Devil's Gold

Devil's Gold

3.8 5
by Julie Korzenko
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

****LIMITED SALE FOR THE PRE-RELEASE PARTY OF ANGEL FALLS DUE IN NOVEMBER 2014****

The biggest gold rush of the twenty-first century�some call it terrorism, others call it survival. Endless burning gas flares, rivers poisoned by oil, bloodbaths inflicted by corrupt Nigerian militia -- this is zoologist Cassidy Lowell's fight. From the heart of the Niger Delta

Overview

****LIMITED SALE FOR THE PRE-RELEASE PARTY OF ANGEL FALLS DUE IN NOVEMBER 2014****

The biggest gold rush of the twenty-first century�some call it terrorism, others call it survival. Endless burning gas flares, rivers poisoned by oil, bloodbaths inflicted by corrupt Nigerian militia -- this is zoologist Cassidy Lowell's fight. From the heart of the Niger Delta to the serene ambiance of Yellowstone National Park, Lowell along with black-ops agent Jake Anderson, race against time to prevent New World Petroleum from releasing a deadly biological weapon into the heart of the Niger Delta.

Editorial Reviews

Publisher's Weekly - Unknown Unknown
"Fans of Alex Kava, Shannon McKenna, and Suzanne Brockmann will hope to see more of Cassidy and Jake."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940014613613
Publisher:
Banyan Books
Publication date:
06/24/2012
Series:
Zebra Chronicles , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
348 KB

Meet the Author

Born in England, raised in New England and subsequently settling in the South, my background has strongly influenced my eclectic taste in literature, art and life experiences. A passionate advocate for nature and wildlife, I began college as a zoology major but ultimately graduated with a business degree in paralegal studies. My career has run the gambit from law to network administration to marketing and back to law.

My fervent desire to "save the animals" feeds my writing as well as my ability to fall prey to half a dozen canines that rule my life. My home in the North Georgia mountains provides an environment that infuses creative energy and a ten acre playground for my puppies.

I write what I love. The environment. The paranormal. The law.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Devil's Gold 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
At the request of OPEC, Dr. Cassidy Lowell examines the effect of oil drilling on the land, the people, and the animals of the Niger Delta. Robert Cole of oil mega-company New World Petroleum (NWP) expects a favorable report so he can send the crews in to start digging, but the consulting zoologist finds the explorations have caused appalling conditions. She gives her report to Cole and her boss Dr. Drew Sharpe, but is yanked immediately from Africa to Yellowstone National Park where her superiors figure she cannot cause too much trouble to big business. Her assignment is to determine why the gray wolf population is vanishing.

Just before leaving Africa, someone attacks her in her hut with his intent obviously to kill her. Jake Anderson saves her life. He is a member of Special Forces Black Strike black ops unit that works behind the scenes of her organization, Zoological Environmental Bio Research Agency (ZEBRA). He becomes the biologist on her Yellowstone team with his hidden agenda to learn what she knows that have people wanting her dead. The wolves are dying from a new genetic strand of the parvovirus that now harms canines and now is made into killing humans. NWP funded the research but Jake and crew have no idea why or what the firm intends to do with it. Jake and Cassidy accompanied by a concerned CDC and the Black Stripes plan to learn their intention and stop them

DEVIL¿S GOLD is an exciting thriller as both the good guys and the villains have plans for the beleaguered heroine who is uncertain she can trust anyone though she is attracted to Jake. He shares her confusions as he wants her and more so wants her to be innocent, but fears she is a deep operator in the NWP scenario. Neither trust the other (or their respective heart). The fully developed lead characters make for a special tale as they struggle to uncover the truth against a foe willing to execute a diabolical plan.

Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
otterly More than 1 year ago
I believe that this book is classified as a Romantic Adventure, which it ceertainly is. Cassidy Lowell is a renowned biologist who does reaearch in Niger, and Captain Jake Anderson is a soldier attached to the Black Stripe unit which is tasked to protect her. There are two scientists who have developed a mutant strain of parvo to affect both animals and humans. This is sought by a team which plans to use it for bad ends. Most of the action takes place in Yellowstone, Cassidy's childhood home, where the wolves are dying. She needs to find out why, and resists the attentions of Jake. Parts are well written, and others get murky. I don't know if I would seek out other books by this author, but doubt that I'd recommend it to our book group.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story line mingled with romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago