Didymus Contingency

( 16 )

Overview

If you could go back in time...and witness any event...where would you go?

When Dr. Tom Greenbaum faces that question after successfully discovering the secret to time travel, he knows the time, place and event he will witness: the death and failed resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Dr. David Goodman, Tom's colleague and closest friend follows Tom into the past, attempting to avert a time-space catastrophe, but forces beyond their control toss them ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (7) from $5.39   
  • New (3) from $97.12   
  • Used (4) from $5.38   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$97.12
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(190)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
1419640313 New. Looks like an interesting title!

Ships from: Naperville, IL

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
$155.23
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(258)

Condition: New
Brand New Item.

Ships from: Chatham, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$175.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(135)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

If you could go back in time...and witness any event...where would you go?

When Dr. Tom Greenbaum faces that question after successfully discovering the secret to time travel, he knows the time, place and event he will witness: the death and failed resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Dr. David Goodman, Tom's colleague and closest friend follows Tom into the past, attempting to avert a time-space catastrophe, but forces beyond their control toss them into a dangerous end game where they are tempted by evil characters, betrayed by friends, pursued by an assassin from the future and haunted by a demon that cannot be killed.

Fans of Michael Crichton, James Rollins, Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child and Frank Peretti should feel at home within the pages of The Didymus Contingency. Related titles include: Timeline, Map of Bones and The Da Vinci Code.

Subjects covered by the book include: time travel, the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, altering time, demons, miracles, faith, Doubting Thomas, Didymus, the disciples, miniature robotics, assassins, quantum physics and atheism.

Genres covered include: Thriller, Action/Adventure, Science Fiction, Religious and Historical.

This is the first novel by Jeremy Robinson, who also authored The Screenplay Workbook. For a first novel this is a bold step into the world of fiction.

The story is engrossing and thoughtful, religious yet worldly and takes a fresh look at the events surrounding the death of Jesus Christ.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Round Table Reviews
"What surprised me, with [Robinson's] take on the possibility of two 21st century men meeting Jesus, was the utter lack of predictability, the absence of anything trite and banal that could have corrupted the tale into another religiously-centered act of Christian piety, rather than an accurate assessment of what such a journey may have been like.

Robinson does a fine job of fitting all into place. He offers a new perspective on ripping apart the time-space continuum I am shocked no one has ever considered before now. Jeremy Robinson writes a believable story -- if time travel is ever to be believable -- and shaped a number of the Biblical stories in, not a new light, but a more complete light. Biblically, he offers anyone who knows these stories some new vantage points to consider.

To believers worldwide and across 2000 years of time, it [the story of Jesus] did happen once, and with Robinson's THE DIDYMUS CONTINGENCY believers and non-believers alike can witness it happen once again - and, perhaps, discover a measure of what it means to have faith."

Christian Book Previews
"If you could go anywhere in time and space, where would it be? As soon as he and his partner, Dr. David Goodman, break through the time-space continuum, Dr. Tom Greenbaum knows where he wants to go. He travels into the past to prove that the Jesus, whom Tom's wife Megan had died for, was a fraud. What follows is Jeremy Robinson's rollicking adventure, The Didymus Contingency.

The story opens explosively and is laced with suspense and humor. Robinson convincingly portrays the friendship of Tom and David. He creates fresh descriptions of the disciples and Jesus by breaking the established traditional descriptions. Peter is not the "Big Fisherman," but tall, lean, and lanky. Jesus laughs a lot, enjoys a drink with his friends, and knows when to run. Judas is cowardly, Matthew big and jovial, John a dreamer.

Robinson writes quite well and is an up-and-coming author to watch. [He] offers a word of warning before the story opens that he plays loosely with biblical history, though he handles it with skill. He also warns of violence and cursing. The violence is integral to the story and I did not find it offensive. The cursing was tempered and rare, especially compared to much secular fiction, but some readers will want to consider this.

He deals with some heavy questions about time and faith but maintains a light, skillful touch. Though a young man, Robinson has an impressive repertoire of writing in non-fiction and screenplays. He has two more novels in the works, and I expect we'll hear, read, and see a great deal more from him in the future."

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781419640315
  • Publisher: BookSurge, LLC
  • Publication date: 6/7/2006
  • Pages: 290
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 1.86 (d)

Meet the Author

Jeremy Robinson
JEREMY ROBINSON is the author of eleven novels including Pulse and Instinct, the first two books in his exciting Jack Sigler thriller series. His novels have been translated into nine languages. He is the director of New Hampshire AuthorFest, a non-profit organization promoting literacy in New Hampshire, where he lives wife and three children.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)