×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Dr. Seuss and Mr. Geisel: A Biography
     

Dr. Seuss and Mr. Geisel: A Biography

3.5 12
by Judith Morgan, Neil Morgan
 

See All Formats & Editions

Horton, Thidwick, Yertle, the Lorax, the Grinch, Sneetches, and the Cat in the Hat are just a handful of the bizarre and beloved characters Theodor S. Geisel (1904–1991), alias Dr. Seuss, created in his forty-seven children's books, from 1937's And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street to 1990's Oh, the Places You'll Go! During his lifetime

Overview

Horton, Thidwick, Yertle, the Lorax, the Grinch, Sneetches, and the Cat in the Hat are just a handful of the bizarre and beloved characters Theodor S. Geisel (1904–1991), alias Dr. Seuss, created in his forty-seven children's books, from 1937's And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street to 1990's Oh, the Places You'll Go! During his lifetime Dr. Seuss was honored with numerous degrees, three Academy Awards, and a Pulitzer, but the man himself remained a reclusive enigma. In this first and only biography of the good doctor, the authors, his close friends for almost thirty years, have drawn on their firsthand insights as well as his voluminous papers; the result is an illuminating, intimate portrait of a dreamer who saw the world "through the wrong end of a telescope," and invited us to enjoy the view.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
In this authorized biography, California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan present a dutifully researched and intimate portrait of the late children's-book author and artist beloved by millions. Fans of The Cat in the Hat, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas and other classics may be surprised to learn that Dr. Seuss was terrified of children and had none of his own, and that writing verse was a supreme effort for him. While children's literature is Ted Geisel's principal claim to fame, his creative life was multifarious, including an apprenticeship with film director and army major Frank Capra during WWII and stints in advertising. The authors deftly evoke the settings where Geisel lived and worked, such as his hometown of Springfield, Mass.; Oxford, England, where he studied; and coastal La Jolla, Calif., where he spent roughly half his life. Friends of their subject, the Morgans also vividly depict a quiet but exuberant man with a keen wit and biting-though never mean-spirited-sense of humor. A pleasing combination of fact and anecdote, this volume is a fitting tribute. (Apr.)
Library Journal
This witty and charming biography of the highly original genius, Dr. Seuss (Ted Geisel), maintains suspense as the authors unfold the facts of his life and art. It is full of wry Seussian limericks and interesting anecdotes, among which are his failed invention of an Infantograph and the mad pranks played by Seuss on rival artists. The legions of Seuss admirers are treated to accounts of the inspiration for and the history behind each of his famous books. The authors, seasoned journalists and writers themselves, who are neighbors of Geisel, have given us the only authorized biography of this famous American. As such, it is of interest to the three generations of men and women who grew and continue to grow up reciting Dr. Seuss's rhymes.-Marie L. Lally, Alabama Sch. of Mathematics & Science, Mobile

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780679416869
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
04/11/1995
Edition description:
1st ed
Pages:
345
Product dimensions:
6.63(w) x 9.57(h) x 1.25(d)

What People are Saying About This

Charles Schultz
[This book] answers all the questions for those of us in cartooning who admire his work. It is a real treasure.
Chuck Jones
I worked with Dr. Seuss. Reading the Morgan's warm and thoughtful biography was like being with him again.

Meet the Author

California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan have written articles together for National Geographic and other magazines. Neil’s eleven books include Westward Tilt and The California Syndrome; Judith’s first book, California, with Dewitt Jones, appeared in 1989. California journalists Judith and Neil Morgan have written articles together for National Geographic and other magazines. Neil’s eleven books include Westward Tilt and The California Syndrome; Judith’s first book, California, with Dewitt Jones, appeared in 1989.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Dr. Seuss and Mr. Geisel 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. He was an incredible and talented man. I really couldn't put it down. I read this book because I wanted to be able to give my young students more information on March 2; Dr. Seuss' birthday. I was not disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RobNoir More than 1 year ago
I read this book a few years ago and recently bought it again for my Nook. The Morgans do a wonderful job bringing this very private man's life to the understanding of the public. The first thing I remember about my father is his gift to me on my fifth birthday (having secured through his will that I receive the book at that time), a copy of McElligot's Pool. The book has since been destroyed (through love, not malice) but through his prose and imagination Mr Geisel shaped the rest of my life. The Morgans have made me feel like I got to meet the man who made me feel I got to meet my father. A wonderful, well written, and insightful book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very detailed, highly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is a great tribute to the life of this great man filled with amusing little known facts and inside details written from the perspective of two people who knew him quite well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a disgrace to the life of Dr. Seuss. It had to be one of the worst books I have ever read. It was very lengthy and the author made it very boring. Dr. Seuss must be turning in his grave.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a must read for teachers, or any lover of Dr. Seuss. It not only covers his inspiration for writing, but his life as well. The information would accompany lessons on the author on every grade level, from beginner readers, to High School history students. Everyone loves Dr. Seuss, and this book paints him in the perfect light.
Karen Acosta More than 1 year ago
i hate this book i mean this is so boring