Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 13 "Babi Yar"

( 1 )
$16.14 price
(Save 5%)$16.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $1.99   
  • New (3) from $8.83   
  • Used (2) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 5/3/1994
  • Label: Teldec
  • UPC: 745099084820
  • Catalog Number: 90848
  • Sales rank: 265,026


Disc 1
  1. 1 Babi Yar (Recitation) - Yevgeny Yevtushenko & Leonard Bernstein (4:42)
  2. 2–6 Symphony No. 13 in B flat Minor, Op. 113 (Babi Yar) - New York Philharmonic & Dmitry Shostakovich (58:14)
  3. 3 The Loss - New York Philharmonic & Yevgeny Yevtushenko (4:17)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
New York Philharmonic Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrible Even If Witty

    The least of Shostakovich's moods is the satirical, but it serves as effective contrast to his nobler heroic-tragic and elegiac moods. In his Symphony No. 13 on the World War II massacre at Babi Yar, he gives vent to his satirical muse in the isolated second movement. He calls the movement "Humor" but there is nothing funny about it. Serious iconoclasts of the type bred in Soviet Russia regard "humor" as a means of expressing protests against bad leadership. In the words of the concluding poem by the work's unaccompanied reader, "Everyone is a leader but no one leads." Despite Shostakovich's frequent displays of musical wit, the great feature of his music is its dead earnestness. It reminds me of Robert Frost's complaint that New York critics were judging him by the false standard of Russian fiction without regard for how "unterribly" life goes in America compared to Russia. What could be more perfectly terrible than the lugubrious movement "Fears" based on life spent under tyranny? The symphony's last movement "Careers" draws out the standard liberals' stale plum Galileo-- a discoverer of truth employed since his time to discredit greater truth. In 1962 when the symphony premiered, Russians needed heroes to hang their idealism on. Galileo served as well as any. Oops, the Galileo movement returns to the satirical vein and I was listening for a heroic finale. The symphony's program dictates a persistent theme of knuckle-wrapping chastisement. There is something "terrible" even in that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews