×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice
     

Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice

4.2 30
by Stephen Baxter
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Wheel. A ring of ice and metal turning around a moon of Saturn, home to a mining colony supplying a resource-hungry Earth—a colony plagued by problems. Equipment failures and thefts are on the rise. Children tell stories of mysterious creatures glimpsed aboard the Wheel. And some of the younger workers refuse to go down into the warren-like

Overview

The Wheel. A ring of ice and metal turning around a moon of Saturn, home to a mining colony supplying a resource-hungry Earth—a colony plagued by problems. Equipment failures and thefts are on the rise. Children tell stories of mysterious creatures glimpsed aboard the Wheel. And some of the younger workers refuse to go down into the warren-like mines.
 
And then one of them, surfing Saturn’s rings, saves an enigmatic blue box from destruction.
 
Once on the Wheel, the Doctor and his companions, Jamie and Zoe, face a critical situation when they become suspected by some as the source of the ongoing sabotage. They soon find themselves caught in a mystery that reaches back to the creation of the solar system. A mystery that could destroy the Wheel—and kill them all...

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“A master of the genre tackles the Time Lord with great results.”—Sci-Fi Bulletin

“Baxter nails one of the basic elements of any book like this one, capturing the voices of his three main characters with such precision that Troughton is almost audible in the Doctor’s lines.”—The A.V. Club

“Baxter has created almost the perfect Doctor Who novel: it stays true to the era in which it is set; it’s understandable for an intelligent child but not dumbed down for adults; it feels like something we could have seen on TV, even though the production designer would have had a heart attack and—most importantly—it never feels clichéd or corny…It works as good Doctor Whoand as a solid science-fiction tale. Highly recommended.”— TimeVault
 
“Baxter creates a near pitch-perfect evocation of Team TARDIS…[He] takes full advantage of the limitless scale and budget afforded by the reader’s imagination.”—Blogtor Who

“A return to epic adventure.”—SFcrowsnest

 

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425261231
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
05/06/2014
Series:
Doctor Who Series
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
857,125
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher
Praise for Stephen Baxter

“A stunning talent!”—Locus

“Highly intelligent, with original ideas in almost every sentence.”—The Guardian (UK)

“Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov.”—The Times (UK)

"Technically brilliant and downright exciting.”—SFX

Meet the Author

Stephen Baxter was born in Liverpool, England, in 1957. He holds degrees in mathematics, from Cambridge University; engineering, from Southampton University; and business administration, from Henley Management College. He’s a Chartered Engineer and Fellow of the British Interplanetary Society.

His first professionally published short story appeared in 1987. He has been a full-time author since 1995 and is currently Vice-President of the British Science Fiction Association.

His science fiction novels have been published in the UK, the US, and in many other countries including Germany, Japan, France. His books have won several awards including the Philip K Dick Award, the John Campbell Memorial Award, the British Science Fiction Association Award, the Kurd Lasswitz Award (Germany) and the Seiun Award (Japan) and have been nominated for several others, including the Arthur C Clarke Award, the Hugo Award and Locus awards. He has also published over 100 sf short stories, several of which have won prizes. He can be found at stephen-baxter.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Doctor Who: the Wheel of Ice 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 30 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Stephen Baxter's books and I love Dr Who. As I expected, Stephen Baxter nailed it The Doctor,Jamie and Zoe come to life. Unlike most of the othe DR Who books being written now, this is not written aimed at younger children. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's very rare for me to pick up a Doctor Who novel, as it would be incredibly difficult for a book to adequately capture the frantic energy of the show. But when I quite literally stumbled on this, and discovered it featured the Second Doctor (who is my favourite), I had to give it a go. Pleasantly, this book perfectly captures the spirit of Patrick Troughton's tenure as the impish Time Lord and weaves an interesting story that, while not quite captivating, is exceedingly entertaining. My only complaint, and it's a rather trivial one at that, is that the book fails to generate a substantial level of suspense that one would expect with the "base-under-siege" type of story that characterized many of the Second Doctor's adventures. Still, if you enjoy Doctor Who, or are a fan of Patrick Troughton's Doctor, you certainly cannot go wrong purchasing this book, and it is well worth every penny.
FGNY More than 1 year ago
Must read for all Whovians. Read this if you watch Sarah Smith Adventures Dr.Who Torchwood.
Medic_Chick05 More than 1 year ago
i have not seen many of the old series but this deals with the 2nd doctor and i have loved readingit! it was a lil hard for me at first becuase i am use 9,10 and 11  but its a great book for any whovian and if you watch some clips on youtube of the 2nd doctor,it wont be very hard seeing the characters
Coba_Roba More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed in this book, the author has such a great background, and anything Doctor Who is hard not to like. This book came across lazy, the plot was fed to you, the characters were developed; but not enough to feel invested. This came across as a quick thrown on paper write, it didn't even seem the editors took their time. Each sentence was impregnated with the most over used word in the book "that", even the Doctor didn't escape over using this common word. I was equally unhappy about the fact the author wrote the Doctor sleeping, eating and drinking tea. Yes, he does eat and drink in some episodes as well as other books; but sleeping was a step too far. I gave up I couldn't get into, I stopped reading this book. I will never know what happens, and really don't care. This book certainly did not capture me.
mtsilence 10 months ago
If you are a fan of Doctor Who and love traveling with any of the Doctors and their companions, do not skip over this book. Instead read it. Find out some of the quirky bits of personality that make up the Second Doctor and buckle up for a wild and bumpy ride.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seriously, guys! Some Whovians are here to actually FIGURE OUT WHETHER THIS BOOK IS WORTH BUYING, NOT READ YOUR RETARDED DESCRIPTIONS OF WHATEVER FUDGERDONG WAS ON ABOUT! Ahem. It's just something that infuriates me. As for the book, it really is great! Just... -.-"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seriously!? Little kids could be reading these posts! And this book has nothing to do with shecats
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got this book from the library. Not a bad read by any means.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EXTERMINATE!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read comment 13. It doesnt make sense considering you shi t from your as s.think about it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Groans
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Random quotes: just as me for thm
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HUGE fan!!!!! Doctor Who is better than the Lord of the Rings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont belive it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wilson. Where are you?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My friend talked about this so much i could not enjoy it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
YEAAAAA TIMEY WIMEY!!!!! derpy stop shaking that snow globe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Forcemates all the shecats
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Padded in