Death in the Vines (Verlaque and Bonnet Series #3)

Death in the Vines (Verlaque and Bonnet Series #3)

3.0 1
by M. L. Longworth
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A crime wave jolts Aix-en-Provence in the third delightful Verlaque and Bonnet mystery

Fans of Donna Leon and Andrea Camilleri, mystery lovers, Francophiles, and foodies will adore this who-done-it with a beautiful European setting. In her riveting follow-up to Death at the Chateau Bremont and Murder in the Rue Dumas, M. L. Longworth evokes

See more details below

Overview

A crime wave jolts Aix-en-Provence in the third delightful Verlaque and Bonnet mystery

Fans of Donna Leon and Andrea Camilleri, mystery lovers, Francophiles, and foodies will adore this who-done-it with a beautiful European setting. In her riveting follow-up to Death at the Chateau Bremont and Murder in the Rue Dumas, M. L. Longworth evokes the sights and sounds of late-summer Provence, where the mistral blows and death comes in the most unexpected places.

            Olivier Bonnard, the owner of Domaine Beauclaire winery, is devastated when he discovers the theft of a priceless cache of rare vintages. Soon after, Monsieur Gilles d’Arras reports that his wife, Pauline, has vanished from their lavish apartment. As Judge Antoine Verlaque and Commissioner Paulik tackle the case (with a little help from Marine Bonnet), they receive an urgent call: Bonnard has just found Madame d’Arras—dead in his vineyard.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Longworth throws a variety of puzzles at investigating magistrate Antoine Verlaque and his significant other, law professor Marine Bonnet, in their enjoyable third outing (after 2012’s Murder in the Rue Dumas). A few hours after Pauline d’Arras—an older woman who may be displaying the onset of Alzheimer’s—disappears, her frantic husband shows up at police headquarters in Aix-en-Provence. In addition, an inventory of an always-locked wine cellar, part of a winery where a police official’s wife works, reveals that someone has been looting the cellar of its most precious contents. Finally, a 28-year-old bank employee, Suzanne Montmory, is raped and severely beaten. Two of the mysteries end up involving murder, and it falls to Verlaque and Bonnet to track down the killer or killers responsible. The solutions are less interesting than the byplay between the leads, but the book’s real strength is its evocation of place. Agent: Katherine Fausset, Curtis Brown. (June)
From the Publisher
“Judge Antoine Verlaque, the sleuth in this civilized series, discharges his professional duties with discretion. But we’re here to taste the wines, which are discussed by experts like Hippolyte Thebaud, a former wine thief, and served in beautiful settings like a 300-year-old stone farmhouse. So many bottles, so many lovely views. A reader might be forgiven for feeling woozy.” – Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times
   
“Though the plot is hair-raising, what keeps you glued to this mystery is its vivid portrait of everyday life in Aix, which deftly juxtaposes the elegance of the city…with quotidian woes and pleasures.” – Oprah.com
   
“What follows is a lovely, almost cozy police procedural that deserves to be read with a glass of wine in hand. Longworth paints such a loving picture of Provence that it's likely you'll start planning a vacation trip to France the moment you set the book down.” – The Denver Post
   
“As much as the mystery intrigues-in this case some intertwined crimes involving a local winery, a missing elderly woman, and a rich man's suspicious construction project-what really makes Longworth's books enjoyable are the atmosphere and details that she includes of the South of France.” – The Seattle Post Intelligencer 
     
“This is an intelligently written police procedural with the warm comfort of a baguette with banon cheese.” – Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine
  
“Enjoyable… the book’s real strength is its evocation of place.” – Publisher’s Weekly

Praise for Murder in the Rue Dumas
  
Murder in the Rue Dumas is even more spectacular than her first novel, which is no small feat. The pacing is perfect, the characters delightful,
and the setting so real it's impossible not to think you can reach out and touch it. Do not miss this book!’ – Tasha Alexander, author of the Lady Emily series

“As intricate as the mystery is, what provides the most pleasure in reading Murder in the Rue Dumas is Longworth’s description of Verlaque and Bonet’s daily lives… one can practically smell the freshly-baked croissants.” – Seattle Post-Intelligencer 

“Fans of European sleuths with a taste for good food … will have fun.” – Publisher's Weekly

“What really makes Longforth’s writing special is her deep knowledge of French history, landscape, cuisine, and even contemporary cafes and restaurants. This is that rare atmospheric mystery that is street-wise and café-canny.” – Booklist (starred review)

“Longworth’s gentle procedural succeeds on several levels, whether it’s for academic and literary allusions, police work, or armchair travel. With deftly shifting points of view, Longworth creates a beguiling read that will appeal to Louise Penny and Donna Leon fans.” – Library Journal

“French-set mysteries have never been more popular [and] among the very best is a series set in Provence featuring Monsieur Verlaque, an examining magistrate, and his sometime girlfriend, law professor Marine Bonnet.” – The Denver Post

Praise For Death at the Chateau Bremont
 

"This first novel in a projected series has charm, wit, and Aix-en- Provence all going for it. Longworth's voice is like a rich vintage of sparkling Dorothy Sayers and grounded Donna Leon...Longworth has lived in Aix since 1997, and her knowledge of the region is apparent on every page. Bon appétit."— Booklist

..A promising debut for Longworth, who shows there's more to France than Paris and more to mystery than Maigret."— Kirkus

"Your readers will eat this one up."— Library Journal

"Death at Chateau Bremont is replete with romance, mystery, and a rich atmosphere that makes the south of France spring off the page in a manner reminiscent of Donna Leon's Venice. A wonderful start to a series sure to gain a legion of fans."

— Tasha Alexander

"Mystery and romance served up with a hearty dose of French cuisine. I relished every word. Longworth does for Aix-en-Provence what Frances Mayes does for Tuscany: You want to be there-NOW!"

— Babara Fairchild, former editor-in-chief, Bon Appetit magazine

"Longworth has a good eye and a sharp wit, and this introduction to Verlaque and Bonnet holds promise for a terrific series."

— Globe and Mail

Library Journal
A gentle and captivating series' third entry (after Murder in the Rue Dumas) sends Judge Antoine Verlaque and professor Marine Bonnet into the vineyards and beyond when three murders appear to be linked.
Kirkus Reviews
Aix and the Provence countryside provide a variety of vexations for examining magistrate Antoine Verlaque (Death at the Chateau Bremont, 2011, etc.). First it was the wine at Domaine Beauclaire. Owner Olivier Bonnard reports dozens of bottles have disappeared, some very rare and valuable. Then Gilles d'Arras reports that when he arrived home at 12:30, his wife Pauline was missing--missing!--after having met him for lunch every day for 42 years. Between a trip to Paris to consult retired wine thief Hippolyte Thébaud and a delay caused by a suicide on the TGV line, there's hardly time to investigate the rape and beating of bank clerk Suzanne Montmory. When Suzanne dies of her injuries, Verlaque and police commissioner Bruno Paulik interview her co-workers at the Bank of Provence in Éguilles. Still, their investigation stalls despite the best efforts of their bright young colleagues, Alain Flamant and Jules Schoelcher. Verlaque is so overwhelmed that he doesn't even notice that his partner, law professor Marine Bonnet, has grown detached and pensive. It takes a visit to the missing Pauline's sister Clothide in a cloister near Narbonne to force Verlaque to confront the ghosts of his past that cast shadows on his relationship with Marine. And it takes a second and even a third death to prompt Verlaque and Paulik to close the book on Aix's crime spree. Longworth loses some of her focus in her tangled third, whose plot twists as capriciously as Bonnard's vines.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780143122449
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
05/28/2013
Series:
Verlaque and Bonnet Series, #3
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
177,471
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise For Death at the Chateau Bremont
 
"This first novel in a projected series has charm, wit, and Aix-en- Provence all going for it. Longworth's voice is like a rich vintage of sparkling Dorothy Sayers and grounded Donna Leon...Longworth has lived in Aix since 1997, and her knowledge of the region is apparent on every page. Bon appétit."— Booklist

..A promising debut for Longworth, who shows there's more to France than Paris and more to mystery than Maigret."— Kirkus

"Your readers will eat this one up."— Library Journal

"Death at Chateau Bremont is replete with romance, mystery, and a rich atmosphere that makes the south of France spring off the page in a manner reminiscent of Donna Leon's Venice. A wonderful start to a series sure to gain a legion of fans."
— Tasha Alexander

"Mystery and romance served up with a hearty dose of French cuisine. I relished every word. Longworth does for Aix-en-Provence what Frances Mayes does for Tuscany: You want to be there-NOW!"
— Babara Fairchild, former editor-in-chief, Bon Appetit magazine

"Longworth has a good eye and a sharp wit, and this introduction to Verlaque and Bonnet holds promise for a terrific series."
— Globe and Mail

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >