Dog Beach: A Novel

Dog Beach: A Novel

4.0 1
by John Fusco
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Acclaimed screenwriter John Fusco’s thriller follows the exploits of Louie Mo, once Hong Kong’s greatest stuntman turned Los Angeles knee-breaker, as his latest target unexpectedly casts him in the role of a lifetime.

Leaving behind a successful career as a stunt double in Hong
Kong to escape entanglements with the Chinese mafia, Louie Mo now makes

Overview

Acclaimed screenwriter John Fusco’s thriller follows the exploits of Louie Mo, once Hong Kong’s greatest stuntman turned Los Angeles knee-breaker, as his latest target unexpectedly casts him in the role of a lifetime.

Leaving behind a successful career as a stunt double in Hong
Kong to escape entanglements with the Chinese mafia, Louie Mo now makes his living in Los Angeles as a hired knee-breaker, putting fear into the hearts of people reneging on payments to investors.

Troy, an aspiring director with NYU credentials and encyclopedic movie knowledge, is beginning to realize that he’s made a deal with the devil by agreeing to direct a film for producer Avi Ghazaryan. When
Avi’s sketchy investors hire Louie to scare Troy into finishing their movie,
Troy’s reverence for film and keen eye save him from a beating when he recognizes Louie Mo as the stuntman extraordinaire he once was and begs Louie to take the lead role in the movie based on Troy’s own pet screenplay.

For Louie Mo, this chance at redemption might be his last.
As his past catches up with him and his body becomes ever more broken down, he teams up with Troy in a race against the clock—and the bad guys—to pull off an impossible film of epic proportions.

Dog Beach is a fast-paced, smart, and hilarious thrill ride. Equal parts dark satire and high-velocity action novel, it’s perfect for fans of Elmore Leonard and Don Winslow.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
07/28/2014
Fusco (Paradise Salvage) channels Elmore Leonard and Quentin Tarantino in this vivid, action-packed tale of Asian gangsters and Hollywood moviemaking. Louie Mo’s career as the best stunt double in Hong Kong ended with a run-in with the Chinese mafia. Now addicted to painkillers, Louie works in L.A. as an enforcer, breaking the knees of anyone who owes his criminal bosses. His latest case takes him to the house of aspiring filmmaker Troy Raskin and several housemates, which is located on a stretch of Malibu nicknamed “Dog Beach.” There’s a reason why Troy and his friends, who can’t quite finish anything, are called the “Dogs of Entropy.” Troy is behind on the movie he’s working on for producer and gangster Avi Ghazaryan. Before Louie can beat up Troy, however, the young filmmaker recognizes his potential assailant. While Louie at first denies he’s the former stuntman, he winds up getting a role in Troy’s next film project, which Troy may actually finish. Sharp dialogue complements the pitch-black comedy. Agent: Stephanie Cabot, Gernert Company. (Sept.)
From the Publisher
“Both Louie and the novel are wise and gently humorous, tougher than they seem, and casual about their mastery of craft. What follows is a fine romp, with sex, drugs, murder, and car chases, but savvy readers will notice the underlying seriousness. And the insider stunt lore is priceless.”

Booklist

Chris Bohjalian
“I was always a big fan of Elmore Leonard, and now I’m a big fan of John Fusco. Dog Beach is a gem: A Hollywood novel by a guy who knows Hollywood. In this wonderful world of stuntmen and screenwriters, rising stars and falling producers, everyone is a step away from a blockbuster–if they can just stay alive to the final reel. Fast and funny and filled with surprises.”
Warren Ellis
"This is a poisonously funny Hollywood noir nightmare, smart and savage. I loved it."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781483016238
Publisher:
Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Publication date:
09/09/2014
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.60(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

John Fusco is an American novelist and multi-award-winning screenwriter. His debut novel, Paradise Salvage, was shortlisted for the 2001 Crime Writers of America Debut Dagger Award for best first crime novel. His screenplays include The
Forbidden Kingdom
, Crossroads, Young Guns, Young Guns II, Thunderheart,
Hidalgo, and Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron. His screenplay for Hidalgo won the Spur Award in 2005 for best western drama script, and Spirit:
Stallion of the Cimarron
won eight film awards and a nomination for an
Academy Award in 2003 for best animated feature. He was born in Connecticut and is a graduate of New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Dog Beach 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A spot of Elmore Leonard, some Donald Westlake, oh,heck, I don't know. This guy's a winner. Remember the name: Fusco.