The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Loving: How Dogs Have Captured Our Hearts for Thousands of Years

The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Loving: How Dogs Have Captured Our Hearts for Thousands of Years

3.0 3
by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Dog lovers get ready – Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, international bestselling author of Dogs Never Lie About Love (which the San Francisco Chronicle calls "winning and wise," and "a charming paean to our best friends"), is back with an inspiring, heart-warming, and deeply personal exploration of the unique relationship between humans and dogs.

Overview

Dog lovers get ready – Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, international bestselling author of Dogs Never Lie About Love (which the San Francisco Chronicle calls "winning and wise," and "a charming paean to our best friends"), is back with an inspiring, heart-warming, and deeply personal exploration of the unique relationship between humans and dogs. As in When Elephants Weep, The Face on Your Plate, an The Pig Who Sang to the Moon, Masson blends cultural mythology, scientific research, and stories of his own experiences to tackle deep questions about the emotional lives of humans and animals. His compelling, elegant, and often humorous narrative about the love people feel for dogs (perfect for fans of John Grogan's Marley & Me) gives a new perspective on the extraordinary relationship between our species.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Masson (When Elephants Weep) explores the unique bond between humans and dogs in a humdrum and highly repetitive book that is illuminated at points by the author's odes to his own companion, Benjy, a failed guide dog with an unrestrained capacity to love people. Masson ruminates on the mutual interdependence between the two species--a love affair going back at least 15,000 years--and examines ancient myths and new research that suggest how man and dog have evolved together. He juxtaposes our emotional similarities to dogs and to our other domesticated animals, including cats, horses, parrots, and pigs. Even if the material seems stretched and familiar--fans of the genre will likely have encountered many of Masson's observations in Animals Make Us Human by Temple Grandin and Inside of a Dog by Alexandra Horowitz--Masson is at his most personal and appealing in this book, especially when he writes about Benjy. (Oct.)
Kirkus Reviews
“An enjoyable book for dog lovers.”
Elizabeth Marshall Thomas
“I greatly enjoyed this remarkable book, not only for it’s captivating narrative, but also for fascinating information which will surprise even those who love animals and are attuned to the natural world. Jeffrey Masson writes amazing books, and this one is true to form. It’s excellent.”
Ted Kerasote
“In his story of Benjy, the dog who couldn’t stop loving, Masson does a thought-provoking job of leveling the playing field between us and other species while also posing fascinating questions about the emotional makeup of our closest companion in the animal kingdom, our dogs.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062014320
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/05/2010
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
24,605
File size:
3 MB

Videos

What People are saying about this

Ted Kerasote
“In his story of Benjy, the dog who couldn’t stop loving, Masson does a thought-provoking job of leveling the playing field between us and other species while also posing fascinating questions about the emotional makeup of our closest companion in the animal kingdom, our dogs.”
Elizabeth Marshall Thomas
“I greatly enjoyed this remarkable book, not only for it’s captivating narrative, but also for fascinating information which will surprise even those who love animals and are attuned to the natural world. Jeffrey Masson writes amazing books, and this one is true to form. It’s excellent.”

Meet the Author

Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson is the author of twenty-five books, including the New York Times bestselling When Elephants Weep and Dogs Never Lie About Love, as well as The Pig Who Sang to the Moon, The Face on Your Plate, and The Assault on Truth. An American, he lives in New Zealand.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Auckland, New Zealand
Date of Birth:
March 28, 1941
Place of Birth:
Chicago, Illinois
Education:
B.A., Harvard, 1964; Toronto Institute of Psychoanalysis, 1978, Ph.D. in Sanskrit and Indian Studies, Harvard, 1970

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Loving: How Dogs Have Captured Our Hearts for Thousands of Years 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beth4W More than 1 year ago
I am a dog lover so believe completely the amazing influence they have on people. I happen to disagree strongly with some of the author's presumptions in regards to dogs and their "evolution", but this is a matter of convictions and beliefs.