Doing Time: An Introduction to the Sociology of Imprisonment

Overview

Doing Time is an essential text for students in criminology and criminal justice – a one-stop overview of key debates in punishment and imprisonment. This edition, thoroughly revised and updated throughout, is a highly accessible guide, providing the tools to critically engage with today's central issues in penology and penal policy.

Examining imprisonment both historically and sociologically, and in international perspective, Doing Time outlines theoretical debates, and goes ...

See more details below
Paperback (Second Edition)
$32.94
BN.com price
(Save 15%)$39.00 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (6) from $8.80   
  • New (3) from $24.10   
  • Used (3) from $8.80   
Sending request ...

Overview

Doing Time is an essential text for students in criminology and criminal justice – a one-stop overview of key debates in punishment and imprisonment. This edition, thoroughly revised and updated throughout, is a highly accessible guide, providing the tools to critically engage with today's central issues in penology and penal policy.

Examining imprisonment both historically and sociologically, and in international perspective, Doing Time outlines theoretical debates, and goes beyond standard introductory texts to help students develop their own critical and informed opinions.

This new edition includes:
• three new chapters
• an up-to-date bibliography
• fully revised statistical information
• a guide to key internet resources

Issues explored include:
• how incarceration became established as the foremost form of punishment
• the role of space, time and labor in the evolution of prisons and prison life
• why prison populations are rising despite the fall in crime figures
• an examination of key prison populations – juveniles, women and ethnic groups
• crime and the business cycle – links between crime, unemployment and imprisonment
• globalization and crime control
• the future of imprisonment

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Here is the greatly awaited second edition of Doing Time keeping pace with this rapidly changing field. Unafraid of controversy, theoretically sophisticated and international in its scope this is the only book which covers the field, introduces students to the current debates and takes the argument forwards. It is a must for students and researchers alike.” – Jock Young, Distinguished Professor of Criminal Justice, John Jay College and The Graduate Center, City University of New York, and author of The Criminological Imagination

'Doing Time is a theoretically sophisticated and challenging analysis of the key issues that define the contemporary prison. Students of penal studies need to pay serious attention to the core arguments of this book' - Professor Eugene McLaughlin, City University, UK

'Far more than a descriptive introduction to prisons, Doing Time presents a challenging, theoretically sophisticated discussion of the role of crime and punishment in society in the tradition of Foucault, Garland and Rusche and Kircheimer. Readers of all levels will find much to chew on here' - Professor Shadd Maruna, Queen's University Belfast, UK

'Doing Time will make an excellent co-text for upper level criminology and penology courses' - Linda Deutschmann, Teaching Sociology

'...the book is characterised by an intellectual honesty and a refusal to accept familiar or comfortable positions...the idea of 'doing time' is refreshed by this original approach'- Rob Canton, Probation Jourbanal

Booknews
This introduction to sociological issues and debates relating to the process of imprisonment aims to serve as a bridge between specialized texts that tackle one issue in some depth and basic texts that describe the overall operation of the penal system. The book attempts to reconnect the study of imprisonment with an examination of crime, the state, and the changing relations of production. Matthews (Middlesex U.) covers the history of the modern prison, the process through which order and disorder occur in prison, the ways prisoners adapt to confinement, and the changing size and composition of the imprisoned population. The second half of the work looks in more detail at the imprisonment of young people, women, and ethnic minorities, and considers the future of the prison system. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780230235526
  • Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
  • Publication date: 10/15/2009
  • Edition description: Second Edition
  • Edition number: 2
  • Pages: 304
  • Product dimensions: 5.40 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Meet the Author

ROGER MATTHEWS is Professor of Criminology at London South Bank University, UK. He is Head of the Crime Reduction and Community Safety Research Group. He is the author of Armed Robbery and Prostitution, Politics and Policy. He has also produced joint authored texts on community safety and edited a number of books on criminological theory, imprisonment and crime control.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

List of Tables and Figures
• Preface to Second Edition
• Acknowledgements
• The Emergence of the Modern Prison
• Space, Time and Labour
• Order, Control and Adaption in Prison
• The Political Economy of Imprisonment
• The Politics and Culture of Imprisonment
• Crime, Sentencing and Imprisonment
• Youth Justice and Youth Custody
• Women's Imprisonment
• Race and Imprisonment
• The Future of Imprisonment
• Bibliography

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)