Death Watch

Death Watch

5.0 2
by Jim Kelly
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"Ever since the days of Agatha Christie, the great divide in the British detective story has been between plot and character...The novels of Jim Kelly are. . . a find." -The New York Times Book Review

Rookie detective Peter Shaw teams up with his father's tough ex-partner to investigate both a gruesome series of present-day murders and

…  See more details below

Overview

"Ever since the days of Agatha Christie, the great divide in the British detective story has been between plot and character...The novels of Jim Kelly are. . . a find." -The New York Times Book Review

Rookie detective Peter Shaw teams up with his father's tough ex-partner to investigate both a gruesome series of present-day murders and some unfinished business from the past, in Death Watch, the second book in the Detective Shaw Mystery series.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
British author Kelly's winning second police procedural pairing West Norfolk Det. Insp. Peter Shaw with Det. Sgt. George Valentine, Shaw's late father's former partner (after 2009's Death Wore White), neatly balances several intricate story lines. Exactly 18 years to the day after 15-year-old Norma Jean Judd vanished in 1992, her twin brother Bryan's corpse turns up in a hospital incinerator. The case is assigned to Shaw, who's unaware that his father, Det. Chief Insp. Jack Shaw, handled Norma Jean's disappearance. After breaking the devastating news to the surviving Judds, Shaw manages to save a man from a nearby burning building and ends up with another puzzle: who's “the Organ Grinder” the near-victim was so frightened of that he initially resisted rescue? On top of those mysteries, Kelly tosses in new developments in the case that ended the elder Shaw's career and led to Valentine's demotion. This clever series will appeal to fans of Peter Lovesey and Reginald Hill. (June)
Library Journal
First the corpse of a man whose sister disappeared 18 years earlier is found in a high-tech hospital incinerator; then a homeless shelter is torched, and more bodies whose organs have been surgically removed are found in the West Norfolk area. As detective Peter Shaw and his team investigate, he and DS George Valentine, his father's old partner, reopen a cold case that had ended his father's career and had led to Valentine's demotion. VERDICT In this second procedural featuring Shaw and Valentine (after Death Wore White), Kelly spins his yarn into a complicated cat's cradle of intersecting plot lines and converging motives that lead to a shockingly unexpected ending. Shaw and Valentine's relationship adds spice since neither man trusts the other. Fans of P.D. James and Stuart MacBride will enjoy this fine crime novel.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781429927710
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
05/25/2010
Series:
A Detective Shaw Mystery , #2
Sold by:
Macmillan
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
464
Sales rank:
505,027
File size:
388 KB

Meet the Author

JIM KELLY, the son of a Scotland yard detective and winner of the CWA Dagger in the Library award, lives in England.


Jim Kelly, the son of a Scotland yard detective and winner of the Crime Writers of America Dagger in the Library award, lives in England. His books include Death Wore White and The Skeleton Man.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >