Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in Course of History

Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in Course of History

by Robert Conquest
     
 

ISBN-10: 0393327590

ISBN-13: 9780393327595

Pub. Date: 02/06/2006

Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.

A landmark defense of civilization that illuminates the political degradations and intellectual fetishisms of our world.
The publication of The Dragons of Expectation in 2005 reaffirmed Robert Conquest's stature as a leading intellectual and one of the world's great humanists. In the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's The Crooked Timber of Humanity and George Orwell's

Overview

A landmark defense of civilization that illuminates the political degradations and intellectual fetishisms of our world.
The publication of The Dragons of Expectation in 2005 reaffirmed Robert Conquest's stature as a leading intellectual and one of the world's great humanists. In the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's The Crooked Timber of Humanity and George Orwell's Essays, this book brilliantly traces how seductive ideas have come to corrupt modern minds; to often disastrous effects. In what Publishers Weekly called "a frontal assault on the pieties of the left," Conquest masterfully examines how false nostrums have infected academia, politicians, and the public, showing how their reliance on "isms" and the destructive concepts of "People, Nation, and Masses" have resulted in a ruinous cycle of turbulence and war. Including fresh analyses of Russia's October Revolution, World War II, and the Cold War, The Dragons of Expectation is one of the most important contributions to modern thought in recent years.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780393327595
Publisher:
Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
Publication date:
02/06/2006
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
272
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.70(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >