Doble Fudge (Double Fudge) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Doble Fudge (Double Fudge) (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

4.0 3
by Judy Blume
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fans young and old will laugh out loud at the irrepressible wit of peter Hatcher, the hilarious antics of mischievous Fudge, and the unbreakable confidence of know-it-all sheila tubman in Judy blume's five Fudge books. brand-new covers adorn these perennial favorites, and will entice a whole new generation of Fudge-and Judy blume-fans.

Overview

Fans young and old will laugh out loud at the irrepressible wit of peter Hatcher, the hilarious antics of mischievous Fudge, and the unbreakable confidence of know-it-all sheila tubman in Judy blume's five Fudge books. brand-new covers adorn these perennial favorites, and will entice a whole new generation of Fudge-and Judy blume-fans.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publishers Weekly
Fans of Superfudge and Fudge-a-Mania will welcome the return of seventh-grader Peter Hatcher and his five-year-old brother, Fudge, who in this comical caper meet distant cousins from Hawaii. The two families unexpectedly encounter one another in Washington, D.C., where the New York City Hatchers have gone so that Fudge, who has developed an obsession with money, can visit the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. The Howie Hatcher clan proves an eccentric lot. Twins Fauna and Flora, unironicially nicknamed the Natural Beauties, would be in Peter's grade if they weren't home-schooled; apt to break into corny songs at any moment, they perform together as the Heavenly Hatchers. Their younger brother, who shares Fudge's real name (Farley Drexel), acts like a dog, growling and licking people. And their father won't stop calling Peter's dad "Tubby." Narrator Peter grits his teeth when the Honolulu Hatchers invite themselves to Manhattan to stay in his family's cramped apartment, where nestled in their sleeping bags on the living room floor they "slept flat on their backs, like a row of hot dogs in their rolls. All that was missing was the mustard and the relish." The boy is further appalled when the twins show up at his school and convene an assembly so that they can sing. Peter's wry reactions to the sometimes outsize goings-on, Fudge's inimitable antics and the characters' rousing repartee contribute to the sprightly clip of this cheerful read. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.
School Library Journal - School Library Journal
Gr 3-5-Judy Blume's book (Dutton, 2002) is a fun story with interesting characters, but lacks the plot focus of the earlier titles in the series. As in the previous stories, Peter Hatcher, now a seventh grader, tells about an episode in his life in which his mischievous brother Fudge-a nickname for Farley Drexel, who is now five-drives him crazy. The story begins with the discovery of Fudge's new fascination with money, and is headed in a comical direction when the Hatchers go to Washington, DC to visit the Bureau of Printing and Engraving. However, the plot is hampered when they run into Peter's father's long-lost cousin, Howie Hatcher, and his family. The Hatchers invite themselves to stay with Peter's family in New York City. Although Howie and his family are all hilarious characters, their introduction is a diversion from the original plot. The characterizations are enhanced by author Judy Blume's superb reading, which brings them to life with just the right intonation. Preteens, especially those with younger siblings, will relate to the ups and downs of Peter's compounded life, and Fudge fans will continue to find his antics amusing, though not fully developed here.- Cynthia Grabke, Thayer Public Library, Braintree, MA Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Fudge Hatcher and his friends are back in the fifth installment of Blume's popular series. Five-year-old Fudge's newest obsession is money; he wants it so badly he even resorts to printing some of his own. On his first day of school, he finds a new friend, Richie Potter, who is endlessly interesting to Fudge: he's wealthy and not embarrassed to talk about money the way Fudge's family is. In order to take away some of the mystique about money, Fudge's parents plan a family trip to the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. This does little to stem his interest, but it does allow Fudge's father to run into a long-lost relative, Howie. This convenient coincidence pushes the narrative away from the story of Fudge and money to a rather unbelievable storyline. Howie's family is made up of his pregnant wife Eudora, 12-year-old twins Flora and Fauna (also known as "the natural beauties"), and four-year-old Farley Drexel Hatcher, which is also Fudge's real name. Howie insists on calling Fudge's father Tubby, a not-so-subtle reference to Mr. Hatcher's rotund childhood shape. The meandering plot turns into National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation when the homeschooling Hawaiian Hatchers invite themselves to stay in the already-crowded apartment shared by Peter, Fudge, baby Tootsie, and their parents. The apartment is strained to the breaking point as the pushy visitors overstay their welcome, invite themselves to Peter's school, and try everyone's patience. Too much is going on here, both in the Hatcher household and in Blume's story. Many of the plot strands are left hanging or are too neatly tied up. There's the bird who mysteriously loses his power to speak, and the artist whose paintings are made up ofbaby's footprints in paint. Add to that the Hawaiian cousins who sing showtunes. A few laughs can not redeem this busy, surprisingly unfunny book.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781417632497
Publisher:
Demco Media
Publication date:
07/28/2004
Series:
Fudge Series, #5
Edition description:
Spanish-Language Edition
Pages:
222
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range:
8 - 11 Years

Meet the Author

Judy Blume is the enduringly popular author of more than twenty books for young readers. Over 75 million copies of her books have been sold, and the Fudge books are timeless classics. Among Ms. Blume's many awards are the Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement and the 2004 National Book Foundation's Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. She lives with her husband, George Cooper, in Key West, Florida.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
New York's Upper East Side, Key West, and Martha's Vineyard
Date of Birth:
February 12, 1938
Place of Birth:
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Education:
B.S. in education, New York University, 1961
Website:
http://www.judyblume.com/

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Doble Fudge (Double Fudge) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Double fudge is about a 5 year old kid named fudge who is obessed with money.The reason he is obessed with is because one day he asked his brother "how much money is it to buy new york. His brothr tells him " well the dutch payed twenty-four dollar for it in the 1600" and thats were it begin.Now he goes around asking people how much money do they have.As his money obession goes on his mother decides to take a trip to Washington D.C. to a factory were they make money hoping that it cures his money obession,but the plan that mom had didnt work it only made him more crazy for money.On the trip he meets his long lost cousin,the howie hatchers.More to the end of the story Fudge loses his tooth and his cousin mini fudge swallowed it. Fudge didn't know so he slipped the tooth under his pillow wait for the tooth fair.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago