Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice by Stephen Baxter | Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice
  • Alternative view 1 of Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice
  • Alternative view 2 of Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice

Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice

4.2 29
by Stephen Baxter
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The Wheel. A ring of ice and metal turning around a moon of Saturn, home to a mining colony supplying a resource-hungry Earth—a colony plagued by problems. Equipment failures and thefts are on the rise. Children tell stories of mysterious creatures glimpsed aboard the Wheel. And some of the younger workers refuse to go down into the warren-like

Overview

The Wheel. A ring of ice and metal turning around a moon of Saturn, home to a mining colony supplying a resource-hungry Earth—a colony plagued by problems. Equipment failures and thefts are on the rise. Children tell stories of mysterious creatures glimpsed aboard the Wheel. And some of the younger workers refuse to go down into the warren-like mines.
 
And then one of them, surfing Saturn’s rings, saves an enigmatic blue box from destruction.
 
Once on the Wheel, the Doctor and his companions, Jamie and Zoe, face a critical situation when they become suspected by some as the source of the ongoing sabotage. They soon find themselves caught in a mystery that reaches back to the creation of the solar system. A mystery that could destroy the Wheel—and kill them all...

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“A master of the genre tackles the Time Lord with great results.”—Sci-Fi Bulletin

“Baxter nails one of the basic elements of any book like this one, capturing the voices of his three main characters with such precision that Troughton is almost audible in the Doctor’s lines.”—The A.V. Club

“Baxter has created almost the perfect Doctor Who novel: it stays true to the era in which it is set; it’s understandable for an intelligent child but not dumbed down for adults; it feels like something we could have seen on TV, even though the production designer would have had a heart attack and—most importantly—it never feels clichéd or corny…It works as good Doctor Whoand as a solid science-fiction tale. Highly recommended.”— TimeVault
 
“Baxter creates a near pitch-perfect evocation of Team TARDIS…[He] takes full advantage of the limitless scale and budget afforded by the reader’s imagination.”—Blogtor Who

“A return to epic adventure.”—SFcrowsnest

 

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425261224
Publisher:
Ace Hardcover
Publication date:
12/31/2012
Series:
Doctor Who Series
Pages:
320
Product dimensions:
6.30(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
Praise for Stephen Baxter

“A stunning talent!”—Locus

“Highly intelligent, with original ideas in almost every sentence.”—The Guardian (UK)

“Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov.”—The Times (UK)

"Technically brilliant and downright exciting.”—SFX

Meet the Author

Stephen Baxter was born in Liverpool, England, in 1957. He holds degrees in mathematics, from Cambridge University; engineering, from Southampton University; and business administration, from Henley Management College. He’s a Chartered Engineer and Fellow of the British Interplanetary Society.

His first professionally published short story appeared in 1987. He has been a full-time author since 1995 and is currently Vice-President of the British Science Fiction Association.

His science fiction novels have been published in the UK, the US, and in many other countries including Germany, Japan, France. His books have won several awards including the Philip K Dick Award, the John Campbell Memorial Award, the British Science Fiction Association Award, the Kurd Lasswitz Award (Germany) and the Seiun Award (Japan) and have been nominated for several others, including the Arthur C Clarke Award, the Hugo Award and Locus awards. He has also published over 100 sf short stories, several of which have won prizes. He can be found at stephen-baxter.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >