A Deeper Faith: A Journey into Spirituality [NOOK Book]

Overview

In the tradition of Madeleine L’Engle, Frederick Buechner, and Thomas Merton comes a brilliant new voice—Jeffrey Mark Golliher—whose life, teachings, and writings will inspire and instruct a new generation.



The spiritual journey is an...
See more details below
A Deeper Faith: A Journey into Spirituality

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.99
BN.com price

Overview

In the tradition of Madeleine L’Engle, Frederick Buechner, and Thomas Merton comes a brilliant new voice—Jeffrey Mark Golliher—whose life, teachings, and writings will inspire and instruct a new generation.



The spiritual journey is an adventure that has few road maps. Filled with amazing highs and deep lows, the journey of the soul can be confusing, confounding, and at times elusive. Seekers both new and seasoned need a guide to help them through each phase of growth and learning.



A modern-day Merton, Episcopalian priest and cultural anthropologist Jeffrey Mark Golliher is such a guide. He uses the form of letters to a spiritual seeker to act as a mentor and friend, answering questions that we all can relate to, as well as telling stories from his own life and from the lives of the thousands he has counseled and helped over the years. The book follows the liturgical seasons of the Christian calendar, as Golliher brings into focus the perils and promises that a life filled with holiness and awe will bring.



Divided into three sections—“Responding to the Call,” “Making the Passage,” and “The Path of Love”—Golliher’s work ushers his reader through the rhythms of the soul, bringing wisdom to the road traveled by all who seek a great understanding and deeper connection to God.



This is a book for any reader who wants spiritual nourishment, especially during the dark nights when doubt reigns supreme and faith is hardest to find. Graceful without being preachy, A Deeper Faith is the story of believing when all else fails and of holding on to the promise of a devotional life. Honest, revealing, and important, this is a modern classic of an ancient rite of passage, the path of the soul, written by a man who has traveled the path and come back to help each of us.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781440629365
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 9/18/2008
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 272
  • Sales rank: 1,114,214
  • File size: 340 KB

Meet the Author

Rev. Jeffrey Mark Golliher, Ph.D., a cultural anthropologist and priest in the Episcopal Church, has traveled widely to understand the spiritual dimension of the environmental crisis. For over 10 years, he was Canon for Environmental Justice and Community Development at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in Manhattan. Today, he is a parish priest and spiritual director, working with people who want to live in more spiritually-aware, healthy, and sustainable lives. As the environmental representative for the worldwide Anglican Communion at the United Nations, he has organized global conferences on spirituality, ecology, and community development, and he has written and edited numerous books and articles on these subjects for the church and the United Nations. He was born and raised in the Blue Ridge Mountains of western North Carolina. He and his wife, Asha, live in upstate New York.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)