Dire Distraction

Dire Distraction

4.0 17
by Dee Davis
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

As the commander for A-Tac, a black-ops CIA unit masquerading as Ivy League faculty, Avery Solomon is the best of the best. He'll stop at nothing to ensure the safety of his team, but when a mystery from the past resurfaces, he puts himself directly in the line of fire.

PUSHED TOO FAR
After years of covert missions, Avery harbors…  See more details below

Overview

As the commander for A-Tac, a black-ops CIA unit masquerading as Ivy League faculty, Avery Solomon is the best of the best. He'll stop at nothing to ensure the safety of his team, but when a mystery from the past resurfaces, he puts himself directly in the line of fire.

PUSHED TOO FAR
After years of covert missions, Avery harbors regrets that continue to haunt him. He still blames himself for his wife's death fourteen years ago-until an A-Tac operative finds a photo that suggests Avery's wife may still be alive. Determined to discover the truth, Avery heads deep into the hostile territory of Southeast Asia, ready for danger and violence-only to find himself captured by desire . . .

Wilderness guide Sydney Price never backs down from a challenge. She has her own reasons for wanting revenge against the men being hunted by Avery. Though she tries to deny her attraction to the tough, handsome warrior, the spirited Sydney soon finds him impossible to resist. Now she and Avery must work together to uncover the truth-and stay alive. But as the enemy closes in and old secrets unravel, the line between partners and lovers vanishes like mist in the jungle . . .

58,500 words

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Book seven in Davis’s “A-Tac” series (after Double Danger) has black ops CIA team leader Avery Solomon striking out on his own mission without the support of his A-Tac team. A newly found photo suggests that Avery’s wife, Evangeline, long thought dead, might still be alive and in the company of a man who is not a fan of Avery’s. Though Avery is torn between hoping Evangeline is alive and being sure the photo evidence is a trap, he can’t let it go. His quest takes him to Myanmar, where he meets Sydney Price. Sydney has been working undercover along the Laos/Myanmar border and has been tasked with getting Avery to his destination. As Sydney comes to know Avery, her job becomes far more personal. She’ll do whatever it takes to protect and help him.

Verdict Though the falling in love aspect here is as fast paced as the action, Sydney and Avery are appealing, competent protagonists, and this romance will definitely appeal to fans of Lori Foster and Pamela Clare.—Jane Jorgenson, Madison P.L., WI
(c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781455573684
Publisher:
Grand Central Publishing
Publication date:
06/04/2013
Series:
A-Tac Series , #7
Sold by:
Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
208
Sales rank:
97,675
File size:
468 KB

Meet the Author

Bestselling author Dee Davis worked in association management before turning her hand to writing. Her highly acclaimed first novel, Everything in Its Time, was published in July 2000. Since then, among others, she's won the Booksellers Best, Golden Leaf, Texas Gold, and Prism awards, and been nominated for the National Readers Choice Award, the Holt Medallion Award, and two RT Reviewers Choice Awards. When not sitting at the computer writing, she spends her time exploring Manhattan with her husband, daughter, and Cardigan Welsh corgi.

You can learn more at:
DeeDavis.com
Twitter @deedavis
Facebook.com/deedavisbooks

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >