The Dolphins of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern Series #13)

The Dolphins of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern Series #13)

4.4 37
by Anne McCaffrey
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Two boys, one of them a dragonrider, re-establish crucial contact with the wise dolphins, the legendary "shipfish" of Pern.

Overview

Two boys, one of them a dragonrider, re-establish crucial contact with the wise dolphins, the legendary "shipfish" of Pern.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
In this latest addition to McCaffrey's popular Pern series (Chronicles of Pern: First Fall, etc.), the humans of Pern are reunited, after eons of noncontact, with the intelligent dolphins who had originally settled the planet with them. When a boy, Readis, is rescued by ``shipfish'' and realizes that they can talk, he develops a lifelong obsession with the fascinating creatures. But, though his interest is shared by the young dragonrider T'Lion and his dragon, Gadareth, it is forbidden by his mother, who has feared the unusual ever since she was kidnapped by outlaws because of her ability to hear and talk with dragons. Readis pursues his briney friendships nonetheless, reporting his findings to the computer, Aivas, which is attempting to guide the humans to a new era by freeing Pern forever from the devastating, life-consuming Thread. Meanwhile, the leading dragonriders and holdlords must act to contain the lust for land and power of Toric, Lord Holder of the South. Expanding upon events related in All the Weyrs of Pern, McCaffrey here adds yet another dimension to her colorful and vivid saga by focusing on the attractive dolphins and their highly believable society. (Oct.)
Library Journal
Rescued from drowning by a pair of dolphins, a young boy embarks on a lifelong mission to reestablish ties with the third most intelligent species on the planet Pern. This latest installment of McCaffrey's most popular series (The Chronicles of Pern, LJ 10/15/93) features a resourceful and determined human hero as well as a host of appealing dolphins as the supporting characters. The author's unnecessary reliance on parental opposition as a stumbling block to the fulfillment of her protagonist's dream is the only weak point in an otherwise solid contribution to the growing literature of Pern. Demand will be considerable for this title.
Dennis Winters
As the inhabitants of Pern finally near their longtime goal of ridding their world of the hazard of Thread, they regain contact with the "shipfish", the dolphins that accompanied the earliest human settlers on the planet. T'lion, a young dragonrider, and Readis, a boy from a fishing village, are instrumental in rebuilding the ancient partnership between humans and dolphins in preparation for the spread of humanity over the remaining wildernesses of Pern. McCaffrey's latest installment in the Pern epic completely upholds the high standards of the series.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780345368959
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
09/28/1995
Series:
Dragonriders of Pern Series , #13
Edition description:
REPRINT
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
309,324
Product dimensions:
4.20(w) x 6.90(h) x 1.04(d)
Lexile:
980L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 - 18 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Anne McCaffrey, the Hugo Award-winning author of the bestselling Dragonriders of Pern® novels, is one of science fiction’s most popular authors. With Elizabeth Ann Scarborough she co-authored Changelings and Maelstrom, Books One and Two of The Twins of Petaybee. McCaffrey lives in a house of her own design, Dragonhold-Underhill, in County Wicklow, Ireland.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Dolphins of Pern 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hooked on this dragon series.....I just hope they get the rest of this series in ebook format soon, there are a few in this series that I love to read and reread.......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great read,great escape.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where they were reminiscing about Robinton after he died.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay this is great! I liked this about the same as Kingdoms and Elves of the Reaches. Mrs. McCaffrey is on to something here.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love the Pen books but this one just wasn't up to my standards. The child (Readis) who is not understood by his parents is too reminiscent of Menolly's story, and there was too little of the dolphins and too much of Readis. Pern also changed a lot in this book and what I think made Pern interesting is how people interacted and were dependant upon each other, when that changed it disappointed me. If you want to read about Pern's dolphins, read the story in the chronicles of pern, it's a much better story!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anne McCaffrey does it again! This book is great; it takes a good deal of effort to put this book down. But then, all of McCaffrey's books have that endearing quality. The re-discovery of the dolphins and the events that take place after-ward will keep your eyes glued to the page.
Anonymous 7 days ago
Another great coming-of-age tale set on Pern. McCaffery always delivers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bill46 More than 1 year ago
Anne's best series and a great edtition to the story of Pern. Anne writes with feelings and heart. She draws you into the world of PERN and the life of her charactors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rhyasha0724 More than 1 year ago
How can you go wrong with dragons and dolphins?! Add in the facts that Anne McCaffrey wrote it and it's a Pern book and life just doesn't get any better! A must for fans of Anne McCaffrey and Pern or if you just love drogons and/or dolphins. I have read and reread all of the Pern books many times, but I think I have reread this one the most!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was by far my favorite book of the Pern series, but I do love them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago