Don't Close Your Eyes

Don't Close Your Eyes

3.6 13
by Robert Ross
     
 
Falls Church, Massachusetts is the sort of sleepy coastal town where the locals have lived for generations. A picture-postcard place. But there�s another side to Falls Church ... a disturbing history of violence, hatred, and murder ... Victoria Kennelly knows all about what lurks in Falls Church. She�s never forgotten the night a fire killed her family and something

Overview

Falls Church, Massachusetts is the sort of sleepy coastal town where the locals have lived for generations. A picture-postcard place. But there�s another side to Falls Church ... a disturbing history of violence, hatred, and murder ... Victoria Kennelly knows all about what lurks in Falls Church. She�s never forgotten the night a fire killed her family and something beyond description claimed her childhood friend. The horror of that night drove her all the way to Boston and a new life. But now things are happening in Falls Church again. Bad things. And the only way Victoria can understand the ghosts of her own past is to go back where it all began ... to face the evil that lives in Falls Church ...

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780786014828
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
07/28/2003
Pages:
448
Product dimensions:
4.38(w) x 6.82(h) x 1.29(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Don't Close Your Eyes 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
sassypickle More than 1 year ago
Ending could have been better. I felt like the story was dragging on while the ending came pretty abruptly and wasn't all that scary.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The beginning of the book grabbed me. Then once the middle came I became tired because it seemed redundant. Get past the middle and it became much better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Had a slow start but it got better. I'm not done yet. Reminds me of some old movies or old mysteries where....well, I won't say and ruin it for others who haven't read it yet!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book gave me nightmares. I recommend it to anyone who likes a good scare.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The tiny town of Fall's Church, Massachusetts is beset with supernatural occurances. A plague of irrational violence is spreading from resident to resident through nightmares, this nightmare is passed to the next person when you tell them about your dream. Ross effectively writes a small town horror tale and is able to keep the pace moving, though his cast of characters is perhaps too large. I would reccomend this book to fans of John Saul.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is awesome. Never a dull moment! It hooks you from the very first page and never lets go. No slow spots or extra filler like in some Steven King and all Tom Clancy novels. Characters you care about, a good plot with the suspense ever rising! Just plain good story telling and well written! Worth every penny!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was terrible. Despite my three unsuccesful attempts to warn others of this book (hint to BN customers), I hope at least the people reviewing these messages got the point, not to read this book. For good reading material, see anything besides this book. Thank you for your time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book stunk. Started off good, but failed to develop. It would make a good teenage-thriller ghost movie, like and original from TBS. Or USA's dinner and a movie, where they couldn't afford any rights to a better movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was about ghosts and goblins that come back every decade. Scary, not seemingly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read! I liked the progression. The chapters were short and charged. The historical reference really made a nice touch and gave substance to the story. Really worth your time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was impossible to put down. He left you wanting to find out what was in store in the next chapter. A real page turner. It's been a long time since I have read a book that kept me on the edge of my seat to the very end. His writing style is along the lines of Stephen King and John Saul-two of my personal favorites.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down. Its the first book i have ever read that has made my heart pound so much. ross is totally up there with steven King. Beware Steven.. he may replace you!!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Church Falls is a complacent town on Cape Cod that obtains much of its income from tourists. Nate Tuck has found a haven in Church Falls after shooting a fourteen-year-old gangster in Oakland and when the chief retires he is expected to be the next Sheriff. Nate doesn¿t know that once every generation an outsider instigates the townsfolk into turning against one another and the cycle is about to begin again.

Victoria Kennelly broke the last cycle of hate when she told the residents that they were wrong to try to expel students suffering with AIDS. A few days later, while trick or treating with her friend Petey, her family and home burst into flames and Petey disappeared, his body never found. Now Victoria feels compelled to return to her hometown because evil has reappeared. Violence, hate crimes and murder have begun again. Nate has a hard time believing these incidents are based on the supernatural but offers no counter explanation.

Fans of Stephen King, Bentley Little and Dean Koontz are going to treasure DON¿T CLOSE YOUR EYES, a supernatural thriller that is so scary readers will go to bed with so much lighting on that a lit up stadium at night will seem dim in comparison. Victoria and Nate are polar opposites with one grounded in reality and the other accepting that sometimes the only explanation is mired in the supernatural. Using both logic systems, they combine forces to fight the evil that is destroying the town from the inside out. Robert Ross deserves a Bram Stoker nomination for this chilling horror novel.

Harriet Klausner