Dog Next Door, The: And Other Stories of the Dogs We Love

Dog Next Door, The: And Other Stories of the Dogs We Love

4.0 27
by Callie Smith Grant
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Dogs are truly one of God's finest creatures, a marvelous gift for us humans. In the perfect follow-up to A Prince among Dogs, Callie Smith Grant compiles a delightful collection of true stories that celebrate the dogs in our lives. These stories will touch our hearts, renew our spirits, and show us how God made these wonderful creatures for unique purposes.

…  See more details below

Overview

Dogs are truly one of God's finest creatures, a marvelous gift for us humans. In the perfect follow-up to A Prince among Dogs, Callie Smith Grant compiles a delightful collection of true stories that celebrate the dogs in our lives. These stories will touch our hearts, renew our spirits, and show us how God made these wonderful creatures for unique purposes.

Readers will love these uplifting glimpses into the lives of ordinary and extraordinary dogs and the people who love them. The stories are warm, captivating, and ideal for a good curl-up-and-read or a perfect gift for any dog lover.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In the vein of Merle's Door and Marley and Me, this collection of nonfiction stories by Christian authors puts the reader on a leash and walks her on the path between God and the four-legged beasts that share the letters of his name (in English). Some of the stories make the link through Bible verses, while others are more oblique, with no direct religious references. Some of the authors are better writers, offering real insight into the spiritual relationship between dogs and their people, while others rely more on cliché, making their contributions feel hackneyed. Still, there is something for every Christian reader here: pastors will find fodder for sermons, and laypeople will find their religious worldview reflected and perhaps strengthened. Pictures of the dogs featured in some of the stories add to the connection between readers and the dogs, but scattered informational boxes of doggie facts are distracting and unlikely to be news to anyone who has ever had a dog. A sweet book, good for the Christian dog lover. (June)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780800734190
Publisher:
Baker Publishing Group
Publication date:
06/01/2011
Pages:
224
Sales rank:
275,691
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.80(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Callie Smith Grant is the editor of A Prince among Dogs and A Dickens of a Cat. She is also the author of several nonfiction books for young readers and adults as well as many animal-themed stories and poems which can be seen in Guideposts anthologies and in magazines such as Small Farmers Journal.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Dog Next Door, The: And Other Stories of the Dogs We Love 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
jules2574 More than 1 year ago
This book is for any dog lover out there. Such endearing stories and as a dog owner I can relate to some of these stories. I love my dog so much and she is a big part of the family. Some of these stories had me in tears.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good book to curl up with, and it makes you want a dog more than ever
mellis More than 1 year ago
If you love dogs, or animals in general, then you will love these stories. Some sad, some happy, you can relate to them. Very good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book. Its a book that youll want to read over and over again and again and again. :* See You Laterrrr.<3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must for any dog lover.
happyasalark More than 1 year ago
Heartwarming, inspiring stores of the four-legged members of our familial. A must read for all animal lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome
momm3SM More than 1 year ago
wonderful dog stories some just for fun, but many are inspirational. lots of the dogs in the stories are rescued dogs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yep, nice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
These stories are great but beware and keep a tissue handy.
memax4 More than 1 year ago
Light, easy read. So sweet. You really need to read to get the full impact.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was uplifting and very heart warming. Curl up and enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
less than I expected but O.K. as far as it went. It was mostly the memories of someone who obviously loved their dog.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book good. I am a dog lover because i have 2 and i loooove books with an eye catcher in them......please slmeone write a reveiw back!!!! Thanks so much!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi rite back
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dewdrop,"sis,is the snow ameulet in its hiding place because frostwolf is searching for it?" Sundrop,"yes." See the visit of frostwolf on the book horses for dummies