BN.com Gift Guide

The Dolphins of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern Series #13) [NOOK Book]

Overview

Two boys, one of them a dragonrider, re-establish crucial contact with the wise dolphins, the legendary "shipfish" of Pern.

An exciting new adventure in the bestselling Dragonriders of Pern saga. 6 cassettes.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
The Dolphins of Pern (Dragonriders of Pern Series #13)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price
Marketplace
BN.com

All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

Two boys, one of them a dragonrider, re-establish crucial contact with the wise dolphins, the legendary "shipfish" of Pern.

An exciting new adventure in the bestselling Dragonriders of Pern saga. 6 cassettes.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
In this latest addition to McCaffrey's popular Pern series Chronicles of Pern: First Fall, etc., the humans of Pern are reunited, after eons of noncontact, with the intelligent dolphins who had originally settled the planet with them. When a boy, Readis, is rescued by ``shipfish'' and realizes that they can talk, he develops a lifelong obsession with the fascinating creatures. But, though his interest is shared by the young dragonrider T'Lion and his dragon, Gadareth, it is forbidden by his mother, who has feared the unusual ever since she was kidnapped by outlaws because of her ability to hear and talk with dragons. Readis pursues his briney friendships nonetheless, reporting his findings to the computer, Aivas, which is attempting to guide the humans to a new era by freeing Pern forever from the devastating, life-consuming Thread. Meanwhile, the leading dragonriders and holdlords must act to contain the lust for land and power of Toric, Lord Holder of the South. Expanding upon events related in All the Weyrs of Pern, McCaffrey here adds yet another dimension to her colorful and vivid saga by focusing on the attractive dolphins and their highly believable society. Oct.
Library Journal
Rescued from drowning by a pair of dolphins, a young boy embarks on a lifelong mission to reestablish ties with the third most intelligent species on the planet Pern. This latest installment of McCaffrey's most popular series The Chronicles of Pern, LJ 10/15/93 features a resourceful and determined human hero as well as a host of appealing dolphins as the supporting characters. The author's unnecessary reliance on parental opposition as a stumbling block to the fulfillment of her protagonist's dream is the only weak point in an otherwise solid contribution to the growing literature of Pern. Demand will be considerable for this title.
Dennis Winters
As the inhabitants of Pern finally near their longtime goal of ridding their world of the hazard of Thread, they regain contact with the "shipfish", the dolphins that accompanied the earliest human settlers on the planet. T'lion, a young dragonrider, and Readis, a boy from a fishing village, are instrumental in rebuilding the ancient partnership between humans and dolphins in preparation for the spread of humanity over the remaining wildernesses of Pern. McCaffrey's latest installment in the Pern epic completely upholds the high standards of the series.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780345454065
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Publication date: 2/26/2002
  • Series: Dragonriders of Pern Series , #13
  • Sold by: Random House
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 36,703
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

Anne McCaffrey, the Hugo Award-winning author of the bestselling Dragonriders of Pern® novels, is one of science fiction’s most popular authors. With Elizabeth Ann Scarborough she co-authored Changelings and Maelstrom, Books One and Two of The Twins of Petaybee. McCaffrey lives in a house of her own design, Dragonhold-Underhill, in County Wicklow, Ireland.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Dragon series

    Hooked on this dragon series.....I just hope they get the rest of this series in ebook format soon, there are a few in this series that I love to read and reread.......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    great read,great escape.

    great read,great escape.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2002

    4 stars!

    Okay this is great! I liked this about the same as Kingdoms and Elves of the Reaches. Mrs. McCaffrey is on to something here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    Not Anne McCaffrey's best

    I love the Pen books but this one just wasn't up to my standards. The child (Readis) who is not understood by his parents is too reminiscent of Menolly's story, and there was too little of the dolphins and too much of Readis. Pern also changed a lot in this book and what I think made Pern interesting is how people interacted and were dependant upon each other, when that changed it disappointed me. If you want to read about Pern's dolphins, read the story in the chronicles of pern, it's a much better story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    ?

    Anne McCaffrey does it again! This book is great; it takes a good deal of effort to put this book down. But then, all of McCaffrey's books have that endearing quality. The re-discovery of the dolphins and the events that take place after-ward will keep your eyes glued to the page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended; Start the series and you won't put it down until you have read them all

    Anne's best series and a great edtition to the story of Pern. Anne writes with feelings and heart. She draws you into the world of PERN and the life of her charactors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    How can you go wrong with dragons and dolphins?! Add in the fact

    How can you go wrong with dragons and dolphins?! Add in the facts that
    Anne McCaffrey wrote it and it's a Pern book and life just doesn't get
    any better! A must for fans of Anne McCaffrey and Pern or if you just
    love drogons and/or dolphins. I have read and reread all of the Pern
    books many times, but I think I have reread this one the most!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where they were reminiscing about Robinton after he died.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    A Must read

    This was by far my favorite book of the Pern series, but I do love them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

See All Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)