Death Watch [NOOK Book]

Overview

“Ever since the days of Agatha Christie, the great divide in the British detective story has been between plot and character…The novels of Jim Kelly are. . . a find.” —The New York Times Book Review

Rookie detective Peter Shaw teams up with his father’s tough expartner to investigate both a gruesome series of present-day murders and some unfinished business from the past.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Death Watch

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook - First Edition)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

“Ever since the days of Agatha Christie, the great divide in the British detective story has been between plot and character…The novels of Jim Kelly are. . . a find.” —The New York Times Book Review

Rookie detective Peter Shaw teams up with his father’s tough expartner to investigate both a gruesome series of present-day murders and some unfinished business from the past.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
British author Kelly's winning second police procedural pairing West Norfolk Det. Insp. Peter Shaw with Det. Sgt. George Valentine, Shaw's late father's former partner (after 2009's Death Wore White), neatly balances several intricate story lines. Exactly 18 years to the day after 15-year-old Norma Jean Judd vanished in 1992, her twin brother Bryan's corpse turns up in a hospital incinerator. The case is assigned to Shaw, who's unaware that his father, Det. Chief Insp. Jack Shaw, handled Norma Jean's disappearance. After breaking the devastating news to the surviving Judds, Shaw manages to save a man from a nearby burning building and ends up with another puzzle: who's “the Organ Grinder” the near-victim was so frightened of that he initially resisted rescue? On top of those mysteries, Kelly tosses in new developments in the case that ended the elder Shaw's career and led to Valentine's demotion. This clever series will appeal to fans of Peter Lovesey and Reginald Hill. (June)
Library Journal
First the corpse of a man whose sister disappeared 18 years earlier is found in a high-tech hospital incinerator; then a homeless shelter is torched, and more bodies whose organs have been surgically removed are found in the West Norfolk area. As detective Peter Shaw and his team investigate, he and DS George Valentine, his father's old partner, reopen a cold case that had ended his father's career and had led to Valentine's demotion. VERDICT In this second procedural featuring Shaw and Valentine (after Death Wore White), Kelly spins his yarn into a complicated cat's cradle of intersecting plot lines and converging motives that lead to a shockingly unexpected ending. Shaw and Valentine's relationship adds spice since neither man trusts the other. Fans of P.D. James and Stuart MacBride will enjoy this fine crime novel.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781429927710
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publication date: 5/25/2010
  • Series: A Detective Shaw Mystery , #2
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition description: First Edition
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 464
  • Sales rank: 329,235
  • File size: 379 KB

Meet the Author

Jim Kelly

JIM KELLY, the son of a Scotland yard detective and winner of the CWA Dagger in the Library award, lives in England.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)