Don't Blink: Free Preview

Don't Blink: Free Preview

3.3 2497
by James Patterson, Howard Roughan
     
 

This special free preview includes Book One of Don't Blink.

The good

New York's Lombardo's Steak House is famous for three reasons--the menu, the clientele, and now, the gruesome murder of an infamous mob lawyer. Effortlessly, the assassin slips through the police's fingers, and his absence sparks a blaze of accusations about who ordered…  See more details below

Overview

This special free preview includes Book One of Don't Blink.

The good

New York's Lombardo's Steak House is famous for three reasons--the menu, the clientele, and now, the gruesome murder of an infamous mob lawyer. Effortlessly, the assassin slips through the police's fingers, and his absence sparks a blaze of accusations about who ordered the hit.

The bad

Seated at a nearby table, reporter Nick Daniels is conducting a once-in-a-lifetime interview with a legendary baseball bad-boy. In the chaos, he accidentally captures a key piece of evidence that lands him in the middle of an all-out war between Italian and Russian mafia forces. NYPD captains, district attorneys, mayoral candidates, media kingpins, and one shockingly beautiful magazine editor are all pushing their own agendas--on both sides of the law.

And the dead

Back off--or die--is the clear message Nick receives as he investigates for a story of his own. Heedless, and perhaps in love with his beautiful editor, Nick endures humiliation, threats, violence, and worse in a thriller that overturns every expectation and finishes with the kind of flourish only James Patterson knows.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

USA Today
"The prolific Patterson seems unstoppable."
Publishers Weekly
"Patterson's novels are sleek entertainment machines, the Porsches of commercial fiction, expertly engineered and lightning fast."
People
"James Patterson knows how to sell thrills and suspense in clean, unwavering prose."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780316182591
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company
Publication date:
09/27/2010
Sold by:
Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
9,658
File size:
194 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

James Patterson has had more New York Times bestsellers than any other writer, ever, according to Guinness World Records. Since his first novel won the Edgar Award in 1977 James Patterson's books have sold more than 300 million copies. He is the author of the Alex Cross novels, the most popular detective series of the past twenty-five years, including Kiss the Girls and Along Came a Spider. He writes full-time and lives in Florida with his family.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Palm Beach, Florida
Date of Birth:
March 22, 1947
Place of Birth:
Newburgh, New York
Education:
B.A., Manhattan College, 1969; M.A., Vanderbilt University, 1971
Website:
http://www.jamespatterson.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Don't Blink Special Free Preview - Book One) 3.3 out of 5 based on 6 ratings. 2498 reviews.
bandit33 More than 1 year ago
I was really enjoying this book, however, I only got 87 pages of what I believe is a 380 page book - so I felt ripped off to say the least.
Dr-Reader More than 1 year ago
OK, I admit B&N wrote "Special free preview: book one" on the jacket cover photo. Unduly optimistic, I interpreted this as book one of a series, free. Also, I figured, if there was a "Download Sample" button, the "Download Now" button had to be the whole book. Right? Wrong! This item is what you should get when you click on "Download Sample" in the full-length book description. I should add that I'm still suffering sticker shock for eBooks in the $10+ price range. How much profit is included in that price? Why should I pay that much for a severly limited license?
SewhappyMM More than 1 year ago
I downloaded this as a "Free" ebook, and truly enjoyed the 87 pages that I got. However,I think it was a bit sneaky to advertise it as "Free" and then ask you to buy it to read the middle and ending, not to mention the fact that the ebook cost is a bit ridiculous.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While the ebook buyer is given the choice of "buy" or "sample" you only get 87 pages. So the commercial for the book is free, yippee!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Free ebook" leads one to believe that it is the entire book. Shame on you B&N, for leading us on with 87 pages . . .from now on I read the reviews!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
why does this show up as a Sample book when it is advertised as Free?
readerNG More than 1 year ago
I am disappointed to receive only 87 pages of a "free book."
media More than 1 year ago
I downloaded this and got 87 pages
seniorchief More than 1 year ago
It seemed to be part chapters from the whole book, what little I read, I liked, not enough to spend 14 dollars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
if you like mystery books you should read this one. James Patterson is a very good author.
cille85 More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down, read it in a day 1/2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you for the free preview. It's nice to try before you buy. I found the story compelling. I decided to buy the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Free preview was so gripping I had to buy the book. Great for a weekend read !
Cmnooksie More than 1 year ago
I really like this book! Fast flow on the edge. Try the preview and then you will have to have the full book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We thought thos book was amazing
Dan45 More than 1 year ago
Would have been cheaper to have bought the paperback. Nook books are not good value
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read to beleive !!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don't blink? Don't steal phrases from Doctor Who!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is good one of you asked that and here is the answer this is the best book i have ever read in my life so of corse it is good just read the reveiws.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Even though im on the third chapter it is awesome book!!! And im only 11! Cant wait for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another awesome James Patterson book! On to the next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Haven't purchased yet, but will do so. I was just reading the reviews and couldn't get over the fact that the words "Preview" and "Sample" meant to some that the whole book was free. OMG
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gonna try it... should I.?
twinsie More than 1 year ago
Good story tidbit, but intentionally misleading. This book is not even as long as some samples. This is just trickery to get you to buy a pricey book once you are swept into the story. The nook book owners have been intentiionally led to believe that this is a special free preview of a series, book one. In truth ,it is not. Really, just a chapter. I feel very taken advantage of.
Anonymous 23 hours ago