Def Jam Music Group -- 10th Year Anniversary

Def Jam Music Group -- 10th Year Anniversary

In the '80s, Def Jam Records became the leading rap and hip-hop label in America. Featuring a roster filled with superstars -- including Public Enemy, LL Cool J, the Beastie Boys, Slick Rick, and EPMD -- Def Jam released many of


In the '80s, Def Jam Records became the leading rap and hip-hop label in America. Featuring a roster filled with superstars -- including Public Enemy, LL Cool J, the Beastie Boys, Slick Rick, and EPMD -- Def Jam released many of the most innovative and groundbreaking records of the late '80s and, as the four-CD box Ten Year Anniversary proves, the music has lost none of its impact over the years. Over the course of the four discs, the set runs through a number or hip-hop classics, including "I Can't Live Without My Radio," "Fight the Power," "(You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)," "Slam," "Don't Believe the Hype," "Rock the Bells," "Regulate," "Crossover," and over 50 other tracks. The one (minor) drawback of the set is the fact that it isn't sequenced chronologically; nevertheless, each disc in the box is compulsively listenable. In sheer musical terms, Ten Year Anniversary is one of the best box sets ever compiled and is essential to any popular music collection.

Product Details

Release Date:
Def Jam


Disc 1

  1. I Can't Live Without My Radio
  2. Rebel Without a Pause
  3. Hold It Now, Hit It
  4. Crossover
  5. Children's Story
  6. Going Back to Cali
  7. Paul Revere
  8. I'm That Type of Guy
  9. No Sleep Till Brooklyn
  10. Bring the Noise
  11. The Gas Face
  12. Hip Hop Junkies
  13. Welcome To The Terrordome
  14. Big Ole Butt

Disc 2

  1. Slam
  2. The Boomin' System
  3. Shut 'Em Down
  4. Mona Lisa
  5. Deeper
  6. Tonight's Da Night
  7. Headbanger
  8. Brass Monkey
  9. Back Seat
  10. Pop Goes the Weasel
  11. Sometimes I Rhyme Slow
  12. I Need Love
  13. I'll Be There For You/You're All I Need To Get By
  14. The Rain
  15. Somethin' 4 Da Honeyz

Disc 3

  1. Fight the Power
  2. (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)
  3. Mama Said Knock You Out
  4. Blow Your Mind
  5. I'm Bad
  6. Throw Ya Gunz
  7. Black Steel In The Hour Of Chaos
  8. Hey Young World
  9. Public Enemy No. 1
  10. Gold Digger
  11. Daddy's Little Girl
  12. Around the Way Girl
  13. Teenage Love
  14. Steppin' To The A.M.
  15. How High
  16. I Got Him All The Time

Disc 4

  1. Don't Believe the Hype
  2. Rock the Bells
  3. Regulate
  4. Can't Truss It
  5. Stay Real
  6. Night Of The Living Baseheads
  7. Method Man
  8. Jack the Ripper
  9. Gang Stories
  10. Getto Jam
  11. Jingling Baby
  12. Sweet Potato Pie
  13. Bring the Pain
  14. Give It Up
  15. This Is How We Do It

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Beastie Boys   Track Performer
EPMD   Track Performer
Public Enemy   Track Performer
Slick Rick   Track Performer
Anthrax   Track Performer
Oran "Juice" Jones   Track Performer
Nice & Smooth   Track Performer
Redman   Track Performer
Boss   Track Performer
Onyx   Track Performer
South Central Cartel   Track Performer
Warren G   Track Performer
3rd Bass   Track Performer
Mary J. Blige   Track Performer
Nikki D   Track Performer
LL Cool J   Track Performer
Erick Sermon   Track Performer
Montell Jordan   Track Performer
Method Man   Track Performer
MoKenStef   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Beastie Boys   Composer,Producer
Def Jef   Producer
Anthrax   Composer
Redman   Composer
Domino   Producer
Warren G   Producer
3rd Bass   Producer
Adam Horovitz   Composer
Bomb Squad   Executive Producer
Chuck D   Composer
Chyskillz   Producer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Remixing
Keith Crouch   Remixing
Cerwin Depper   Composer,Producer
Bobby Ervin   Producer
Steven Ett   Composer
Flavor Flav   Composer
Harvey Fuqua   Composer
Gary G-Wiz   Composer,Producer
J.B.L.   Producer
Jam Master Jay   Producer
LL Cool J   Composer,Producer
Jay Livingston   Composer
Marley Marl   Producer
Pete Nice   Producer
Reggie Noble   Producer
Prince Paul   Producer
Oji Pierce   Producer
Prodeje   Producer
Doug Rasheed   Producer
Stuart Robertz   Composer,Producer
Rick Rubin   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Carl Ryder   Producer
Keith Shocklee   Composer,Producer
Erick Sermon   Producer
Hank Shocklee   Composer,Producer
Russell Simmons   Producer,Executive Producer
Dwayne "Muffla" Simon   Composer
Parrish Smith   Producer
J. Stone   Composer
Ricky Walters   Producer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Montell Jordan   Producer
DJ Battlecat   Producer
Derrick Edmondson   Remixing
Eric "Vietnam" Sadler   Composer,Producer
Wino   Remixing
Prince Rakeem   Producer
Bill Stephney   Producer
Vince Bell   Producer
John Gamble   Composer
Mister Bozack   Producer
D. Ross   Composer
Marlon Williams   Composer
William Drayton   Composer
Michael Berrin   Composer
P. Nash   Composer
Bill Adler   Liner Notes
Sidney Reynolds   Producer
R. James   Composer
Adam Yauch   Composer
Mike Diamond   Composer
Darryl Pierce   Composer
J.T. Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >