Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dexter's Journey

Dexter's Journey

by Chris d'Lacey

See All Formats & Editions

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal - School Library Journal
Gr 1-3-These titles vary greatly in quality and effectiveness. Memphis is the least polished of the three stories. In it, a family of mummies dream of going on a vacation when a flying saucer crashes into their pyramid and drops off a musician who has lost his memory. They take him to the mummy music store in ancient Memphis and discover that he is a famous rock star. In thanks for their help, he puts on a concert that makes enough money to rebuild the pyramid and send the mummies on vacation, into outer space. The dialogue balloons are hard to read, and some of the words in them are lost in the gutters. Dexter's Journey is about a toy duck that gets lost at sea. All of the other ducks are found and distributed by seagulls, rock climbers, fishermen, an explorer, and a hunter, leaving Dexter all alone until he, too, is found. Text and colorful cartoon drawings work well together, but some difficult words will be a challenge to beginning readers. In Big Dog, two pups build a rocket in order to visit the sad moon and cheer him up, and the three have so much fun that the dogs go back every Monday. The hardest word, "plasticine," is repeated three times, as are other complex words. The cartoonlike illustrations work well with the story. Skip the mummies; consider the other two as additional titles for easy-reader collections.-Kathleen Simonetta, Indian Trails Public Library District, Wheeling, IL Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Product Details

Crabtree Publishing Company
Publication date:
Blue Bananas Series
Edition description:
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.20(d)
Age Range:
6 - 7 Years

Meet the Author

Chris d’Lacey is the author of several highly acclaimed books, including the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling series the Last Dragon Chronicles: THE FIRE WITHIN, ICEFIRE, FIRE STAR, THE FIRE ETERNAL, DARK FIRE, FIRE WORLD, and THE FIRE ASCENDING. Additionally, he is the author of the middle-grade series The Dragons of Wayward Crescent, also published by Orchard Books. He lives in Devon, England, with his wife, where he is at work on his next book.

Visit scholastic.com/LastDragonChronicles to learn more about Chris d’Lacey’s books.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews