Dracula's Bloodline: A Florescu Family Saga

Overview

This engrossing book tells the story of the Florescu family, from its feudal blood ties, to the notorious 15th century figure Vlad Tepes (Count Dracula), right up to present day, touching on such diverse personalities as the Kennedys, Bill Clinton, and Michael Jackson. In the tradition of Alex Haley’s Roots, Dracula’s Bloodline relates a multi-generational saga through the prism of one family’s narrative, from medieval Eastern Europe to the post-Communist era. The book provides an inside look at Romania’s bloody ...
See more details below
Paperback
$31.49
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$34.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (9) from $30.81   
  • New (8) from $30.81   
  • Used (1) from $31.48   
Dracula's Bloodline: A Florescu Family Saga

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$19.99
BN.com price
(Save 42%)$34.99 List Price

Overview

This engrossing book tells the story of the Florescu family, from its feudal blood ties, to the notorious 15th century figure Vlad Tepes (Count Dracula), right up to present day, touching on such diverse personalities as the Kennedys, Bill Clinton, and Michael Jackson. In the tradition of Alex Haley’s Roots, Dracula’s Bloodline relates a multi-generational saga through the prism of one family’s narrative, from medieval Eastern Europe to the post-Communist era. The book provides an inside look at Romania’s bloody and turbulent history—a mostly untold narrative that embraces the cruel Ottoman invasions, vying boyars seeking to change the political order at home, and the toppling of the Ceausescu regime. The story of each century is told through the eyes of one Florescu (or more) who had a unique perch from which to view his or her contemporary society.
Florescu and Cazacu drew on research that had mostly been kept in family hands. To track the Florescu footprint down through the centuries since the 1400s, they used many sources: the Brasov archives in Transylvania, select letters, unpublished diaries, and extensive family documents that have been scattered from Europe to the United States. This fully indexed book offers many photographs from family archives, as well as a glossary of terms and titles, and a full genealogy showing the Florescu’s family links to Vlad Tepes.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Journal Of Folklore Research
[T]he book is lively and engaging. The Dracula Professor has had a full and interesting life, bracketed by his colorful Romanian ancestors and by his successful children, some of whom returned to post-Communist Romania as entrepreneurs. Dracula’s Bloodline is a good read.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780761861577
  • Publisher: Hamilton Books
  • Publication date: 8/28/2013
  • Pages: 269
  • Sales rank: 962,975
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Radu R. Florescu was born in Bucharest, Romania and is an indirect descendant of Prince Dracula. He received both BA and MA degrees from Christ Church, Oxford University and a PhD from Indiana University. He is professor emeritus of history at Boston College and is author of The Struggle Against Russia in the Romanian Principalities and co-author of a half dozen books on the story of Vlad Tepes, the historical Dracula. With almost a dozen books to his name, his academic work has been the subject of documentaries by The History Channel, Discovery, Canadian Broadcasting, and other international networks.

Matei Cazacu received his BA and MA from the University of Bucharest and his PhD from the Sorbonne in Paris. He served as a senior researcher at the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) in Paris. Professor Cazacu is the author of a few dozen books including Dracula (Tallandier, Paris, 2004), Gilles de Rais, or Blue Beard, (Tallandier, Paris, 2005), and Frankenstein (with Professor Florescu, Tallandier, 2011). A medievalist, Professor Cazacu lectures throughout Europe and has appeared in documentaries on The History Channel and Romanian television.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Preface
Acknowledgements
Introduction
Romanian Court Dignitaries and Terms in English
Chapter 1 My Name is Florea
Chapter 2 The Wolfman Serves Vlad Dracul
Chapter 3 A Florescu-Dracula Marriage
Chapter 4 Maria the Old Saves the Florescu Name
Chapter 5 The Tragic Death of Two Half-Brothers: Michael the Brave and Radu Florescu
Chapter 6 The Florescus During the Seventeenth Century: Manners Maketh Man
Chapter 7 Florescu Survival Under Greek Rule
Chapter 8 The Revolutionary Household in Bucharest — 1848
Chapter 9 A Conservative General and a Liberal Musician Reunite
Chapter 10 A Patriot of Greater Romania
Chapter 11 Radu Florescu: An Undiplomatic Diplomat
Chapter 12 Radu Florescu: The Absent-Minded Professor
Chapter 13 The Search for Dracula
Chapter 14 Uncle George and Aunt Elza Florescu Milescu Survive Fascism and Battle Communism
Epilogue The Post-Communist Generation: Quest for New Frontiers and Reclaiming the Values of Old
Genealogy
Florescu Land and Property Holdings (Fourteenth-Nineteenth Centuries)
Index
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)