Distrust That Particular Flavor

Distrust That Particular Flavor

4.3 13
by William Gibson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Though best known for his fiction, William Gibson is as much in demand for his cutting-edge observations on the world we live in now. Originally printed in publications as varied as Wired, the New York Times, and the Observer, these articles and essays cover thirty years of thoughtful, observant life, and are reported in the wry, humane voice

See more details below

Overview

Though best known for his fiction, William Gibson is as much in demand for his cutting-edge observations on the world we live in now. Originally printed in publications as varied as Wired, the New York Times, and the Observer, these articles and essays cover thirty years of thoughtful, observant life, and are reported in the wry, humane voice that lovers of Gibson have come to crave.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
William Gibson, best known for cyberpunk classics such as Neuromancer, gathers close to 30 years of nonfiction writing into Distrust That Particular Flavor, adding to each previously published piece a short epilog that explains his thinking at the time the essay was composed. The result is a grand collage of nonfiction forms, ranging from a travel piece on Singapore that explores that city-state’s contradictory mix of totalitarian authority and a technology-savvy society, to an essay on George Orwell and our modern movement toward a complete lack of privacy. Getting lost in Gibson’s nonfiction, a gripping mix of image, lyricism, philosophy, and startling clarity, is somewhat akin to reading his fiction—it is a dazzling and immersive prospect.

(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Pagan Kennedy
In Distrust That Particular Flavor, Gibson pulls off a dazzling trick. Instead of predicting the future, he finds the future all around him, mashed up with the past, and reveals our own domain to us as a science-fictional marvel…Gibson's writing enters the bloodstream like a drug, producing a mild hallucinogenic effect that lasts for hours…Such is the power of his prose that when I glanced up from the pages of this book and surveyed the street-side around me, I felt as if I were wearing Gibson-glasses.
—The New York Times Book Review
From the Publisher
"A provocative, surprising look at the lesser-known parts of a sci-fi superstar's writing career." —Kirkus
Kirkus Reviews
Cyberpunk's patron saint of prose proves that his reality is every bit as trippy as his fiction. Gibson's gift for language is such that banal discussions of Steely Dan and even eBay easily take on otherworldly aspects. In his universe, Singapore is left of Pluto, London lies in the Crab Nebula and Tokyo, of course, might well have its own extra-dimensional zip code. Fans of Mona Lisa Overdrive, Neuromancer and Gibson's other popular sci-fi novels will not find this at all strange. There is an element of exclusivity to Gibson's writing that almost lies at the polar end of exposition—or as the author might write, "geared in some achingly complex sphere within sphere way." The illumination in this text comes from the extent to which the complex author reveals himself to be entirely ordinary, just an average Joe trying to make a living off his writing. Recollections of learning the craft, avoiding the Vietnam War, meeting a woman and getting married show that the man who pioneered "cyberspace" (while actually coining the term) is actually just a normal guy. The welcome humanity seeping through the cracks of this matrix serve as an intriguing counterpoint to the esoteric musings heaped on everything from Japanese movie stars to curious storefront windows. Other targets of the author's wonder include the Internet, Futurism and one dude's particularly snazzy pair of jeans. Gibson bolsters the good feelings even further by following up each of these original entries with a brief explanation of what he was thinking about at the time of their creation. In this case, understanding the writer a little better makes the fantastic thoughts emanating from his head all the more captivating and strange. A provocative, surprising look at the lesser-known parts of a sci-fi superstar's writing career.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425252994
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
09/04/2012
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
206,369
Product dimensions:
8.10(w) x 5.50(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
"A provocative, surprising look at the lesser-known parts of a sci-fi superstar's writing career." —-Kirkus

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >