Gift Guide

Debut Recital

( 2 )
$10.34 price
(Save 13%)$11.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $2.99   
  • New (3) from $6.96   
  • Used (2) from $2.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 1/23/1996
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • UPC: 028944743029
  • Catalog Number: 447430
  • Sales rank: 8,660


Disc 1
  1. 1 Scherzo for piano No. 3 in C sharp minor, Op. 39, CT. 199 - Frédéric Chopin & Martha Argerich (6:31)
  2. 2–3 Rhapsodies (2) for piano, Op. 79 - Martha Argerich & Johannes Brahms (14:59)
  3. 3 Toccata for piano in C major, Op. 11 - Martha Argerich & Sergey Prokofiev (4:09)
  4. 4 Jeux d'eau, for piano - Maurice Ravel & Martha Argerich (5:27)
  5. 5 Barcarolle for piano in F sharp major, Op. 60, CT. 6 - Frédéric Chopin & Martha Argerich (8:06)
  6. 6 Hungarian Rhapsody, for piano No. 6 in D flat major, S. 244/6 (LW A132/6) - Franz Liszt & Martha Argerich (6:23)
  7. 8–18 Piano Sonata in B minor, S. 178 (LW A179): Valse caprice No 6 - Franz Liszt & Martha Argerich (25:45)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Martha Argerich Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Thrilling Virtuosity

    Martha Argerich's debut recording of the Liszt Piano Sonata and Brahms Rhapsody ranks among the finest in the DG Original series. Argerich's technical mastery of the keyboard is beyond comparison, and the way she interprets just the slightest variations in mood and temperament suggest that she is indeed knowledgeable of a wide repertoire of such works. This recording is in the demonstration bracket and its sound quality is excellent for its time. Highly recommended among essential recordings for classical music beginners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fine Recording

    Well, the big-name artist Martha Argerich shows why she is one of the best in this album. I found her playing in Prokofiev's Toccata remarkable. The major piece of this CD definitely goes to the Liszt Sonata. With incredible virtuosity, Argerich is still able to find the exquisite touch of soft sections. Ravel is also excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews