Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail
  • Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail
  • Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail

Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail

5.0 5
by James Horvath
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Hop in your trucks.
There's work to be done.

Get to the job site.
Run, dogs, run!

Top dog Duke leads a busy work crew to a new construction site. All sorts of dogs have plenty to do before the day is out. These clever dogs will dig, haul, push, plow, and even bring in a crane to build a new park. But what happens when they find something unexpected

…  See more details below

Overview

Hop in your trucks.
There's work to be done.

Get to the job site.
Run, dogs, run!

Top dog Duke leads a busy work crew to a new construction site. All sorts of dogs have plenty to do before the day is out. These clever dogs will dig, haul, push, plow, and even bring in a crane to build a new park. But what happens when they find something unexpected buried deep in the ground?

James Horvath brings a new perspective to the construction "tail" with this hilarious crew of colorful dogs. Bright, detailed illustrations beg to be looked at again and again, with readers discovering something new each time.

Editorial Reviews

The New York Times - Pamela Paul
With its punchy rhymes and Hanna-Barbera panoramas, Dig, Dogs, Dig hops along with the bouncy effervescence of P.D. Eastman's Go Dog. Go!…Horvath knows the desire for specificity that drives the truck lover, and duly names his vehicles and details their respective functions…Each page bustles with comic detail…
Publishers Weekly
Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Con-struction Site will eagerly dig into illustrator/designer Horvath’s vehicle-centric debut, first in a planned series. Early one morning, the dozen or so canine workers hit the ground running, driving a fleet of big machines to an urban construction site. Horvath’s punchy verse both describes the vehicles (“The loader picks up/ a rocky big bite/ and moves out the rubble/ with all its might”) and spurs on the laborers (“There’s trouble in the pit,/ We’ve hit something big./ Get down in the hole and dig, dogs, dig!”). The high points of the story are the unexpected excavation of a giant T. rex bone and the revelation of the finished project: an inviting park whose centerpiece is a display of the prehistoric fossil. Buzzing with activity, Horvath’s crisp, cartoon-styled digital art includes numerous details to pore over (including the delivery of a truckload of ducks for the park’s pond and a cat that darts mischievously around the worksite), giving the book a light comedic punch. Ages 4–8. Agent: Brenda Bowen, Sanford J. Greenburger Associates. (May)
The New York Times Book Review
“With its punchy rhymes and Hanna-Barbera panoramas, Dig, Dogs, Dig hops along with the bouncy effervescence of P.D. Eastman’s Go Dog. Go!.”
Booklist
“Kids who get starry-eyed over trucks, earth-moving equipment, and construction sites should go gaga over this book, which has a pack of very capable canines scampering around and digging at a construction site.”
Children's Literature - Sandra G. Brody
When Duke wakes his crew of work-dogs, they quickly get ready for a busy day. The dogs get dressed, eat breakfast, and head out to the job site in a variety of construction vehicles. The excavator digs and the bulldozer clears the dirt. Next comes the loader, able to lift a rocky load that gets taken away by the dump truck. The dogs do their jobs until they hit something big and hard. They dig up a huge bone that turns out to be from Prehistoric times. Once the dogs get back to work it is not long before their job is complete. They have built a brand, new community park, with the dinosaur bone on display. The story is told in rhyme, which might appeal to preschoolers, but could be distracting for some children. The function of each type of construction vehicle is explained, and that helps the book to serve an educational purpose. The illustrations are bright and colorful, and support the action in the story. Horvath's book is cute but the rhymes and busy illustrations could possibly be difficult for young children to follow. Reviewer: Sandra G. Brody
School Library Journal
K-Gr 1—These dogs aren't your typical backyard diggers-they're professionals. They rise at dawn, chow down on a pancake breakfast, and then jump in their trucks for a long day at work. The kid-pleasing parade of construction equipment ends at their work site, where the crew begins its project. The canines "push and plow," dig and haul, until they hit something in the pit, which requires even more machines, a crane, and a rock splitter, to help dig out… a T. rex bone! Finally, the canines congratulate one another as they watch other dogs enjoy their creation: a city park, complete with a giant dinosaur-bone exhibit. The minimal, pleasantly rhyming text keeps the story moving quickly, although young readers will want to linger over each page, examining the many details and machines in the illustrations. Each piece of equipment is named and its purpose is explained, "The excavator digs deep/with its scoop,/pulling up dirt/with a swish and a swoop," making the book a great introduction for new fans of construction equipment. The bright, cartoonlike digital art fills the pages with movement, while the text presents some pretty nifty rhymes, like "maneuvers" and "earth movers." Beginner and experienced construction fanatics and their grown-ups will love this fun and appealing read-aloud.—Marian McLeod, Darien Library, CT
Kirkus Reviews
A dozen dogs and one black cat work hard to build a playground in this amusing story that will please kids who love excavators, cranes and dump trucks. The dogs wake up in their dormitory as the sun rises, and after breakfast, they're off to the construction site in their heavy-duty trucks. Each type of construction equipment and its function is described in the rhyming text as the dogs dig a huge pit and excavate a dinosaur bone. As the day goes on, the dogs work cooperatively to construct a playground complete with a dinosaur-bone display, landscaping, trails and a duck pond. Computer-generated, cartoon-style illustrations show cheerful canines and lots of activity at the site, but these dogs are pros, as their heavy equipment is carefully researched (and they always wear their hard hats). The entire construction process is conveyed in an energetic manner that is both entertaining and educational. The crew is identified by name on the endpapers, from Duke, the "top dog" boss, to Jinx, the black cat mascot. No new ground is excavated here, but these cheerful canines build up a charming bond with their intended audience. (Picture book. 3-6)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062189646
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
04/30/2013
Pages:
40
Product dimensions:
9.50(w) x 10.10(h) x 0.20(d)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

James Horvath is the author-illustrator of two more picture books starring Duke and his construction crew: Build, Dogs, Build and Dig, Dogs, Dig, which the New York Times said "hops along with the bouncy effervescence of P. D. Eastman's Go, Dogs, Go!" He has worked as a designer and illustrator for more than fifteen years. In 2002, he established Jamestoons Studios (with a workforce of one) so he could focus more on his illustration. When not scratching and scribbling at his drawing table, he plays with his two young sons and wife, bangs around on the banjo, surfs, and generally has a lot of fun. A lifelong devoted cartoon fan, James Horvath lives with his family on California's central coast.

James Horvath is the author-illustrator of two more picture books starring Duke and his construction crew: Build, Dogs, Build and Dig, Dogs, Dig, which the New York Times said "hops along with the bouncy effervescence of P. D. Eastman's Go, Dogs, Go!" He has worked as a designer and illustrator for more than fifteen years. In 2002, he established Jamestoons Studios (with a workforce of one) so he could focus more on his illustration. When not scratching and scribbling at his drawing table, he plays with his two young sons and wife, bangs around on the banjo, surfs, and generally has a lot of fun. A lifelong devoted cartoon fan, James Horvath lives with his family on California's central coast.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Dig, Dogs, Dig: A Construction Tail 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dig, Dogs, Dig is a fantastic book! Kids and their parents who like Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site will like this book as much, if not better. The illustrations and writing are extremely well-done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This exquisitely illustrated colorful book was a dream gift for my friend's son. He reads it over and over and over again! Knowing how much boys love dogs and trucks and cranes - this gift was a winner!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Got this book for my children and they have been reading it everyday since. The artwork and story line are great. My children wish there were more. Will keep an eye out for other releases.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a really fun book for children of all ages and for dog lovers! It's colorful, creative and the rhyming text is playful as is the exciting suspense of the found item in the hole! There is so much to look at and discover. One of my son's favorite aspects of the book is the cat "Jinx" who appears throughout the book making for a fun searching game. As a mom I also appreciate the inclusion of the female crew-member "Roxy." We recommend it to anyone with kids - boys and girls alike.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such a cute book! I love, love, love it! James Horvath is a genius. My kids ask me to read this book to them every night because they love it so much. I cant wait until Mr. Horvath writes again.