×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Death Echo (St. Kilda Series #4)
     

Death Echo (St. Kilda Series #4)

3.5 116
by Elizabeth Lowell
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Elizabeth Lowell has long set a standard of excellence for thrillers that never stint on either romance or suspense.”
BookPage

 

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Lowell cuts a razor-sharp new edge in romantic suspense with Death Echo, a thrilling tale of passion, danger, and international intrigue. A

Overview

“Elizabeth Lowell has long set a standard of excellence for thrillers that never stint on either romance or suspense.”
BookPage

 

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Lowell cuts a razor-sharp new edge in romantic suspense with Death Echo, a thrilling tale of passion, danger, and international intrigue. A breakneck-paced novel that unites a beautiful former CIA agent with a tough and haunted ex-Special Forces operative, Death Echo is a top-rank thriller in the vein of Iris Johansen, Tami Hoag, and Lisa Gardner—and a dazzling example of the superior storytelling that inspired author Jayne Ann Krentz to declare, “I’ll buy anything with Elizabeth Lowell’s name on it.”

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In Lowell’s well-crafted fifth St. Kilda Consulting thriller (after Blue Smoke and Murder), Manhattan operative Emma Cross travels to Seattle, Wash., where Blackbird, a yacht purported to contain enough explosives to destroy a major U.S. city, is being offloaded from a container ship. Posing as the representative of a buyer interested in the yacht, Emma connects with MacKenzie “Mac” Durand, Blackbird’s transit captain, who’s supposed to deliver the boat to a commissioning yard in the San Juan Islands. Emma and Mac, who has a background in special ops, wind up becoming unlikely allies on a dangerous sea journey in which they find themselves succumbing to their mutual attraction. Forced into a high stakes encounter with a pair of Russian spies, they come to realize that the scope of their mission is much greater than they at first assumed. Lowell’s primary focus on espionage rather than on romance is a major change from earlier novels, albeit a pleasing one. (June)
Kirkus Reviews
An international espionage crisis mixes with lighthearted romance on the high seas. Former CIA operative Emma Cross works for St. Kilda's Consulting, a private-investigating company run by Joe Faroe and his wife Grace, both familiar to Lowell fans from The Wrong Hostage (2006) and now proud parents of a baby who distracts them during every phone call and meeting. St. Kilda's has been looking for stolen yachts but the stakes skyrocket with word that a boat named the Blackbird is arriving at a small port on Elliott Bay near Seattle loaded with ammunition-whether biological, chemical or fissionable-to destroy a large American city within the next seven days. St. Kilda's is enlisted to help stop the perpetrators of the urban devastation before it happens. When the boat arrives, Emma keeps an eye on Mac Durand, who was hired to captain the Blackbird as far as Elliott Bay by a local shady transporting company with links to a Russian breakaway state. Mac used to be a member of Special Ops until a CIA screw-up caused the death of most of his unit; like everyone else in this book, he now distrusts government. Then his oldest friend, who was scheduled to sail the Blackbird north to Canada, dies under mysterious circumstances, and Mac agrees to work for St. Kilda's. Posing as lovers, hunky Mac and gorgeous Emma sail the Blackbird together into Canadian waters hoping to flush out the Eastern European politico-criminal elements behind the plot. Lowell's short chapters, each headed with date, time and location, bring to mind TV's 24, but despite the looming seven day deadline, there's little real sense of urgency. Though refreshingly cynical, the complicated political machinations remain underdeveloped. Lowell's main focus, beside an appreciation for high-end boating, is the sexual heat building between Mac and Emma, who banter on unperturbed that time is running out before Seattle blows. The predictable romance decreases the suspense in this low-wattage thriller.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061664427
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/25/2011
Series:
St. Kilda Series , #4
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
432
Sales rank:
358,996
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.60(d)

Meet the Author

New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Lowell has more than eighty titles published to date with over twenty-four million copies of her books in print. She lives in the Sierra Nevada Mountains with her husband, with whom she writes novels under a pseudonym. Her favorite activity is exploring the Western United States to find the landscapes that speak to her soul and inspire her writing.

Brief Biography

Date of Birth:
April 5, 1944
Place of Birth:
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Education:
B. A., University of California, 1966

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Death Echo 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 116 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
She left her field CIA work for what she assumed would be a much safer position. Thus former agent Emma Cross now works at St. Kilda Consulting in what has to be an easier job than being caught in the crossfire of tribal combat as she previously was. St. Kilda looks into a simple incident of a vanished yacht the Black Swan that probably was stolen. The mission is to get on board the Black Swan's identical twin Blackbird as the insurance company thinks the second vessel is actually the missing ship. Emma and former special op officer Mackenzie Durand are in charge of the assignment. He trusts no one as he believes the CIA betrayed his team on a dangerous mission five years ago in which he was the only survivor. In spite of his attraction to his partner, he prefers going alone as no one has his back. Still as he takes control of the Blackbird, Emma must overcome her instincts of also distrusting everyone if she is to learn what is going on; neither expected to fall in love or be back in the CIA's deadly outreach. Death Echo is an action-packed romantic suspense espionage thriller that remains at an incredibly high speed yet enables the audience to understand what motivates the powerful distrust in the two lead characters. That pairing of two classic misanthropic skeptics whose similar pasts come back full throttle makes for a taut St. Kilda thriller (see Blue Smoke and Murder, and The Wrong Hostage). Harriet Klausner
KenCady More than 1 year ago
For all of the effort that went into this novel, there isn't much left in your hands at the end. A red herring takes up most of the novel, and in between there is some of the lamest sexual dialogue ever written. Definitely a beach read at best.
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
Emma used to work with the CIA but she recently accepted a job at St. Kilda, a consulting firm. While looking into the disappearance of a yacht, Blackbird, that is going to be used in an attack against American's. She teams up with Mac, who used to be a special ops soldier. Little do they know, they are being watched by someone who wants Blackbird so bad, he is willing to go after it at any cost. This man, Taras, is about to make Emma and Mac remember what it's like to be targeted by someone with an endless amount of resources. Will they recover Blackbird and stay alive or will a piece of America feel the wrath? This wasn't one of my favorite books but it is entertaining. I liked the plot and the writing, I just couldn't seem to connect with the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all the St. Kildas books the best one is her first one Wrong Hostage. It seems to me that she did not put much in the other three books following the first one. Very disappointing if there is a fifth book I may not read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Madriver More than 1 year ago
I had read some nice reviews of Elizabeth Lowell's books, and expected a lot more when I picked this one up. The plot was confusing, and there was far too much time spent describing the waters northwest of Seattle and boat handling. The dialog was odd, and it seemed that the author was trying to put a romance inside of a thriller, and not doing either thing well. I'll give her another try - maybe one of her earlier books since reviews of this one indicate that she has some loyal, albeit disappointed, readers - but there are a lot of books I want to read and I won't waste my time finishing another one like this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago