Desert Atonement (for fans of Frank Peretti, Ted Dekker and Jonathan Cahn) [NOOK Book]

Overview

“This is as good as anything John Grisham has written.”
—Ed Decker Author, The God Makers

“This story is impossible to put down and eerily familiar....I know that in reality things usually end up far more brutal and bloody [than this book depicts them]...the dream that things could be handled in this way gives me hope.”
—Flora Jessop A survivor of polygamy and founder of Help the Child Brides

"Desert Atonement: Polygamy's deadly dark side"

When Prophet Ronald Hansen III murders the wife of a journalist who is ...
See more details below
Desert Atonement (for fans of Frank Peretti, Ted Dekker and Jonathan Cahn)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

“This is as good as anything John Grisham has written.”
—Ed Decker Author, The God Makers

“This story is impossible to put down and eerily familiar....I know that in reality things usually end up far more brutal and bloody [than this book depicts them]...the dream that things could be handled in this way gives me hope.”
—Flora Jessop A survivor of polygamy and founder of Help the Child Brides

"Desert Atonement: Polygamy's deadly dark side"

When Prophet Ronald Hansen III murders the wife of a journalist who is exposing the prophet’s polygamous cult, the stage is set for a desert showdown. Jan Kucera, recently retired to his family’s ranch in northern Wyoming, is facing the religious fanatic alone, except for his old friend, Sheriff Monster Broadbeck.

Prophet Hansen, wealthy, politically connected, and in command of a virtual army, has vowed to kill Kucera . At the same time, the prophet is losing connection with reality, and his own followers face the uncertain prospect of a Jonestown-style massacre.

Can Kucera summon the courage to face down the madman and rescue those caught in his prophetic grip?
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940013131613
  • Publisher: StoneHouse Ink
  • Publication date: 7/27/2011
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 400
  • Sales rank: 212,915
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author

James R. Spencer is a Christian author and lecturer. He pastored an evangelical church for nine years. Prior to entering ministry, Spencer enjoyed a broad business background, including working on several newspapers, and as a newswriter for the Associated Press. Recognized as an expert on the cults, Spencer is regularly interviewed on radio and television. He lives in Boise, Idaho, with his wife, Margaretta.
Spencer is a former Mormon Elder and has written eight books, mostly dealing with the cults, including the Christian best sellers, Beyond Mormonism: An Elder’s Story and Heresy Hunters: Character Assassination in the Church.
Desert Atonement, is set in the Big Horn Basin of Wyoming, where Spencer was born and raised.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)