Dr. Seuss And Mr. Geisel

( 12 )

Overview

Horton, Thidwick, Yertle, the Lorax, the Grinch, Sneetches, and the Cat in the Hat are just a handful of the bizarre and beloved characters Theodor S. Geisel (1904–1991), alias Dr. Seuss, created in his forty-seven children's books, from 1937's And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street to 1990's Oh, the Places You'll Go! During his lifetime Dr. Seuss was honored with numerous degrees, three Academy Awards, and a Pulitzer, but the man himself remained a reclusive enigma. In this first and only biography of the...

See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$13.49
BN.com price
(Save 27%)$18.50 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (38) from $1.99   
  • New (14) from $9.35   
  • Used (24) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

Horton, Thidwick, Yertle, the Lorax, the Grinch, Sneetches, and the Cat in the Hat are just a handful of the bizarre and beloved characters Theodor S. Geisel (1904–1991), alias Dr. Seuss, created in his forty-seven children's books, from 1937's And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street to 1990's Oh, the Places You'll Go! During his lifetime Dr. Seuss was honored with numerous degrees, three Academy Awards, and a Pulitzer, but the man himself remained a reclusive enigma. In this first and only biography of the good doctor, the authors, his close friends for almost thirty years, have drawn on their firsthand insights as well as his voluminous papers; the result is an illuminating, intimate portrait of a dreamer who saw the world "through the wrong end of a telescope," and invited us to enjoy the view.

California journalists Neil and Judith Morgan present the authorized biography of the late Ted Geisel, a.k.a. Dr. Seuss, the phenomenally successful, beloved author and illustrator of dozens of memorable children's books, including The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham. 16 pages of photos.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
In this authorized biography, California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan present a dutifully researched and intimate portrait of the late children's-book author and artist beloved by millions. Fans of The Cat in the Hat, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas and other classics may be surprised to learn that Dr. Seuss was terrified of children and had none of his own, and that writing verse was a supreme effort for him. While children's literature is Ted Geisel's principal claim to fame, his creative life was multifarious, including an apprenticeship with film director and army major Frank Capra during WWII and stints in advertising. The authors deftly evoke the settings where Geisel lived and worked, such as his hometown of Springfield, Mass.; Oxford, England, where he studied; and coastal La Jolla, Calif., where he spent roughly half his life. Friends of their subject, the Morgans also vividly depict a quiet but exuberant man with a keen wit and biting-though never mean-spirited-sense of humor. A pleasing combination of fact and anecdote, this volume is a fitting tribute. (Apr.)
Library Journal
This witty and charming biography of the highly original genius, Dr. Seuss (Ted Geisel), maintains suspense as the authors unfold the facts of his life and art. It is full of wry Seussian limericks and interesting anecdotes, among which are his failed invention of an Infantograph and the mad pranks played by Seuss on rival artists. The legions of Seuss admirers are treated to accounts of the inspiration for and the history behind each of his famous books. The authors, seasoned journalists and writers themselves, who are neighbors of Geisel, have given us the only authorized biography of this famous American. As such, it is of interest to the three generations of men and women who grew and continue to grow up reciting Dr. Seuss's rhymes.-Marie L. Lally, Alabama Sch. of Mathematics & Science, Mobile
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780306807367
  • Publisher: Da Capo Press
  • Publication date: 8/1/1996
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 388
  • Sales rank: 409,584
  • Product dimensions: 5.80 (w) x 8.98 (h) x 0.88 (d)

Meet the Author

California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan have written articles together for National Geographic and other magazines. Neil’s eleven books include Westward Tilt and The California Syndrome; Judith’s first book, California, with Dewitt Jones, appeared in 1989. California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan have written articles together for National Geographic and other magazines. Neil’s eleven books include Westward Tilt and The California Syndrome; Judith’s first book, California, with Dewitt Jones, appeared in 1989.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Prologue

Springfield 1900—1915

Springfield 1915—1921

Dartmouth 1921—1925

Oxford 1925—1926

Helen Palmer Geisel 1927—1928

New York 1928—1935

Mulberry Street 1936—1938

Horton Hatches the Egg 1938—1940

World War II 1941—1946

Holly wood 1946—1950

The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T. 1951—1953

La Jolla 1953—1955

The Cat in the Hat 1955—1960

Green Eggs and Ham 1960—1963

Fox in Socks 1964—1967

The Lorax 1967—1971

Audrey Stone Geisel 1971—1974

I Can Read with My Eyes Shut! 1975—1980

The Butter Battle Book 1981—1984

You’re Only Old Once! 1985—1986

Oh, the Places You’ll Go! 1987—1991

Epilogue

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Fabulous book!

    I loved this book. He was an incredible and talented man. I really couldn't put it down. I read this book because I wanted to be able to give my young students more information on March 2; Dr. Seuss' birthday. I was not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    karen

    i hate this book i mean this is so boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Getting to know a hero

    I read this book a few years ago and recently bought it again for my Nook. The Morgans do a wonderful job bringing this very private man's life to the understanding of the public. The first thing I remember about my father is his gift to me on my fifth birthday (having secured through his will that I receive the book at that time), a copy of McElligot's Pool. The book has since been destroyed (through love, not malice) but through his prose and imagination Mr Geisel shaped the rest of my life. The Morgans have made me feel like I got to meet the man who made me feel I got to meet my father. A wonderful, well written, and insightful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    Very detailed, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    The book is a great tribute to the life of this great man filled with amusing little known facts and inside details written from the perspective of two people who knew him quite well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Dr Seuss behind the scenes

    A very informative look at the life of Mr. Geisel and his existence as Dr. Seuss - his inspirations, his creative process. By far the best biography I have read on him so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    wow

    This is a disgrace to the life of Dr. Seuss. It had to be one of the worst books I have ever read. It was very lengthy and the author made it very boring. Dr. Seuss must be turning in his grave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    A Must for Seuss lovers!

    This book is a must read for teachers, or any lover of Dr. Seuss. It not only covers his inspiration for writing, but his life as well. The information would accompany lessons on the author on every grade level, from beginner readers, to High School history students. Everyone loves Dr. Seuss, and this book paints him in the perfect light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)