BN.com Gift Guide

Descendant (Starling Saga Series #2)

( 4 )

Overview

In this pulse-pounding sequel to Starling, Lesley Livingston delivers another electrifying blend of nonstop action and undeniable romance—perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series.

The last thing Mason Starling remembers is the train crossing a bridge. An explosion . . . a blinding light . . . then darkness. Now she is alone, stranded in Asgard—the realm of Norse legend—and the only way for her to get home is to find the ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (6) from $9.90   
  • Used (12) from $1.99   
Descendant (Starling Saga Series #2)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price
Note: Visit our Teens Store.

Overview

In this pulse-pounding sequel to Starling, Lesley Livingston delivers another electrifying blend of nonstop action and undeniable romance—perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments series.

The last thing Mason Starling remembers is the train crossing a bridge. An explosion . . . a blinding light . . . then darkness. Now she is alone, stranded in Asgard—the realm of Norse legend—and the only way for her to get home is to find the Spear of Odin, a powerful relic left behind by vanished gods.

The Fennrys Wolf knows all about Asgard. He was once trapped there. And he’ll do whatever it takes to find the girl who’s stolen his heart and bring her back—even if it means a treacherous descent into the underworld. But time is running out, and Fenn knows something Mason doesn’t: If she takes up the Spear, she’ll set in motion a terrible prophecy. And she won’t just return to her world . . . she’ll destroy it.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Claudia Gray
Praise for Starling:“I’d recommend anything by Lesley Livingston.”
Julie Kagawa
Praise for Starling:“Thrilling and intense; pulls you along like the inevitable rush toward Ragnarok.”
School Library Journal
02/01/2014
Gr 8 Up—The story of Mason Starling continues in this absorbing, fast-paced novel that mixes Norse and Eyptian mythology across a New York City backdrop. Mason survives the destruction of Hell's Gate bridge, which spans New York's East River, and finds herself in Asgard, the Norse Underworld, longing to return to the ones she loves. Rescued once again by the handsome and heroic Fennrys Wolf, the teen recognizes her romantic feelings for the Viking. She learns of the prophecy about her becoming the Valkyrie who raises the Spear of Odin to bring about Ragnarok, or the Twilight of the Gods. Will Mason and Fennrys be able to stop the coming destruction of the world as they know it? Told from multiple perspectives, this second entry of the thrilling "Starling" series (HarperCollins) will fascinate fans of mythology, romance, and high energy plots. Livingston has a deft hand, and readers will be anxiously anticipating this story's final installment.—Kathy Kirchoefer, Henderson County Public Library, NC
Kirkus Reviews
Livingston delivers a significantly stronger story--and heroine--in this sequel to Starling (2012). It opens where the first book ended, with readers learning the Fennrys Wolf has survived various dangers while Mason Starling has been transported to Asgard, home of the Norse gods. Fenn is determined to find Mason and prevent her from taking up the Odin spear, which would transform her into a Valkyrie and set Ragnarok, the Norse apocalypse, in motion. Each chapter brings a perspective shift, and readers switch among Fenn, Mason and other characters' adventures before the two are reunited, just in time. The pair return to our world and two startling discoveries that bring the Greek gods into the mix (the Egyptians are there too) and up the ante significantly. It's up to Fenn and Mason to make things right, but in doing so, they may just be playing into the hands of prophecy. Despite the serpentine plot, those unfamiliar with the first installment should have a relatively simple time following this action-packed story, and though Fenn still acts as her savior, Mason is noticeably stronger than before, making the climax more believable. Those who've been awaiting this sequel should be pleased. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062063106
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 8/27/2013
  • Series: Starling Saga Series , #2
  • Pages: 336
  • Sales rank: 244,581
  • Age range: 13 - 17 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.60 (w) x 8.30 (h) x 1.20 (d)

Meet the Author

Lesley Livingston is a writer and actress living in Toronto. She has a master's degree in English from the University of Toronto, where she specialized in Arthurian literature and Shakespeare. She is the author of Starling and Descendant, the first two books in a darkly romantic trilogy set against the backdrop of Manhattan and Norse mythology. Lesley has also written Wondrous Strange, which won the Canadian Librarian Association Young Adult Book Award in addition to being a White Pine Honor Book, as well as Darklight and Tempestuous.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Cute story. A little hard to get into at first. I did not read t

    Cute story. A little hard to get into at first. I did not read the first part Starling so at times it was confusing to understand what was going on. I have a difficult time with fantasy-sh novels. There was also alot of different story lines... Mason and her family and Mason and her quest. Overall, it was a cute and enjoyable read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wanting something excited to read, I picked up this story. It in

    Wanting something excited to read, I picked up this story. It indeed have lots of action from the very first page.

    Plot: While the first book was told in Mason’s point of view, this story is mainly told from Rory’s and Fennry’s point of view. This plot is jammed-packed with actions, lots of fights, on the run thrills. It kept me firmly in my seat with stunning revelations as well as new characters coming into play.

    New Characters: There are a few new characters like, Gunner, who is Mason’s and Rory’s dad. Honestly, what this man does or what he has planned literally stunned me. The author tricked me!! (which is good cause I totally didn’t see that coming) The Fennrys Wolf is another character who the reader gets to know pretty well. I really like the element and knowledge that he brings to the table. And then there is Cal. Even though he has proven himself some, I’m still a bit weary of what he is doing.

    Love: There really isn’t any movement from the last book till this one. Just plenty of friendships/relationship unravel with different motives before the readers eyes. Though, there is plenty of action in this that you really don’t realize that you have missed the loved interest. At least I didn’t.

    Ending: It’s a shocker. I just didn’t see that motive coming and I’m super excited to read the next book already.

    After flying through this book pretty quickly, I’m adored it. Descendant is an excellent addition to the Starling series raising up the stakes. With lots of unexpected twist and turns, Descendant captures the reader with a thought-provoking story. Telling a story that is brilliant and worthwhile. Descendant is tantalizing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)