Department 19

Department 19

4.6 42
by Will Hill
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Jamie Carpenter's father is dead, his mother is missing, and he was just rescued by an enormous creature named Frankenstein. Now Jamie is pulled into a secret organization responsible for policing the supernatural, founded more than a century ago by Abraham Van Helsing. . . . Department Nineteen takes us through history, across Europe, and beyond - from the cobbled

Overview

Jamie Carpenter's father is dead, his mother is missing, and he was just rescued by an enormous creature named Frankenstein. Now Jamie is pulled into a secret organization responsible for policing the supernatural, founded more than a century ago by Abraham Van Helsing. . . . Department Nineteen takes us through history, across Europe, and beyond - from the cobbled streets of Victorian London to prohibition-era New York, from the icy wastes of Arctic Russia to the treacherous mountains of Transylvania. Part modern thriller, part classic horror, it's packed with mystery, mayhem, and a level of suspense that makes a Darren Shan novel look like a romantic comedy.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Gripping, gory, and violent, this isn't for the faint-hearted - but it's also clever, and moving, and wittily done. I can't wait for the next installment." -John Connolly, bestselling author of Every Dead Thing, The Reapers and The Book of Lost Things.
Publishers Weekly
Hill hits the ground running in this explosive debut, an action thriller inspired by a genre classic. Jamie Carpenter's father died as a traitor to his country, but two years later, 16-year-old Jamie discovers his father's secret life when vampires attack and he's saved by Frankenstein's notorious monster. Taken to the ultra-secretive Department 19, a government organization founded by Dracula's killers (and run by their descendants) to protect England from the supernatural, Jamie gets a crash course in a world he never knew existed. When his mother is kidnapped by vampires, Jamie sets out to rescue her, aided by the immortal Frank-enstein (who took his maker's name) and an untrustworthy vampire girl to whom he's attracted. As Jamie unravels hidden agendas, deals with assorted enemies, and faces the triumphs and tragedies of generations past, he's drawn deeper into a plot that could tip the scales between humans and vampires. Alternating between Jamie's desperate quest and episodes set in Department 19's storied past, this is a nonstop thrill ride right up to the cliffhanger ending. This cinematic adrenaline rush has the makings of a surefire hit. Ages 14–up. (Apr.)
School Library Journal
Gr 9 Up—Jaime Carpenter is a sulky, antisocial teen. Having moved several times in the past two years, he is the perpetual new kid and constant target of bullies. But what does he expect after his father is gunned down by the authorities for aiding terrorists? Now more sins of the father are being visited on the son. Jaime is attacked and his mother is kidnapped by a being of unbelievable power. The teen is only spared his mother's fate when Frankenstein's monster appears on the scene wielding strange weapons. It whisks Jaime away to a hidden government installation occupied by Department Nineteen, or Blacklight, the most secret of secret agencies. He soon discovers that vampires, like Frankenstein's monster, are real and are an actual threat to Britain and the rest of the world. He is told that Stoker's Dracula and Shelley's Frankenstein are accurate recordings of historical events. He also learns that his father was a slayer of vampires and other dangerous creatures. The director of Blacklight reluctantly agrees to let Jaime and Frankenstein search for Mrs. Carpenter with the help of a captured teen vampire to whom Jaime is unnervingly attracted. There is plenty of action and gore to hook even reluctant readers despite the 500-plus pages. The author skillfully blends history, classical fiction, and teen fantasy into a unique novel. There is some weak dialogue with characters abruptly switching emotional gears, but the plot more than makes up for it. Fans of Darren Shan and Marcus Sedgwick will eat this up.—Anthony C. Doyle, Livingston High School, CA
Kirkus Reviews
If the elevator pitch for this book wasn't "Dracula meets James Bond," it was pretty close. Shortly after the events of the Gothic classic, the British government formed the supersecret Department 19, its founding members the good guys who staked the Count, plus Van Helsing's valet. In 2007, that valet's descendent (all the founders' descendents are automatically invited to join Department 19) is brutally gunned down in front of his wife and son. Two years later, 16-year-old Jamie Carpenter is prematurely inducted into Department 19—nicknamed Blacklight—after his mother is kidnapped by a vampire and the Department's Colonel Frankenstein rescues him (the monster, not the doctor; though his history is the novel's, he looks like Boris Karloff from the movies). What follows is plenty of high-octane action, groovy specialized vampire-fighting equipment, buckets of gore, intriguing historical side trips and even a little romance between Jamie and a sexy teen vampire. Jamie will do anything to rescue his mother, which leads to constant violations of the chain of command, angry outbursts and unauthorized missions—forget James Bond; Blacklight's a lot more like the fractious gang of 24. Readers will identify the inevitable double-crosser long before Jamie does, but they probably won't mind. They'll be so happy these vampires don't sparkle they'll forgive the novel's excesses and keep flipping the pages to the next splatter-fest—and then they'll demand the sequel. (Horror. 14 & up)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781595144850
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
02/02/2012
Series:
Department 19 Series , #1
Pages:
544
Sales rank:
201,857
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.60(d)
Age Range:
14 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher

"Gripping, gory, and violent, this isn't for the faint-hearted - but it's also clever, and moving, and wittily done. I can't wait for the next installment." -John Connolly, bestselling author of Every Dead Thing, The Reapers and The Book of Lost Things.

Meet the Author

William Hill is a former publishing professional who lives in England. Department 19 is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Department 19 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 43 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It will leave destruction in it's path
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only read sample,two words:****ing bad***!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You guys are a good six months off..... theres already a sequel and the third will be out in three months
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By far one of the best book that I've ever read. Cover to cover action, filled with blood, gore, violence, and.... vampires.
Pat Quan More than 1 year ago
awesome
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read two out of the three currently relased books in this epic series. I understand some peoples confusion in will hills unique writing style, between the story jumping around from the past and present, unanswered questions that many hve at the end of the first book, and his bizzar way of depicting struggles. Altho, after reading the second book in the series, i found many of my unanswerd questions answered with mind blowing answers, you see the connection of the paast stories to present problems, and more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though i havent already read department19, i hear its really good ,and looks like that to me. The cover looks temping even though it was $20!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kinda wierd... i liked it but i didnt love it.... :/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please tell me there will be anothere this is to good to be a cliff hanger ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, it was different in a good way. I'm used to the monster, like zombies and vampires, so this added a few new ideas into the monster pot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down. I've never been a big fan of the classic horror novels like Dracula and Frankenstein, but this put a new and fresh spin on these monsters! I can't wait to read book 2.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad to have purchased and read this. I couldn't put it down and left me wanting more books like it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just started this book and i found that it had wat i wanted blood,gore,action and thrills
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an epic book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
hardyal singh More than 1 year ago
This by far is the best vampire book ever cause ive never seen anything like it, extreme action that is unbelivable (not to mention that Larissa is a hot badass) to the max who is your favorite chacter jusr reply to my post ;) my fav. Is Larissa lol
Brooke Boyd More than 1 year ago
Very detailed book. It made me want to read any time that i got inbetween classes.it metioned every thing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago