Deviants

Deviants

by Peter Kline
     
 

Deviants is about transgression and transcendence, about passing as a man or a woman, as gay or straight, about passing through unseen, passing by without stopping to help, passing over the threshold, passing from innocence, passing from life.

The deviants in this book are the many masks we wear, the loners and flirts, the worriers and snarlers; they can be found

Overview

Deviants is about transgression and transcendence, about passing as a man or a woman, as gay or straight, about passing through unseen, passing by without stopping to help, passing over the threshold, passing from innocence, passing from life.

The deviants in this book are the many masks we wear, the loners and flirts, the worriers and snarlers; they can be found in the deviant use of ancient forms. These poems are beautiful and meaningfully interactive, clear and accessible on their own, but become even richer in meaning as they are understood in the context of poetic tradition. Kline’s words stick both in the mind and the craw.

They engage powerfully with tradition while deviating into contemporary concerns in a contemporary idiom, while challenging the easy relationship between speaker and reader through the use of shifting personae whose designs on the reader are slippery and sometimes adversarial, in the tradition of Browning, Pound, and Plath.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781622880294
Publisher:
Stephen F. Austin State University Press
Publication date:
12/01/2013
Pages:
80
Product dimensions:
5.52(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.13(d)

Meet the Author


PETER KLINE graduated with a BA in English from Northwestern University, an MFA in poetry from the University of Virginia, and was a Wallace Stegner Fellow in Poetry Writing at Stanford University. Her is currently an instructor of Creative Writing at the University of San Francisco and at Stanford Countinuing Studies in Palo Alto, CA. In 2014, he will hold the Army Clampitt Residency Award.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >