Didymus Contingency

Didymus Contingency

4.2 16
by Jeremy Robinson
     
 

If you could go back in time...and witness any event...where would you go?

When Dr. Tom Greenbaum faces that question after successfully discovering the secret to time travel, he knows the time, place and event he will witness: the death and failed resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Dr. David Goodman, Tom's colleague and closest friend follows Tom into the

…  See more details below

Overview

If you could go back in time...and witness any event...where would you go?

When Dr. Tom Greenbaum faces that question after successfully discovering the secret to time travel, he knows the time, place and event he will witness: the death and failed resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Dr. David Goodman, Tom's colleague and closest friend follows Tom into the past, attempting to avert a time-space catastrophe, but forces beyond their control toss them into a dangerous end game where they are tempted by evil characters, betrayed by friends, pursued by an assassin from the future and haunted by a demon that cannot be killed.

Fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child and Frank Peretti should feel at home within the pages of The Didymus Contingency. Related titles include: Timeline, Map of Bones and The Da Vinci Code.

Subjects covered by the book include: time travel, the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, altering time, demons, miracles, faith, Doubting Thomas, Didymus, the disciples, miniature robotics, assassins, quantum physics and atheism.

Genres covered include: Thriller, Action/Adventure, Science Fiction, Religious and Historical.

This is the first novel by Jeremy Robinson, who also authored The Screenplay Workbook. For a first novel this is a bold step into the world of fiction.

The story is engrossing and thoughtful, religious yet worldly and takes a fresh look at the events surrounding the death of Jesus Christ.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Round Table Reviews
"What surprised me, with [Robinson's] take on the possibility of two 21st century men meeting Jesus, was the utter lack of predictability, the absence of anything trite and banal that could have corrupted the tale into another religiously-centered act of Christian piety, rather than an accurate assessment of what such a journey may have been like.

Robinson does a fine job of fitting all into place. He offers a new perspective on ripping apart the time-space continuum I am shocked no one has ever considered before now. Jeremy Robinson writes a believable story -- if time travel is ever to be believable -- and shaped a number of the Biblical stories in, not a new light, but a more complete light. Biblically, he offers anyone who knows these stories some new vantage points to consider.

To believers worldwide and across 2000 years of time, it [the story of Jesus] did happen once, and with Robinson's THE DIDYMUS CONTINGENCY believers and non-believers alike can witness it happen once again - and, perhaps, discover a measure of what it means to have faith."

Christian Book Previews
"If you could go anywhere in time and space, where would it be? As soon as he and his partner, Dr. David Goodman, break through the time-space continuum, Dr. Tom Greenbaum knows where he wants to go. He travels into the past to prove that the Jesus, whom Tom's wife Megan had died for, was a fraud. What follows is Jeremy Robinson's rollicking adventure, The Didymus Contingency.

The story opens explosively and is laced with suspense and humor. Robinson convincingly portrays the friendship of Tom and David. He creates fresh descriptions of the disciples and Jesus by breaking the established traditional descriptions. Peter is not the "Big Fisherman," but tall, lean, and lanky. Jesus laughs a lot, enjoys a drink with his friends, and knows when to run. Judas is cowardly, Matthew big and jovial, John a dreamer.

Robinson writes quite well and is an up-and-coming author to watch. [He] offers a word of warning before the story opens that he plays loosely with biblical history, though he handles it with skill. He also warns of violence and cursing. The violence is integral to the story and I did not find it offensive. The cursing was tempered and rare, especially compared to much secular fiction, but some readers will want to consider this.

He deals with some heavy questions about time and faith but maintains a light, skillful touch. Though a young man, Robinson has an impressive repertoire of writing in non-fiction and screenplays. He has two more novels in the works, and I expect we'll hear, read, and see a great deal more from him in the future."

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781419640315
Publisher:
BookSurge, LLC
Publication date:
06/07/2006
Pages:
290
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.86(d)

What People are saying about this

James Rollins
"Jeremy Robinson's novel DIDYMUS blends the cutting-edge science of Crichton with the religious mystery of the LEFT BEHIND series to create his own unique and bold thriller. It is a fast-paced page-turner like no other. Not to be missed!"
international bestseller of AMAZONIA, ICE HUNT and SANDSTORM

Meet the Author

JEREMY ROBINSON is the author of eleven novels including Pulse and Instinct, the first two books in his exciting Jack Sigler thriller series. His novels have been translated into nine languages. He is the director of New Hampshire AuthorFest, a non-profit organization promoting literacy in New Hampshire, where he lives wife and three children.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >