Delmar's Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam Review / Edition 2

Delmar's Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam Review / Edition 2

2.2 14
by Patricia K. Anthony
     
 

ISBN-10: 0766814327

ISBN-13: 9780766814325

Pub. Date: 12/16/2003

Publisher: Cengage Learning

Ideal for review courses and for individual study, this book is a must-have tool for anyone preparing to take the Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination. Concise reviews of the critical topics outlined by the Pharmacy Certification Training Board, along with review tests at the end of each chapter, assess your current knowledge and identify areas that need

Overview

Ideal for review courses and for individual study, this book is a must-have tool for anyone preparing to take the Pharmacy Technician Certification Examination. Concise reviews of the critical topics outlined by the Pharmacy Certification Training Board, along with review tests at the end of each chapter, assess your current knowledge and identify areas that need further study. In addition to end-of-chapter practice questions, two cumulative tests at the end of the book provide practice for taking the full-length exam. If additional math practice is what you need, you'll find 14 chapters that focus specifically on math and include additional math questions. This new edition includes greatly expanded information on pharmacology, pharmaceutical agents, the effect of drugs on specific body systems and conditions, and drug interactions.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780766814325
Publisher:
Cengage Learning
Publication date:
12/16/2003
Series:
Test Preparation Series
Edition description:
REV
Pages:
600
Product dimensions:
8.52(w) x 10.98(h) x 0.86(d)

Table of Contents

Preface. About the PCTB Examination. SECTION ONE: ASSISTING THE PHARAMCIST IN SERVING PATIENTS. PART A: FILLING THE MEDICATION ORDER. Receiving the Medication Order. Processing the Medical Order. Preparation and Utilization of the Patient Profile. Handling Medications. Proper Storage and Delivery of Drug Products. Receiving Payment for Goods and Services. PART B: PHARMACEUTICAL CALCULATIONS. Fractions, Decimals, and Algebra Review. Systems of Measurement. Using Percentages and Ratios. Measuring Equipment. Conversion of Solid Dosage Forms. Conversion of Liquid Dosage Forms. Pediatric Dosages. Parenteral Dosages. Intravenous Calculations. Intravenous Admixtures. Calculation of Dose per Time. Compounding. Commercial Calculations. Math Test with Solutions. PART C: PHARMACOLOGY. Introduction to Pharmacology. Central Nervous System Agents. Pain Management Agents: Nonsteroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drugs and Narcotics. Cardiovascular System Agents. Pulmonary Agents. Antibiotics and Anti-infectives. Cancer Chemotherapeutic Agents. Gastrointestinal System Agents. Endocrine System and Reproductive System Agents. Vitamins. Pharmacology Review. PART D: PHARMACY LAW. State and Federal Regulations. State and Federal Regulatory Agencies. Law and Ethics in the Practice of Pharmacy. SECTION TWO: MAINTAINING MEDICAL AND INVENTORY CONTROL SYSTEMS. Stocking the Pharmacy. Maintenance of Pharmaceutical Products. SECTION THREE: ADMINISTRATION AND MANAGEMENT OF PHARMACY PRACTICE. Using Computers in the Pharmacy. Communications within the Pharmacy. APPENDIX A: Top 200 Frequently Prescribed Drugs and Their Uses. APPENDIX B: Commonly Used Medical Abbreviations. APPENDIX C: Pretest with Answers. APPENDIX D: Sample Examination and Answer Sheet; Answers for Scoring. APPENDIX E: Solutions to Questions for Review. Glossary. Suggested Reading. Index.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Delmar's Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam Review 2.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Content was ok, but I was rather disappointed in the 'editing' that was obviously lacking. I have worked as a technician for over 20 years as well as formal education at a local communitiy college. After dealing with pediatric calculations for 11+ years, I could read through the errors. Those technicians who have not had the experience may be lead down the wrong path! The drug classifications section was quite helpful, as was the retail setting section. Overall, a nice review, but not all that helpful for prepping for the exam. My work experience was more helpful!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been getting ready to take the PTCB exam and this book is awful. It has flaws and typos in so many important areas. EXAMPLE: It had the wrong calculations to verify a DEA#.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been working in a hospital pharmacy for many years as a pharmacy tech and I was appalled at the number of mistakes in this manual. What ever happened to editing? I DO NOT recommend this book for the certification exam especially if you are relying on it for the math. The information in this book, math/pharmacology/law/drug info is OVER AND ABOVE what you need to know as a pharmacy technician, therefore causing you to waste time studying unnecessary material. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The layout of the book is good but the errors are numerous and throughout the book. From example: using drugs that don't come in the dosage form used in the example, use of obsolete drugs, incorrect calculation for checking a DEA number, Imitrex listed as an antidepressant??. The list goes on and on. This book was very poorly reviewed and edited prior to publishing. As a pharmacist for 20 years who has worked in retail, home IV infusion, specialty pharmacy, and now consulting, I can not recommend this book. It would probably be ok for math skills but do not rely on it for pharmacy knowledge for the test or for your practice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is very informative but yet it contains MANY mistakes. Considering the fact that this is the only Pharm Tech Exam Review out there, the author should be more careful. Some of the formulas are wrong and some information are incorrect.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This could have been an excellent review tool with decent editing. However, the number of errors makes it impossible to trust the overall text. Most of the errors I have found are fairly obvious and should have been corrected during editing prior to publication. However, as a relatively new Pharmacy Technician, I fear that there are other errors I might not have the experience to recognize. I do not recommend this book until the publisher thoroughly re-edits and corrects the errors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a pharmacy technician for 4 years now through college and am going for certification by the PTCB. The book does a wonderful job filling in many of the gaps I've had, since I have only worked retail and am unfamiliar with hospital techniques. However, I have found a few errors that make me nervous to use this book alone in preparation for the exam. I have found that in many of the review quizzes, the explanation of an answer doesn't match what the question was asking for. Another error I have found include improper method of how to determine a valid DEA number. Also, the book lists some drugs with invalid uses, such as Imitrex as an antidepressant when it is an anti-migraine medication, just to name one of many. I do find the book a great aide mathematically to help with calculations, which is a bulk of the exam.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The second edition of this book focuses on all of the primary aspects of the certification exam. In 38 chapters, it covers basic pharmacy, customer service, safety, and pharmaceutical calculations, as well as extensive chapters on pharmacy law and pharmacology. Pharmacology chapters have been separated according to the various organ systems, and organized according to use and drug mechanism, for easier learning, and simplifies the understanding of drug uses, mechanisms, and interactions. Basic pharmacology and drug nomenclature are also thoroughly discussed. Several chapters relating to pharmacy law, including the new HIPAA regulations, have also been included. Practice examinations strictly related to pharmacy math and pharmacology are presented in the text, as well as chapter questions with fully explained answers. This is a very comprehensive review, and makes a large amount of background material available for better comprehension, rather than just presenting material specifically related to the exam, which makes the text an excellent learning tool, as well as an exam review.