Derek Jeter: From the pages of The New York Times

( 2 )

Overview

Derek Jeter is a sports hero in the tradition of Ruth, Gehrig, DiMaggio, and Mantle. Admired for his leadership, performance under pressure, and work ethic, Jeter is the face of the New York Yankees. He is also a quintessentially modern star, appealing to baseball's diverse audience, savvy about dealing with the press, and publicly enjoying the fruits of his celebrity. Derek Jeter draws upon more than 5,000 news articles and features from the New York Times by the paper's superb sports reporters and columnists, ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers and in stores.

Pick Up In Store Near You

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (8) from $13.24   
  • New (5) from $18.05   
  • Used (3) from $13.24   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing 1 – 4 of 5
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$18.05
Seller since 2009

Feedback rating:

(10330)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
New Book. Shipped from US within 4 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000

Ships from: Secaucus, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
$19.23
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(17609)

Condition: New
Brand New, Perfect Condition, Please allow 4-14 business days for delivery. 100% Money Back Guarantee, Over 1,000,000 customers served.

Ships from: Westminster, MD

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
$19.24
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(23415)

Condition: New
BRAND NEW

Ships from: Avenel, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
$44.43
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(873)

Condition: New
0810996561 Brand New. Exact book as advertised. Delivery in 4-14 business days (not calendar days). We are not able to expedite delivery.

Ships from: Romulus, MI

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing 1 – 4 of 5
Close
Sort by
Derek Jeter: From the pages of The New York Times

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price
(Save 44%)$23.32 List Price

Overview

Derek Jeter is a sports hero in the tradition of Ruth, Gehrig, DiMaggio, and Mantle. Admired for his leadership, performance under pressure, and work ethic, Jeter is the face of the New York Yankees. He is also a quintessentially modern star, appealing to baseball's diverse audience, savvy about dealing with the press, and publicly enjoying the fruits of his celebrity. Derek Jeter draws upon more than 5,000 news articles and features from the New York Times by the paper's superb sports reporters and columnists, including Dave Anderson, Jack Curry, Buster Olney, and George Vecsey, as well as Tyler Kepner, who has written the introduction. This book is filled with entertaining stories, penetrating insights, and colorful voices: not only Jeter himself, but also George Steinbrenner, Joe Torre, Alex Rodriguez, and a host of players, past and present. In words and photographs, it covers Jeter's rise, his style of play, his best moments on (and off) the field, his character as a teammate and a leader, and his place in Yankee history. 

Praise for Derek Jeter:

"If you're a fan of Derek Jeter, the Yankees, and/or baseball history, BUY THIS BOOK!" 
-Bleacher Report

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
This large-format book contains reprinted articles (many abridged) of New York Times coverage of Derek Jeter from 1992 (on his Yankee selection at age 17 in the amateur draft) through midseason 2010. The thematic arrangement prevents readers from tracking Jeter's career in one chronology. There is no article index by date for those seeking the single chronological approach. Even Chapter 1, "The Rookie," includes pieces written years after Jeter's MLB debut. Next are chapters on "The Athlete," "Seasons," "Postseasons," "Off the Field," "The Team," "Character of a Leader," and "Legend," plus three pages of Jeter's statistics. Tyler Kepner (national baseball reporter, New York Times) presents a biographical introduction as well as briefer lead-ins to each chapter's gathering of articles and color photos. The tone overall is admiring, with pieces driven by character and narrative rather than analysis or statistical interpretation. The impressive color photographs by an assortment of the paper's pros include iconic action shots and off-the-field snaps. VERDICT Sure to be popular in public libraries for avid Jeter fans, young and old, whether or not in the Yankee metro area. As a personal purchase, its value is chiefly as a coffee-table book of visual Jeter treats. For a thoroughgoing biography, consider Ian O'Connor's The Captain: The Journey of Derek Jeter.—Margaret Heilbrun, Library Journal
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780810996564
  • Publisher: Abrams, Harry N., Inc.
  • Publication date: 3/1/2011
  • Pages: 224
  • Sales rank: 303,474
  • Product dimensions: 8.50 (w) x 11.10 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Derek McLean

    Name: looks above. Age: 16. Gender: I hope my name gives that away. Physical Description: sandy blonde hair, with crystal blue eyes, 5'9", lean, and 178 pounds. Personality: I'll leave that for you to decide. History: ask me. Family: Mom- Jenna Starkie. Father- James McLean. I'm a triplet. Sister- Kelsy McLean. Brother- Kurt McLean. I usally where a t-shirt, jeans, sweatshirt, converse, and a hat. Anything else ask me, I'm practically an open book. No I am not related to Piper Mclean from "The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus)"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)