Doing Time: An Introduction to the Sociology of Imprisonment

Doing Time: An Introduction to the Sociology of Imprisonment

by Roger Matthews
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The new edition of Doing Time brings this widely recognized book up-to-date and provides an accessible and informed discussion of current debates around prisons and penal policy. Drawing on a range of international material the book provides a critical sociological analysis of developments in imprisonment.

Overview

The new edition of Doing Time brings this widely recognized book up-to-date and provides an accessible and informed discussion of current debates around prisons and penal policy. Drawing on a range of international material the book provides a critical sociological analysis of developments in imprisonment.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

'Here is the greatly awaited second edition of Doing Time keeping pace with this rapidly changing field. Unafraid of controversy, theoretically sophisticated and international in its scope this is the only book which covers the field, introduces students to the current debates and takes the argument forwards. It is a must for students and researchers alike' - Jock Young, Distinguished Professor of Criminal Justice, John Jay College and The Graduate Center, City University of New York, USA and author of The Criminological Imagination

'Doing Time is a theoretically sophisticated and challenging analysis of the key issues that define the contemporary prison. Students of penal studies need to pay serious attention to the core arguments of this book' - Professor Eugene McLaughlin, City University, UK

'Far more than a descriptive introduction to prisons, Doing Time presents a challenging, theoretically sophisticated discussion of the role of crime and punishment in society in the tradition of Foucault, Garland and Rusche and Kircheimer. Readers of all levels will find much to chew on here' - Professor Shadd Maruna, Queen's University Belfast, UK

'Doing Time will make an excellent co-text for upper level criminology and penology courses' - Linda Deutschmann, Teaching Sociology

'...the book is characterised by an intellectual honesty and a refusal to accept familiar or comfortable positions...the idea of 'doing time' is refreshed by this original approach'- Rob Canton, Probation Journal

Booknews
This introduction to sociological issues and debates relating to the process of imprisonment aims to serve as a bridge between specialized texts that tackle one issue in some depth and basic texts that describe the overall operation of the penal system. The book attempts to reconnect the study of imprisonment with an examination of crime, the state, and the changing relations of production. Matthews (Middlesex U.) covers the history of the modern prison, the process through which order and disorder occur in prison, the ways prisoners adapt to confinement, and the changing size and composition of the imprisoned population. The second half of the work looks in more detail at the imprisonment of young people, women, and ethnic minorities, and considers the future of the prison system. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780230235526
Publisher:
Palgrave Macmillan UK
Publication date:
08/28/2009
Edition description:
2nd ed. 2009
Pages:
297
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.80(d)

Meet the Author

Roger Matthews is Professor of Criminology at London South Bank University, UK. He is Head of the Crime Reduction and Community Safety Research Group. He is sole author of Armed Robbery and Prostitution, Politics and Policy. He has also produced joint authored texts on community safety and edited a number of books on criminological theory, imprisonment and crime control.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >