A Derrida Dictionary / Edition 1

Hardcover (Print)
Buy New
Buy New from BN.com
$105.93
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $34.95
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 74%)
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (7) from $34.95   
  • New (5) from $104.22   
  • Used (2) from $34.95   

Overview

Derrida's terminology is notoriously difficult for readers to understand, and indeed defining Derridean terms runs counter (in a sense) to the spirit of his intellectual project. However, A Derrida Dictionary can offer points of entry into Derrida's complex and extensive works. From 'aporia' to 'yes', this Dictionary suggests ways into Derrida that show what is at stake in his work in the areas of justice, ethics, democracy, literature, philosophy, religion and how to live. It is a book not just about philosophy, but also about politics and pop music: a book which explains why deconstruction matters, and how Derrida can change the way you think.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Anyone who has ever wandered through the labyrinthine textual halls of Derrida's writings will already know that the presence of meaning in his texts is undecidable and that reading them simply involves playing with spectral traces and marks. Unreadability marks both Derrida's own writing and the critical writing of his disciples, who seem to herald this unreadability as a badge of understanding. Lucy's little book is more primer than dictionary and will be helpful only to those who have already had some deep exposure to Derrida and his work. The entries are arranged alphabetically but, in typical Derridean fashion, refuse to offer clear definitions of the terms they examine. Thus the entry on deconstruction: "Deconstruction is not a `method' that can be `applied' to something with a view to deconstructing it." You could never tell this from the crowd of Derrida imitators who deconstruct everything from cereal boxes to the NFL. Lucy (English & philosophy, Murdoch Univ., Western Australia) offers brief essays on most of the important "non-concepts" found in Derrida's writings, from aporia to presence and writing. The absence of entries on Hegel, Husserl, and Marx is very strange given Derrida's admitted debt to the first two thinkers (his first book was on Husserl). Because it requires familiarity with Derrida's work, the book will be useful only to academic libraries.-Henry L. Carrigan Jr., Lancaster, PA Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
From the Publisher
"Writing for fans of Dylan, Eastwood, Eminem, and Lou Reed, no less than for readers of Freud, Heidegger, and Nietzsche, Lucy catalogues the ways Derrida has rocked words to their alphabetic core. There is sharpness, wit, and high seriousness in every entry." Peggy Kamuf, University of Southern California

"Niall Lucy has written a witty, incisive, timely and highly topical dictionary that deftly characterizes the most important entries in Derrida's lexicon. The book is chock full of references to contemporary film, music and politics and spares us the tediousness of trying to formalize ideas whose very idea is that they cannot be formalized. In addition to making for an insightful read and a pleasurable ride, Lucy does a good job of redefining what a “dictionary” is supposed to mean. A saucy, sparkling success." John D. Caputo, Villanova University

"Lucy brings and ironic, iconoclastic, and earthy approach to his teask... Entries are cleverly focused so that major terms and concepts get full attention ... Lucy is unpretentious and plain speaking... This is a well worthwhile purchase for the library where Derrida comes as new and rather threatening to students." Reference Reviews

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780631218425
  • Publisher: Wiley
  • Publication date: 2/23/2004
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 196
  • Product dimensions: 3.94 (w) x 9.84 (h) x 0.59 (d)

Meet the Author

Niall Lucy teaches in English and Philosophy at Murdoch University. His previous books, which have been translated into several languages, are Debating Derrida (1995), Beyond Semiotics: Text, Culture and Technology (2001) and (for Blackwell) Postmodern Literary Theory: An Introduction (1997) and the accompanying Postmodern Literary Theory: An Anthology (2000). He is also editor of the Philosophy and Cultural Studies issue of Continuum (1998).

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

List of Terms.

Abbreviations.

Preface.

A-Z.

References (Image-Music-Print).

Index

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)