708678821
  • Catalog Number: 788
  • Sales rank: 342,304


Disc 1
  1. 1 The Way of the Wolf (4:49)
  2. 2 Imperial Intrigue (2:02)
  3. 3 Enter: The She-Wolf Secret Weapon (3:05)
  4. 4 'Round and 'Round Hades We Go! (5:02)
  5. 5 In the Shadow of the Wolf (2:16)
  6. 6 Nightmares (3:09)
  7. 7 In a Silent Way I Seek My Prey (5:25)
  8. 8 The Coming of the Three Hurricanes (0:59)
  9. 9 Bok Mei: The White Lotus of The King Kong Palm of Death (7:01)
  10. 10 Colonel Ulysses Sam Armageddon (4:27)
  11. 11 Qaseem the Killing Machine (6:12)
  12. 12 The Storm of the She-Wolf (2:06)
  13. 13 We Have Arrived in Hell (4:19)
  14. 14 Pick Up the Sword to Defeat The Sword: End of the Assassin (1:13)
  15. 15 Exposition/Momma's Song - Jennifer Kidwell (14:44)
  16. 16 Development/Momma's Song - Jennifer Kidwell (4:41)
  17. 17 Transcendence Coda - Jennifer Kidwell (0:56)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Fred Ho Primary Artist, Leader, Baritone Saxophone
Royal Hartigan Percussion, Drums
David Bindman Tenor Saxophone
Art Hirahara Piano
Wesley Brown Bass, Electric Bass
Masaru Koga Shakuhachi, Alto Saxophone
Jennifer Kidwell Vocals
Technical Credits
Archie Shepp Composer
Fred Ho Arranger, Composer, Writer, Concept
Jon Rosenberg Engineer
Philip Blackburn Director
Mac McGill Illustrations
Ruth Margraff Writer
Arabelle Clitandre Illustrations, Booklet Design
Christine Stark Composer, Lyricist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Deadly She-Wolf Assassin at Armageddon! Fred Ho Innova

    This CD consists of two full-length instrumental works , one extracted from the opera, 'Deadly She-Wolf Assassin at Armageddon' and the other an epic poem, 'Momma's Song'. Included is a very cool booklet complete with very groovy designs and illustrations by Mac McGill and the texts from the two works.

    The first thing that jumps out about 'Deadly She-Wolf', are the grooves. These aren't drum machine Jam/Lewis grooves--these are James Brown/Nile Rodgers/Bernard Edward grooves. It's always laid back and in the pocket, no matter how metered and crazy it gets. Also, although the style is pretty eclectic in its east meets westness, there's definitely a jazz-fusion underpinning. Despite the very cool rhythmic and melodic coloration from the koto and shakahachi, this is often 3 steps removed from a fusion Parliament Funkadelic. The other distinguishing feature is there's definitely a Tarantino /spaghetti western epic narrative going on; at once campy then sincere-complete mockery to solemn ritualism. It is serious music but never takes itself too seriously.

    Formally in 'She-Wolf', there's a recurring 4th motivic cell in the sax, which unites the whole piece. A lot of the groove sections are divided very effectively by slower sections, that still always manage to keep a hidden pulse. Sometimes these 'between' pieces are just koto and sakahachi settings, which can quickly veer into very wild free jazz, a la Ornette Coleman There's also a lot of very deliberately clunky, ironic heads, which the band effortlessly nails then they're off to locking into a totally different tempo/groove. A cool movement is the cut 'Round and round Hades we go' is a stunning infectious blend of east/west. The tenth piece nods to the grooveablity of minimalism and the timelessness of big band arrangements.

    Ho's sax playing is persistently melodic rarely venturing to the darker side of bebop. He has amazingly expressive stark low notes that have a way of drilling into your brain. Often a Methenyish lyricism pokes through like giant gashes of sunlight.
    Praise throughout, to the drummer, Hartigan and keyboardist, Hirahara.

    Contrastingly 'Momma's song' opens with some gut-wrenching, fluttered, dirty solos from Ho. Then Jennifer Kidwell narrates the text of a terrible rape of a mother, not only as a metaphor for western imperialists' oppression of indigenous cultures, but of Mother Earth herself. The playing is raw and emotional. Towards the end Kidwell burst into a mix of song and spoken word, sounding a more upbeat epitaph. The finale is a brief return to the fusion jazz found in the first piece.

    This recording is fun, serious, and seriously 'fun'ky. Check it out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews